We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Foundouk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Foundouk
Ranked #485 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for the last week in August! When we arrived we were served with mint tea - a very nice welcoming. The Riad is beautiful! An oasis in the middle of the medina. There is only 5 rooms, the top terrace, open like lounge/courtyard on the ground floor. Really relaxing to sit a read a good book. We didn't use the small pool, but did have have a hammam (body scrub) and massage, which was amazing - just over 600 Dh for both. Breakfast is very good - best at 9am when it is just done! It is either served in the courtyard or top terrace. The rooms are lovely, we were in room two, the shower was lovely and had air con.

The hotel does price everything in euros, there isn't a menu as such about they do have water and other drinks for 2 euros each. There isn't any fridges in the room so we did find it better to get water from the hotel one big bottle at a time.

The hotel does sell some excursions, and they have access to more if you ask. We did do an excursion to Zagora in the desert for 2 days - amazing experience. However, we did not book this through the hotel although we could have - depends whether you want to try negotiating. We told the hotel we were interested in doing a cooking class, as they arranged this for us! Definitely worth doing. The owner also runs another hotel that is bigger around the corner, where he is based, we did the class there. For about 500 Dh we went to the market and watched how the locals bought their food. We then went back and watched doing little bits of how to make a tagine, a potato cheese ball thing and three salads/veg dishes. We then were served with a three course meal.

Hasan is a star!! He speaks good English and was so kind and helpful!! Any questions we had of where to get places he helped! When we when on our two day trip even though we didn't book throu the hotel he still arranged with the other staff for us to get breakfast at 6am. He even escorted us through the souks to help us get good deals on our more expensive gifts, do ask him for help.

Other tips, there is a safe for 1euros a night and a local tax of 3 euros per person per night. The riad has a brilliant location, but print off the map from the riad website before going. Email to book a taxi through the hotel 86 Dh each, or get bus 11 or 19 from the airport at 30dh and then get a taxi from there - be aware they rip off tourists. This is less than transfers.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Riad is very clean and nice - the staff is the friendliest you can imagine. Very helpful, far beyond regular guest liaison and support! With our bad sense of orientation Hassan even accompaigned us to make sure we find our way through the souk .... Hassan and his colleague also made sure we got the right transfer and made sure we were aware of the prices.
The terasse is like garden eden and we missed to have dinner served in this beautiful spot. For sure we will enjoy that next time when we go back to Marrakech (because this will be THE RIAD we'll want to stay again).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

You can't find more warm, friendly place in Marrakesh. If you are looking for a traditional marrocan accomodation where staff are living angeles, don't hesitate to book yourself in. Hassan is a person who you will never forget for his willingness to help. The rooms are very clean and the breakfest very nice, served with love. The location in Medina is great as it is just 5 minutes walk from the traditional market. We can't recommend it more. If we will visit Marroco again, this is the place where we will stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiborYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Riad Dar Foundouk was an absolutely brilliant place to stop if you want to become immersed in the local culture. The staff are very friendly and helpful and ensured that our stay was enjoyable and stress-free. If we go to Marrakech again this is where we would stay, it was just what we wanted from our holiday. Excellent service.

Room Tip: All rooms in were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Riad fullfill completly what we expect from a place like this. Everything clean and absolutly quiet, the right place to rest peacefully. We thought that a Riad, as a traditional Marrocan house, should be! We had a wonderful dinner, a delicious chicken Tagine, in the Riad's terrace, and it was something to remember... All the staff were very efficient and gentle, Leila do the cooking delights, Mahomed always disponible and the last but not the least, Hassan...that becomed our personnal guide and a friend ! We were so lucky and grateful to him ! So, this Riad is highly recommended !!

Room Tip: Our room was in the first floor and it was very good. Great air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Palais Tinmel
Palais Tinmel
#461 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amira Victoria
Riad Amira Victoria
#448 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Habib
Riad Habib
#71 of 258 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#194 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar ATTIKA
Riad Dar ATTIKA
#404 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#298 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Foundouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Foundouk

Property: Riad Dar Foundouk
Address: 3, Rue Sidi Bouharba Hart Soura | El Moukef Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #485 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Foundouk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Foundouk & Spa Hotel is a traditional Moroccan house, located in the Medina (ancient city) of Marrakesh close to the famous Djemaa el Fna Square and the Souks. One of Riad Dar Foundouk main assets is its excellent Moroccan food, especially Marrakesh specialties. When ordered one day in advance our Chef will cook delicious meals meeting the same standards as in the best restaurants in town.With easy access by car, you're very close to the golf courses and on foot you can visit the Marrakech museum and the Mederasa Ben Youssef before ending a perfect day at the on-going spectacle at the famous Jemaa El Fna squareSome guests may wish to enjoy their meals on the roof terrace where all guests may relax and unwind. The helpful team at the guest-house will also be happy to plan a range of activities on your behalf such as Massage, Hammam, cooking lessons...Hotel Rooms: 5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Budget Places, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Foundouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing