We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience! Totally spoiled Marrakech for me!”
Review of Chez Ali

Chez Ali
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Ali
Ranked #474 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

After having spent a beautiful time in the lovely Marrakech the evening at Chez Ali completely spoiled the Marrakech experience...so unnatural that it spoils all the original and authentic artwork n music we had experienced in Marrakech souks and monuments! The people working there seemed miserable and unenthusiastic - who's to blame them, i would b as miserable if I had to give such a show! Even the mint tea was terrible! Such a waste of time in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I expected a bland mainstream dinner show with mediocre food (ie like medieval times or Arabian knights --neither of which I enjoy much at all )...I was pleasantly surprised, however ..
Yes it's gawdy.
Yes it's probably not at all authentic..
...but it is so elaborate and over the topik grand scheme and architecture ...and so UNIQUE looking that the GROUNDS --and their sheer size and scope blew me away. I couldn't help but crack a smile at how original and eccentric the buildings leading to dinner were ...and the dining "tents" themselves as well...
My cracked smile was diminished a bit by the constant attempts to get money blatantly for photos taken with staff and the music/dance staff's clear lack of interest or enthusiasm in what they were doing (many pre show performers reminding me of grade school children on stage looking shy and distracted in a chorus/concert --picking noses.."whispering" obviously to on-stage friends etc...
The food was quite good for a dinner show --as good or better than most of the random places we had tried in old town Marrakech..
I was at the show with my fun-loving daughters ages 8-10; neither of them really liked the
grand post-dinner main event /spectacle much ..As described, it was a lot of slow horse trotting followed by loud gun blasts. Blah. But the belly dancer was good..The horse rodeo-style stunts were pretty amazing and the flying carpet was ..well, average..but those moments added up to barely 10 minutes of a 45 minute "spectacle "...
3.5 stars may be more Approriate but any stars from me really come from the elaborate theme ...architecture and scope of the buildings ..It was like walking into a top American theme park. I didn't expect that --now that you expect it from reading this, however , you might rank it 2.5 stars. Criticisms aside, there's not much else going on at night in Marrakech beyond the square so if you're there a few nights, it's worth a visit to fantasia at chez Ali...Do note --This "show for kids" will feed them around 10pm and have you back in your hotel well after midnight ..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank andrewg818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

it's a big and pompous show but neither authentically cultural nor entertaining...the subject is a moroccan wedding but dances and songs are played around your table, not on a stage and in the finale the rest of the show is on a stadium !!!!!!!!!riders, the wedding again, the belly dancer (one!) music is live only around the table, on the stadium it's a recorded mixture of traditional berber music and carmina burana and progressive! it is nor entertaining because you are not invited to dance in the end... the only good point is the food which is much and delicious...and if you buy it from the hotel is much cheaper then from the travel agency...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this on the pretext that my partner is a horse rider and wanted to see the horses in the show. It was only after booking we read the reviews, but rather than cancelling we went anyway.

As our expectations had been reset and we really quite enjoyed the experience. It was cheesy and bit over the top touristy but no more than if you had done a similar thing else where as I have at home in Australia.

I think the confusion is that if you are expecting a "cultural event" on Moroccan life you would be disappointed. If you are looking for a fun night that is not too serious and a bit cheesy this it is.

The show is entertaining enough, the food is actually good and the wine we bought was nice. The service was, well a bit average but I have had worse to.

We enjoyed the night, the horse show was entertaining and there was a lot of musket firing which was loud so expect this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I went with some trepidation having read the reviews. However unless you're expecting a Disney spectacular then you won't be disappointed. The dinner consisted of 4 courses (huge portions) accompanied by efficient service and great vibrant surroundings. Musicians coming to your table may not be everyone's mint cup of tea but it's definitely an experience. It's certainly not for those who like a quite romantic dinner in a Michellin star restaurant. After the dinner the show was good and better than expected, the horse riding skills were definitely impressive and the show worked as a concept. At 450drh it is pricey though we did negotiate our two young children for free, so don't accept the first price. A great eving alongside the other Marrakech musts!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Winningtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived late due to the transport being late. We were sat in a dark corner away from other guests. The waiter for the drinks took 30 minutes (we were told that food was included in the price but drinks weren't - we ordered 2 bottles of water, usually 20dh, came to 75dh!).
The food was terrible, the 'lamb' was stringy and it was too dark to see what we were eating.
The show started whilst we were still eating - it was horses running up and down...in general, it was a waste of money and the 30 minute drive from our hotel in the centre of Marrakech wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Victoria_taylor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Margauxcoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.4 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#209 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#248 of 502 in Marrakech
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Ali

Address: Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing