We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb, brilliant value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Chafia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Chafia
Ranked #49 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb, brilliant value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Riad Chafia is a superb little oasis. It is located in a very good place in the Medina – easy to find by taxi once you’ve been there. It is only a 10 min walk from the square. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated in contemporary Moroccan style. Its vibrant and very clean. Breakfast was great. The owner was a perfect host and helped us with a lot of information and with booking our taxi back to the airport. If we happen to visit Marrakech again we will, without doubt, book this Riad.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SVL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
108
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This riad is fantastic! Patrick the owner is probably the most helpful and most generous person in Marrakech! The rooms are beautiful, and just enough space! Patrick speaks good English and is able to help with so many things. He even took us to a hammam and helped us with working out the money. The breakfast was great croissants, yogurt and tasty omelettes. I didn't want to write this review as the place is so good that I didn't want to tell the world about it and wanted to keep it as my little secret! There are only 5 rooms so be quick to book as he is unsurprisingly busy! You will need help to find the place as it is deep in the souks but Patrick can organise a shuttle service from the airport!

I honestly couldn't rate this place highly enough. Turtles on the terrace, salamanders in the garden. A small plunge pool, tv room, access to the kitchen and Patrick with all his local knowledge! Fantastic! It is a little walk to the main sqaure but the experience of staying here is well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here mid April, for 4days. everything about this riad was beautiful! Clean, safe and a perfect location! The owner and staff, and there friends made our stay welcoming, Felt like we where at home in this traditional boutique styled house!

Location is ideal walking distance from everything you need really, close to a taxi rank as well to escape from inside the walls for the day. It's also perfect as it just in the right area! So peaceful on the roof top all day, away from the hustle and bustle of the square.

Rooms are sooooo lovely! Very secure! Spacious! We stayed in Yasmina, loved everything about it! The whole place was relaxing and cosy. Always remember the 3 tortoises on the roof! Over feeding them peaches!

The breakfast now that was a treat every morning! Selection of local foods! So much choice! Set you up for the day until the evening!

The owner! Now a massive thank you goes out to him he couldn't have made our stay anymore enjoyable, his recommendations and advice was so helpful! Will never forget our trip to his local hamman he kindly walked us too! Such an experience!

Can't wait to return as soon as I can! And will definitely be staying here! Who needs a hotel when you can stay in a riad chafia!

Met some amazing people out there and can't wait to see them in the near future.

Marrakech is a must see place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Riad Chafia in late April 2013. This place is a peaceful haven in the madness of the medina - just 10 minutes from the Jemaa el-Fnaa square and within easy walking distance of all the main sites. Inside is beautifully decorated; the rooms are comfortable and welcoming. Tortoises roam free on the roof terrace - a great spot to enjoy breakfast in the morning and sunbathe in the afternoon.

The standout point of Riad Chafia is without a doubt Patrick, the owner. Patrick arranged my airport transfers, recommended good spots to eat, and showed me the route to all of the main attractions. When I wanted to do a little shopping, he even offered to come along and make sure I got the best price.

You can probably find more luxurious riads in Marrakech, but I doubt there are any as welcoming as here. Riad Chafia could (and - given the time and effort Patrick spends looking after his guests - probably should...) charge much more than it does. Absolute bargain for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Room 5 ("Warda") has a large and impressive bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Riad Chafia in April. I really liked it a lot as it is located on a small alley which mean very quite to rest after the hustle of the Medina :)
It is located 15mn walk from Djema Efna square and 15mn walk from Majorelle.
My room was Lilac one, perfect size, clean, very good bed.
Owner Tareq is very friendly and helpful!
There's plenty of space to relax - terrasse, patio.
You can feed the turles on the terrasse, I named them Lulu and Geraldine :)
Breakfast is good (too many thinks for me as I am not a big eater!).
only 1 little thing to improve: I would have prefer frsh squeezed oragne juice and local jam :)
Other than that all good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anadubai_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fantastic experience at this accommodation. Walking down a small alleyway reminiscent of a charlie and the chocolate factory scene you arrive at a tiny beautiful door entitled Riad Chafia. The Riad itself is beautifully presented with unique touches and the rooms are immaculate, spacious and rival 5 star boutique hotels in the UK. The roof terrace with the riads three pet tortoises provides a lovely tranquil setting away from the main square and shops which are only a ten minute walk away. On an evening it is so peaceful you can forget you are anywhere near the square and its hustle and bustle and really get a good nights sleep in your room and the beautiful roof terrace is the perfect setting to sit and relax and reflect on your day and surroundings. Whilst the accommodation itself is fantastic it really is the owner who makes the place. From day one we were instructed to treat the house as our own, breakfast was plentiful and beautifully presented each morning at whatever time we chose and he provided very helpful guidance around shopping, prices, local advice and trips even giving us his phone number and places of contact in case we got lost. He even took us down to a local hammam he recommended and answered plenty of questions we had about the local culture and area, upon leaving he gave us beautiful business cards and pictures from his own collection. A perfect stay I couldn't fault.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are smaller than others but all are beautifully decorated, staying with a friend w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraJade_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ended up at this terrific Riad by accident when we couldn't find the one we were booked into. (One tip is never book with a credit card in Marrakech if you can possibly help it because if you can't find the place they could charge you for your entire visit and everywhere is difficult to find). But Patrick, the French owner, although short of help, was a perfect host, showing us how to wind our way through the medina. He has a lovely terrace with pet turtles. The room was a bit damp, a problem we most likely could have solved by asking him to turn on the heat. He served a very special pastry for breakfast our last day--another little sign that he really cared.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#23 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#30 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#5 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alwachma
Riad Alwachma
#48 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#40 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chafia

Property: Riad Chafia
Address: 15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chafia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Chafia is located in the heart of the medina of Marrkech. this charmfull hotel is the right place for your holidays. You are very welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Chafia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing