We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Riad in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose Du Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad La Rose Du Desert
Ranked #12 of 251 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Riad in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very nicely finished Riad in Marrakesh, only a few minutes walk from the start of the Souk and about 10 minutes from the medina. We stayed in the second building, and our rooms there were clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    68
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
134
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They helped us organizing trips around Marrakech, like to have a chat with their guests in the patio and invited us for tea several times. The riad is not as posh as other places in Marrakech but is a good deal for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at this riad in the Old Medina for two nights, and enjoyed my time immensely. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. They were always able to provide directions to different sites, and also gave me useful tips on navigating around the Old Medina and markets (which can be a bit overwhelming your first time!) The riad itself is very nicely kept, the rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. There's also a nice rooftop to sun on, when it is warmer. Beyond all of this, it is a great bargain for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madelineclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent one night here on our arrival in Morocco. The staff are SUPERBLY friendly and welcoming and the mint tea is the best I've ever had. The room was lovely as well. Sometimes the room wasn't as quiet as we'd like, but that's what you get with a Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

+
The riad is beautiful.
It's located pretty close to the main road (i.e. not so many twists and turns down alleys as other places)

-
toilet didn't work (big minus)
Airport pickup is a huge rip-off. I had emailed the riad about a pickup before, but since I hadn't heard anything by the time I boarded my flight, I assumed it was a no-go and was prepared to pay what I thought to be a fair price from the airport. When I arrived, it turns out that a driver was waiting for me (I see an email was sent after I departed). I asked him the price, but he wouldn't say, just saying that it would be a good price and that I would pay the hotel. I was very skeptical of that, but I felt locked into it, seeing as that he was already there. The ride ended up costing 20E (about $26 US). On the way back, I got a taxi for 90 dirham (about $10 US) and probably could have bargained for less if I were in the mood. So, I felt very taken advantaged of.

I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ese1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Riad through Booking.com based on the reviews and the price. You can email ahead and arrange for a ride from the airport which is a good idea if you are unfamiliar with Marrakech. The path to get there is a little hard to navigate, with not a lot of signs. Once there we were served Moroccan tea and cookies and shown to our rooms. The rooms were spacious by European standards, clean and comfortable. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, arranging taxis, recommending restaurants, and teaching us the ways of Moroccan bargaining. We felt very at home, and would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in this riad for 4 nights and Samira (the manager I think) was nothing more than accomodating. Upon arrival we were greeted with mint tea and biscuits and taken to our room which was clean and pleasantly decorated. Breakfast is included and sets you off for the day - which consists of pancakes, bread, coffee, mint tea and fresh orange juice. If you want more options you can pay for this but this seemed to suit me fine. The room is cleaned daily and is a peaceful quiet place (only thing it is near to the mosque so you do hear morning prayers if you are light sleeper). You do have to walk down an alleyway to get to the riad but to be honest having walked around Marrakech you pretty much have to walk down an alleyway to get in the city to anywhere and I never felt unsafe. I couldn't praise this little riad anymore - pleasant staff, clean premises, and a nice hospitable welcome. Great location to get to the key tourist areas and is in a perfect place. Definitely recommend this place and will return to stay here if I return to Marrakech. Thanks for a wonderful stay to all those in the riad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#149 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#56 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#1 of 251 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Rose Du Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose Du Desert

Property: Riad La Rose Du Desert
Address: 181 Arset Aouzal Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 251 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad La Rose Du Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad situated right in the heart of the medina, in a district the most secure which is DAR EL pasha, and 10 min stands of the famous place(square) JEMAA EL FNAA, it is Riad which has the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad La Rose Du Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing