We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henna cafe

Henna cafe
93 Arset Aouzal Road, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 758 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The most important thing for visitors to know about the Henna cafe is that it is a non profit organisation. This means that it does not create a wage for an owner, it uses every penny of profit to serve the local community in the form of education and support. You can see the recent details of work and projects of the Henna Cafe online. We thank you for your feedback and your visits. Please always head to the bright warm orange decor of the Original Henna Cafe to ensure that your henna leaves a beautiful mark on the lives of young Moroccans as well as a beautiful mark on your skin! Henna cafe is situated 10 minutes walk from the Koutoubia Mosque near to the Pasha's palace). You can ask a taxi to drop you at Dar Moha, dar el Bacha. We are a 2 minute walk towards bab Doukalla from here......
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had an awesome lunch here and later that day, took our group back for dinner. Service was great - some people had a mishap with their order unfortunately.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TamarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    126
    30
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Charitable Cafe Project in Centre of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Riad Papillon and the owners set up the Henna Cafe so we were very happy to support it.
I had one foot and leg hannad and the henna lady was amazingly fast and friendly. I love it. She gave me a sock to protect the sheets. Similar price or cheaper than the aggressive ladies at the Big square. Recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great bohemian cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A real community facility supporting local youth with education, support, etc. They also run a soup kitchen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This cafe is a must do on your list when visiting this city. I've just returned from a 5 day break with my daughter and only wish we had found this earlier. We only found it by chance on our way back from visiting the Majorelle Gardens. It's a charming little cafe where you can sit on the tiny roof terrace and relax, while watching the cutest tortoise, Prince Terry, racing around under your feet. The food is outstanding, simple but divine. We visited twice, sampling the Cured Moroccan lamb ( Khleer ) sandwich, yum and the Kefta tajine, equally yummy, we had soft drinks and mint tea and the lot came to 105dir. It was so good we went back the next day (our last) and had the same again. the menu is limited but oh so good. The atmosphere and service here is a dream, you feel so chilled and relaxed, and if it gets too hot, they have a cute little hat stand with straw hats to shelter you from the heat :) Another reason to visit is this is a charitable project with all their profits going to educate and help the needy of Marrakech, they also run a job club and language school...oh and you can get 'safe' henna tattoos here too....A must visit, absolutely charming....go there :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettymoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews and made this a must do on our visit to Marrakech. We decided to visit for lunch on a roasting hot day and get some henna done. We found it quite easily- we headed up Rue Fatima Zahra, passed Maison Arabe and turned right at Bab Doukkala Mosque. We then used the free Trip Advisor city guide app for Marrakech which will GPS you and help you find this place. You head upstairs to a small rooftop with a few tables - watch out for Prince Harry the tortoise, scampering around the floor! We had a lovely and inexpensive lunch and mint tea. A young girl did a really good job of my henna and was even kind enough to sort it when I smudged it. The staff are great, really relaxed and friendly. We had a great chat with them and it was fascinating to hear the experiences of the British girl who works there. We could have stayed there all afternoon if we had had the time and just chilled with the folk who work there. All profits go back into the community and its refreshing to find such an honest, relaxed place in the madness of the Medina. Please visit and help support this great cause.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CherryRedScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henna cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Henna cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing