We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and host”
Review of Riad Chafia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Chafia
Ranked #71 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent 5 days at the Riad and it was a great experience. Patrick was a wonderful host, trying to accommodate whatever you desire. This place deserves 5 stars due to him! The accommodations were beautifully decorated, with the rooms and bathrooms being a generous size. The location is the second best thing as it’s an easy 10 minute walk to the main square, so you are close to everything, but far enough away it is more peaceful, and a taxi area is only a minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet27sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 234 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from 4 day break. The riad has been beautifully restored and is in an excellent location on the edge of the medina so that you can easily visit both old and new Marrakech. The location is surprisingly peaceful considering the bustle outside. I would suggest that you take earplugs though as the call to prayer starts at 5.30am, this would be the case at any riad. This riad is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Patrick, the owner, absolutely makes this place. He is so helpful and generous. A French national who moved to Marrakech to run his own riad. There is nothing he won't do for you. On our last day we had to get up very early for our flight (around 4am). He got up half an hour before us and had made us a farewell breakfast. He is happy to arrange day trips and suggest excursions.

The riad itself is lovely and a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of the streets. The rooftop is tranquil and relaxing. We spent a lot of time here. He has some pet turtles (who guests keep buying for him) that are quite charming.

The rooms themselves are nice and air conditioned. The inner walls are a little thin so noise from within the riad can be a problem.

Patrick has done a really good job of decorating the place.

It's located just north of the soukhs and within easy walking distance of the main square (Jamaa el Fna), if you can navigate your way through! It's also reasonably located for walking to the new town.

One thing to say, you will not find this riad on your own. Be sure to contact Patrick beforehand so he can come and greet you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This guesthouse is heaven on earth. It is in the best location of the medina and located very close to most of the main attractions, however it's very tranquil and the perfect place to relax after a busy day of haggling in the souks. You get a feel of exhilaration and peace of mind the moment you walk through the door. The members of staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, safe and comfortable during your stay at the riad. Patrick, Omar, Rasheed and Fatima are so amazing and are forever smiling. They are all so very helpful and their sincerity and vulnerability will make you cherish life and count your blessings each day. For a true authentic moroccan cuisine, please put it on your to do list and have dinner riad. Fatima makes a shamazing tangine. Riad Chafia was an amazing surprise and sometimes you don't have to pay 5 star prices to have the best experience. Words can't explain the beauty of this place and the people who run it. You just have to stay there and experience it for yourself, to truly understand and appreciate such elegance, authenticity and generosity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The riad has a great location in the medina, close to some of the must see sites, at the edge of the souks, and 10 min walking from the big square. Also easy to get to by taxi as there is a square close by where they can drop you off. Ask for a map or to be picked up, as the entrance to the riad is not that well signposted and somewhat difficult to find the first time (in an alley from an alley from a little street).
The owner, Patrick is Berber friendly (that’s a compliment), which is not evident in hassling Marrakesh. He’ll be more than happy to provide restaurant tips.
Breakfast was good and served on the rooftop terrace which is surprisingly silent for being in the middle of the medina.
We will probably return when visiting Marrakesh again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Riad Chafia is a superb little oasis. It is located in a very good place in the Medina – easy to find by taxi once you’ve been there. It is only a 10 min walk from the square. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated in contemporary Moroccan style. Its vibrant and very clean. Breakfast was great. The owner was a perfect host and helped us with a lot of information and with booking our taxi back to the airport. If we happen to visit Marrakech again we will, without doubt, book this Riad.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SVL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This riad is fantastic! Patrick the owner is probably the most helpful and most generous person in Marrakech! The rooms are beautiful, and just enough space! Patrick speaks good English and is able to help with so many things. He even took us to a hammam and helped us with working out the money. The breakfast was great croissants, yogurt and tasty omelettes. I didn't want to write this review as the place is so good that I didn't want to tell the world about it and wanted to keep it as my little secret! There are only 5 rooms so be quick to book as he is unsurprisingly busy! You will need help to find the place as it is deep in the souks but Patrick can organise a shuttle service from the airport!

I honestly couldn't rate this place highly enough. Turtles on the terrace, salamanders in the garden. A small plunge pool, tv room, access to the kitchen and Patrick with all his local knowledge! Fantastic! It is a little walk to the main sqaure but the experience of staying here is well worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#46 of 1,172 in Marrakech
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#11 of 1,172 in Marrakech
372 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Noos Noos
Riad Noos Noos
#26 of 1,172 in Marrakech
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#9 of 1,172 in Marrakech
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#34 of 1,172 in Marrakech
513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Turquoise
Riad Turquoise
#95 of 1,172 in Marrakech
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chafia

Address: 15, Derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $62 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chafia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Chafia is located in the heart of the medina of Marrkech. this charmfull hotel is the right place for your holidays. You are very welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Chafia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing