We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just how I would like my house to be....in another life !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar NanKa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar NanKa
Ranked #167 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just how I would like my house to be....in another life !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were picked up from the train station by Sayeed (sorry about spelling) who was very nice. He drove us to Dar Nanka and then continued to show us to our spectacular room.

Well that's what we thought. Loved the music playing loudly as we entered, the terrace was extremely large and furnished with 2 sun beds and a table. The bed and bedding are extremely comfortable and the jacuzzi bathroom and shower area were a dream.

It is a beautiful boutique property and the downstairs is like a grand but comfortable house, with different seating areas, including an intimate bar. We sat everywhere. The fires were lit at night and after dinner we took our digestivs in front of the fire lying on slouchy cushions...home from home.

The outside pool area is very enticing but in February the pool was perishing, we did have a dip and after the shock wears off it was quite good fun to splash around in. There is also a Boules area which we used regularly, a rake would be a good idea to have handy though as it did become rutted from us playing.

You can have any drinks you like around the pool and surrounding areas. Nibbles accompany the alcoholic drinks. The white wine is chilled and good value at approximately £16 a bottle, the red was good too.

We ate here both nights we stayed as we had already stayed in the heart of the Medina. We were very impressed with the quality of the food and the presentation was superb. Simor was a delight, actually all the staff we met were, including Nowell and Sayeed.
Simor was there when needed and discreet when not. We were the only 2 dining on our second night, but it made no difference to us at all.

Breakfast was traditionally Morrocan which I have to say satisfied us up until dinner, with a few nibbles and pastries thrown in along the day.

There is a new spa which has been opened at the end of the garden which is beautifully decorated and worth a visit.

On our last day my husband had a birthday and at 10am the staff called us in as we were playing Boules and sang happy birthday and presented him with pastries , a candle and 2 glasses of champagne. Lovely gesture.

Would I return ...Yes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshKitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A beautiful, stylish, elegant place which is perfect for relaxation and fun; brilliant team of staff, wonderful and very hospitable owners who do all they can to make you feel welcome and part of the family; lovely atmosphere with excellent attention to detail in all areas.

Absolutely loved every minute of it and will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Well, that's how Dar Nanka makes you feel. It is truly exceptional. Mika and Nancy are the most wonderful hands-on owners who have not only done a wonderful job in making this a truly stunning chic boutique hotel but make you feel so very welcome. The rooms are fabulous - the attention to detail is credit to Nancy's great eye for interior decor.. but it's not just the rooms.. it's the way you feel staying here. Everything is so personal. The chef gets to know your likes and dislikes instantly and will even give you a cooking class should you so desire. If you fancy some chocolate, he'll even let you raid the fridge. If you're cold, they'll be blankets instantly to hand and log fires lit. The service is second to none. This really is a magnificent way to experience Marrakech and I would recommend whole-heartedly to anyone who was thinking about staying here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: You really won't find a bad room here. Of course the larger the room, the more impressive it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-Indego-Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After three hectic nights in the Medina, to move to Dar Nanka was paradise, it is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and would highly recommend it. It is a short drive away from the Media and other areas such as Hivernage which in my opinion has the best restaurants and bars. Nancy and Mika greeted us and took time to show us around the villas and recommend where the best places are to go on an evening. Nancy and Mika provided a very personalised experience and we felt like we were treated as their friends. Mika was very kind and booked some of the suggested venues for dinner for me and my boyfriend.

The villas are amazing, the main villa is decorated like something from ‘Homes and Gardens’ magazine! We stayed in a pavilion room which was its own little villa with micro pool and double sunbed on the roof terrace. Fantastic value for money.

All the staff were welcoming and helpful, the pool area is beautiful and we loved the snacks that they came around with throughout the day e.g. mint tea, chocolate pancakes, crisps etc. not to mention the lovely breakfast and mojitos. A VIP experience all round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taratotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We knew this property was special the moment we booked it from the website but the arrival is simply breathtaking.

Mika & Nancy have done an amazing job in creating such a tasteful and relaxing 8 bedroom hotel. We stayed in the Master Bedroom - grand is the best way to describe it - magnificent may also go some way to expressing just how pleased we were.

The staff are wonderful - breakfast perfect - the pool is quality. All made for the most relaxing stay in Marrakech.

All the family loved it including our teenage kids.

Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeSimmonds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.3 mi away
Rose Sultan
Rose Sultan
#207 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#179 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#149 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#261 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fellah Hotel
Fellah Hotel
#221 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#46 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar NanKa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar NanKa

Property: Dar NanKa
Address: Domaine Freha Route De L'ourika Km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar NanKa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice mix of East and West way of life, combining time and cultures, with a few old furnitures, welcome to Dar Nanka. Make this place yours and we hope that every moment will be a moment of real happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Dar NanKa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing