We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant with a big heart”
Review of Sesame Garden

Sesame Garden
Ranked #654 of 870 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with a big heart”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely restaurant owned by lovely people. I volunteered in morocco this summer and this restaurant opened during the day and let in homeless children which we played with and gave books and toys and they cooked food to feed them all, and played with a hose in the 50 degree heat! We went back in the evening and had food. Very good service and nice food, though the vegetarian selection was a bit limited!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    4
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sibenik, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice meals for nice price!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found Sesame Garden during our first night in Marrakech! It's a little bit dificult to find it because you never look up, on teracce.
Finally we come to table, and waither was very nice and polite, very friendly, speak very good English!
It's really nice place in center of town, up on terrace with a lot of seats, inside and outside and live music!
Tagine was very nice, I like it combination solty and sweet, very very nice!!
Thanks! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorenzo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We found Sesame Garden by complete accident, we were actually looking for somewhere else but didn't realise we were on the wrong street and after walking up and down twice we finally succumb to those inviting us in, we were not disappointed. The restaurant is on a roof terrace with various seating areas, live music and candles and fairy lights to add to the atmosphere. We had the set 'Tourist menu' for 250 DH each (less than £25 per head) which included a lovely 4 course meal. My husband and I can eat a lot but we both had to leave almost half of every course as there was way too much, that being said it all tasted lovely and was beautifully presented, plus you got as much bottled water, mint tea and coffee you could drink. The staff are really friendly, spoke good English and the bathrooms were clean and pretty. I definitely recommend this restaurant, they even gave us a 30% discount card for our next visit, shame we only found it on our last night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LePatioDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have visited SESAME GARDEN during our 1st night in Marachesh and have had very nice meal - veggie salad & Tajines (both of very good quality). Local musician make our dinner even more special. We liked our dinner at Sesame Garden :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forli
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I found dinner very enjoyable”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

good food, and service, well made and presented! I would say very good! we were about 12 at our table and all got excellent food and service. Tajines and couscous met our expectations! The atmosphere inside the restaurant is elengant, and since it is on a covered terrace, there is the atmosphere of dining outside, and be away from the caos of the main square. A place to go. Live music was also a plus!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea_troce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Garden also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Sesame Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing