We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST TRIP EVER”
Review of Riad Dar Foundouk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Foundouk
Ranked #586 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“WORST TRIP EVER”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Ok, where do I start, the lack of English probably with only two people in the Riad - one who could speak enough to get by. And the other couldn't speak a word of English at all.

The location is off a side street. Cars can't get there so you have to walk past very loud and aggressive locals who look threatening and always harass you.

Secondly we weren't told anything about the rooftop part of the riad which was the main reason I booked it.

The hotel staff didn't help with the harassment as they tried to charge for everything even though I paid inclusive.

If you want a relaxing trip - with no hassle then stay in a 5* hotel not a Riad. I love culture but not this particularly located riad. Don't think I would ever return to morocco and if I do I will stay in an English hotel.

Also breakfast was terrible it was just bread and butter or jam. When asked for more flatbread - I was refused it. Which I don't understand. Then on our final morning there, they refused to give us breakfast even though it was paid for.

Definitely ruined my view of Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tope a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salou, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A little bit off the beaten track this was a great oasis for our group. Noor, one of the staff looked after us well. We had the hotel number and could call on them to meet us from the taxi drop off late at night. Breakfast was lovely and the roof terrace perfect.

Room Tip: Room number 1 on the ground floor opens up onto the main reception area, was beautiful on the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Located in a quiet area north of the souks. Hassan picked us from taxi drop off and welcome us warmly. He even took us to the souk the first evening. He did everything he could to ensure we had a great stay. We had dinner one evening and the food was good. It wasn't cheap 20 euros pp.
My only complaint is that this Riad lacks the color and decorative touches that make other Riads exotic. The roof terrace is a pleasant place.

Room Tip: Stayed at the down stairs room which was close to dining area so could hear all the people talking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deej700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Far enough from noise yet close enough to the main square. Hassan is the most hospitable manager going! We were dropped off at the point where taxi's drop you off and was met and greeted by Hassan promptly, check in was swift and room was lovely (room 1 on ground floor) but no problems with noise as the hotel only has 5 rooms so not enough guests for it to be a nuisance.
Wasn't able to take full advantage of the terrace as it rained loads but can imagine its beautiful when it's warmer. Breakfast was simple but just right, there are always options nearby if you didn't fancy it. The hotel is located in quiet residential spot so navigating around can be a problem but again, Hassan was there to help often accompanying us or picking us up in the evening particularly as he genuinely worried about us getting lost or getting hassled to buy things! As two girl travellers we really welcomed his concern and he really made our trip special.

The wifi was excellent which was great seeing as we were rained in often! In colder seasons, they will provide an extra heater which was a lovely touch and the room also has excellent working climate control.

Defo book a transfer from airport!

We would come back any day and will be recommending to our family and friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango_juice89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

North of the main souks this riad is quiet. You are not dumped out into the hustle and chaos of the souk. Hassan greeted us warmly and did everything he could to ensure we had a great stay. An example is that he personally took us to a cute, inexpensive restaurant with a terrace for dinner our first night, apologizing that we must book early to eat at the Riad. Our only complaints are that this Riad lacks the color and decorative touches that make other Riads exotic. The small pool in the courtyard is nice but that is about it. The tiny stools in the room do not make for comfortable sitting. The niches along the staircase need something in them to add some flair. Add some color to the rooms, beyond the bathrooms. The roof terrace is a pleasant place. The food we had for dinner the night we eat at the Riad was some of the best we had in Morocco. At 20 euro per person not cheap by Moroccan standards but really good.

Room Tip: I would avoid the room on the ground floor as it is near the breakfast area and others are often in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raf123fgtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have been to Marrakech a number of times staying in hotels but wanted to experience the "Real Marrakech" therefore opted for a Ryad (traditional house/palace with a courtyard) and this is a true ryad.
A very warm welcome by Hassan who ensured our every need, nothing is too much for him and he is smiling all the time.
Breakfast consists of fresh baguette, Moroccan bread, jam and butter, homemade yogurt and fresh orange juice. We asked for more bread but that was refused as the breakfast is not a buffet but pre made.
This Riad is very central, however, it is hard to find especially in the dark. Walking through the Souks at night is very daunting. On our first night we took a taxi to Place Moukaaf and then a 5 minute walk to the Riad and this is when the local boys decided to walk us to the Riad, followed by demanding money from us. I handed over 20Dh which wasn't enough and we were given a lot of abuse and threatened which left my wife and daughter really shaken up. However Hassan put our mind at rest and didn't have any issues the following days we stayed.
This place is about 20 minutes walk to the main square Jema El Fna. If you want to get immersed in the local culture as we wanted to, than this is the place to stay otherwise look towards the new Marrakech, we prefer it more authentic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvtarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just got back from staying at this Riad. Excellent place, very clean, peaceful and service is just
first class. We had our dinner here which we had to pre-book and Lila (the chef etc) cooked us such a wonderful delicious three course meal for practically nothing( very cheap). Hassan who works there speaks very good english which is of so much help as i cant speak arabic nor french and he is so helpful that no word can describe him and the service he gave us. Nothing is too much for him and he is smiling all the time and telling us where to go for to purchase certain products and the way to medina, shouks etc. We even offered to go with us for shopping so that we wont be cheated and he ask for nothing in return. This Riad is very central, however, it is hard to find especially in the dark so please make sure you prebook a cab to fetch you from the airport which cost 15 euros and Hassan will meet you at the top of the road and bring you to the Riad. I will definately stay in this Riad again should i return in the near future, and will recommend anyone who is looking for a riad. I would have been so lost if not for Hassan and three cheers for him and the riad.

Room Tip: All rooms are double beds only so i had to share the bed with my friend which i didnt mind as the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Al Mansoura
Riad Al Mansoura
#387 of 500 in Marrakech
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#194 of 500 in Marrakech
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Schanez
Riad Schanez
#846 of 1,139 in Marrakech
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Amina
Riad Amina
#122 of 1,139 in Marrakech
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Meryem
Dar Meryem
#643 of 1,139 in Marrakech
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#299 of 1,139 in Marrakech
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Foundouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Foundouk

Property: Riad Dar Foundouk
Address: 3, Rue Sidi Bouharba Hart Soura | El Moukef Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Foundouk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Foundouk & Spa Hotel is a traditional Moroccan house, located in the Medina (ancient city) of Marrakesh close to the famous Djemaa el Fna Square and the Souks. One of Riad Dar Foundouk main assets is its excellent Moroccan food, especially Marrakesh specialties. When ordered one day in advance our Chef will cook delicious meals meeting the same standards as in the best restaurants in town.With easy access by car, you're very close to the golf courses and on foot you can visit the Marrakech museum and the Mederasa Ben Youssef before ending a perfect day at the on-going spectacle at the famous Jemaa El Fna squareSome guests may wish to enjoy their meals on the roof terrace where all guests may relax and unwind. The helpful team at the guest-house will also be happy to plan a range of activities on your behalf such as Massage, Hammam, cooking lessons...Hotel Rooms: 5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Dar Foundouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing