We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“charity cafe-great cause” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henna cafe

Henna cafe
Ranked #33 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The most important thing for visitors to know about the Henna cafe is that it is a non profit organisation. This means that it does not create a wage for an owner, it uses every penny of profit to serve the local community in the form of education and support. You can see the recent details of work and projects of the Henna Cafe online. We thank you for your feedback and your visits. Please always head to the bright warm orange decor of the Original Henna Cafe to ensure that your henna leaves a beautiful mark on the lives of young Moroccans as well as a beautiful mark on your skin! Henna cafe is situated 10 minutes walk from the Koutoubia Mosque near to the Pasha's palace). You can ask a taxi to drop you at Dar Moha, dar el Bacha. We are a 2 minute walk towards bab Doukalla from here......
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“charity cafe-great cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

our teenagers had arabic lessons here and really enjoyed it-very helpful for starting their foray into the souks. food was simple but very tasty -amazing range of berber teas which we tried a few

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jascinta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    127
    31
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food if a little bit slow. Great cause.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

loved the falafel meal and the berber tea.
service was very friendly but was definitely in Moroccan time.
we had an excellent Arabic lesson for just 20 dhms donation to the charity project so it felt very good eating here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank julie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cause to support”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place serves as a cafe, education centre and provides support for the local community so any money you spend here goes back to helping the community. It had excellent food that was not at all expensive (20dh for a starter, 60dh for a main meal). The staff are very knowledgable and did everything to help out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hellorach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I visited Henna cafe with a group of friends and was very impressed by the food, which was delicious and great value for money! It was well presented with portions large enough for even the hungry teenage boys with us! There was a very friendly atmosphere, and we spent a happy few hours there. We all had Henna done, and the artist added extra bits to each of our designs free of charge. She was very talented and friendly. We also had an arabic lesson there, which cost us less than 2 pounds, and provided very useful for our stay! If you're nearby, definitely worth a visit or two!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice tea, ok food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

my partner and I came to the henna café as she wanted to get a henna tattoo, I ordered tea and a starter, we wanted a long while after ordering until my tea finally arrived and the tattooist set up. the majority of the time she was tattooing my partner (half heartedly) she was on the phone, once completed they never informed us what would be happening next, after waiting for a while the tattooist came back and finished the aftercare for the henna. overall the food and tea was ok but the henna and the service were poor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisjb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing