We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese Me - CLOSED

Cheese Me
Price range: $4 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: One of the last restaurants located in the district of Gueliz, the concept is new in the Red City. A cuisine made with organic food, with a French and Italian declinaison. We propose a daily menu which change everyday as its a market menu. Also vegetarian dishes, French and Italian food, Tapas, wine and Moroccan beer are available.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The name says it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's just really good cheese and wine - and steak if you want. I've been there twice now - once last September with a friend visiting from the States who wanted a bit of a break from the medina tours and couscous. We went there in the evening after a couple of other expats recommended it in the afternoon and wound up sharing wine and cheese with a large table of people from Morocco, Canada, France, Australia, and the US. It was a fantastic night. This really does seem to be the type of place where you can find great people to chat with if you're looking for a bit of a break from the "traditional" Marrakech but not quite ready to hit the clubs.

The second visit was just last Friday. After a day trip to Essaouira with other friends visiting from the States, we headed to Cheese Me for a late evening cheese platter. The four of us shared a couple of bottles of wine and the round-the-world cheese platter usually intended just for 2 (now I forget the name of it). The cheese was great, with grapes and other bits of fruit. We sat outside and had a great, relaxed evening. The owner came outside later and chatted with us for a while; he's a genuinely nice, interesting guy. He recommended that we open our own Cheese Me back home...My girlfriend spent a good bit of time in the following days plotting out what her Cheese Me would look like...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    34
    4
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Great quality meal, we had half a baked Camembert between us with bread and before that we were brought bread with garlic cheese. Delicious. We had a bottle of red, Moroccan wine (excellent), then for our main we each had tartines. We shared a chocolate fondant for dessert (made to order). It cost us €50 all together and we were stuffed full. Give it a try. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JemimaLollipop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheese lovers heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place if you love cheese as every dish had cheese (except some deserts). Various cheeses, cooked with various meats in different ways. Shame we don't drink wine. Very good service & a friendly nice owner who gave us some local tips

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChirurgieChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We learned about "Cheese Me" at our terrific Moroccan cooking class at Faim d'epices and were absolutely blown away by the quality and variety of French cheese dishes and world wines that were available. After over a week of Morrocan spices and the local table wine served in many of the restaurants and riads, our senses were completely satisfied with the look and feel of this chic restaurant, the warm welcome of the owner and server, the beautiful presentation of the cheese appetizers we chose and the beautiful taste sensation of the wine pairings we enjoyed. Fabulous!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We nearly gave up trying to find this place as we got lost in the new city, however as we were on our way back, we came across it and how glad we did. We sat upstairs overlooking the street the service was very good, me and my wife chose the selection of cheeses over a bottle of red Morocco wine.

Then after we just ordered, the owner must have come back and he was straight upstairs talking to us, he was really friendly and telling us all about Cheese Me. When the cheeses came he explained each one individually and told us, which way we should eat them. They all came with a side accompaniment, ie grape, apple, red current jelly etc, we also had warm bread that topped up as soon as it got low.

It was real fun trying all the different cheeses, from soft cheese, goat cheese, hard cheese and smelly cheese's some were really nice and others I were not so keen on, but that was part of the experience. The wine was really good to wash it all down as well. Afterwards the owner came back and chatted to us about our visit to Marrakesh, once he found out we had got lost he spent the next 5 minutes telling us how to get back to our Riad. It was all above and beyond the normal levels of service and they made our lunch experience really pleasurable. I think the food is well priced, especially for what you get.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie8Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese Me also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing