We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt welcomed and nice people.”
Review of Henna cafe

Henna cafe
Ranked #79 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The most important thing for visitors to know about the Henna cafe is that it is a non profit organisation. This means that it does not create a wage for an owner, it uses every penny of profit to serve the local community in the form of education and support. You can see the recent details of work and projects of the Henna Cafe online. We thank you for your feedback and your visits. Please always head to the bright warm orange decor of the Original Henna Cafe to ensure that your henna leaves a beautiful mark on the lives of young Moroccans as well as a beautiful mark on your skin! Henna cafe is situated 10 minutes walk from the Koutoubia Mosque near to the Pasha's palace). You can ask a taxi to drop you at Dar Moha, dar el Bacha. We are a 2 minute walk towards bab Doukalla from here......
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Felt welcomed and nice people.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Saw a post for the henna cafe on trip advisor and as we we were also going to the ensemble artisanal, decided to treat my girlfriend. Its not really so far away so didnt take long to get there. The gentleman who worked there was very nice and accommodating, allowing my gf to adapt one of the 50dh designs. The lady who did the henna didnt speak English, but that was fine and she was very caring and considerate. It took just over 20 mins including waiting time. We didnt have any drinks whilst we waited. My girlfriend was very happy with the henna - a natural one. Would go back again. :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    139
    36
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good lunch with a friendly staff.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Plan some extra time here for henna. We sadly did not do this.
Service was above average for Marrakech.
We hope to revisit.
Falafels are a bit rare in 'kech and are offered here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Went for henna only”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited after reading other reviews but a little disappointed with menu. Limited choice and kitchen was just a little portable hob with no proper facilities so decided against eating there. However staff were friendly and Helpful and Henna designs were nice. Worth knowing that you don't have to stick to price and design on menu. We told them our budget of 50DH and asked for a freestyle design which came out really nice. Worth visiting if you want a henna tattoo but would not make the trip just for food

Helpful?
1 Thank Mammoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vividtrading, Trustee at Henna cafe, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting and supporting our Charitable cafe.
We have a small kitchen, serving fresh and wholesome meals.
The reviews we recieve for our food are always good, such a shame that you did not have the chance to sample the food to enjoy it for yourselves.
warmest wishes Sarah .........Trustee Henna Cafe Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Planned to visit here, eat lunch and get some henna before taking our flight home. Fitted in a great lunch but sadly no time for henna. Had a great chat with the daughter of the owner and would have had some henna with confidence had we not run out of time and money! Delicious lunch and lovely location. Definite bonus that its not for profit and all profits go to local community. Would come back for some henna by fatima and a falafel sandwich!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HTowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best food we had in Marrakech”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is exactly what I look for in a restaurant. Simple but delicious food at affordable prices, in a no frills but sweet setting. Not too touristy and offers different food to the tourist traps around the main square (which all seem to have the same menus and offer fairly average food).
Henna Cafe is in a bustling street in the Medina. We visited twice over two days and had the lentil salad, the Henna cafe salad, hummus, lamb sandwich and lamb tagine. Every dish was tasty and healthy, made with fresh ingredients. The salads came with complimentary olives and bread which were also delicious. Mains are 40d and starters (the salads/hummus) are 20d. Best of all, profits go to charity, so you not only get to enjoy a delicious meal when visiting, you also leave knowing that your money is being well spent. Highly recommend this place!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing