We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Especially helpful proprietor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chafia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Chafia
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Co.
2 reviews
“Especially helpful proprietor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ended up at this terrific Riad by accident when we couldn't find the one we were booked into. (One tip is never book with a credit card in Marrakech if you can possibly help it because if you can't find the place they could charge you for your entire visit and everywhere is difficult to find). But Patrick, the French owner, although short of help, was a perfect host, showing us how to wind our way through the medina. He has a lovely terrace with pet turtles. The room was a bit damp, a problem we most likely could have solved by asking him to turn on the heat. He served a very special pastry for breakfast our last day--another little sign that he really cared.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
96
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a really wonderful experience here. Accommodation is as nice as promised. Service is excellent. Great location, just 10 minutes walk through the Medina to the main square. The owner Patrick was kind enough to walk us the route on our first day. We borrowed their travel books and they gave us some maps. Also Patrick materialised day trips for us as soon as we mentioned we were thinking about going somewhere. He is like a genie :-) We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobeda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best place i've been in all Marrakech, Really friendly and helpfull staff! The owner "Pat" made us discover the city with another perspective, showing his love and enthousiasm for the place and was very good advise for organized trip to the desert. The Riad is exceptionnaly well decorated and very confortable. It s almost like being in your dream home. Thanks to Omar for huge and delicious breakfast. Hello to Fatima

Place Highly recommended by the FOX*

Cheers ,

Mr Fox

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenardZagreb_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Riad Chafia is a delightfully quaint Riad (Moroccan B&B) that can only described as a haven or respite in the middle of the chaos of the Medina.Our rooms were well appointed and comfortable; worth noting is that our Moroccan style open shower was enormous and amazing.
The Riad itself is beautifully decorated, to the last detail. Patrick, the owner, is a French expat and architect who took three years to renovate and decorate the Riad with impeccable taste. Riad Chafia has been open for about a year and it is no surprise that it is almost always full. With only five rooms, Patrick and his staff’s hospitality would put most southerners to shame! In short, after entering the medina and ducking (literally) into a tunnel that leads to a largely unmarked tiny wooden door, we were very pleasantly surprised by our lovely stay at the relaxing Riad Chafia.I would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Marrakech in its full glory, and its incredibly affordable rates are the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: we booked the silver/grey room w/ the large tufted headboard...highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days earlier this year. Patrick, his friends and family go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and your stay enjoyable. As other reviewers have said, it is an oasis of calm once you walk through the entrance.

The rooms are quiet (once the other guests have settled down) and dark - perfect for sleeping. Bathrooms are large. Everything is clean and attractively designed.

The common rooms are stylish, yet cosy. Breakfasts are huge and included in the price of the room. You can also have a fabulous, home cooked dinner in the riad.

It is a little hard to find, but it is in a quiet area of the Medina and close to everything.
Patrick can send some one to bring you there. However, patient, adventurous types can try to find it themselves - best attempted if you had a short flight and plenty of sleep. ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 and #5, I liked 5 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwood14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautifully designed riad, excellent location, but the best thing of all wa the host Patrick. He really made our stay with his hospitality and recommendations. I have travelled a lot but never had a host like him. I have recommended the riad to others already and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Riad Chafia. Patrick was always prepared to stop whatever he was doing and help us. Convenient location, excellent meals and relaxing terrace. Couldn't believe how quiet it was compared to the rest of the medina.
Would definitely consider a return visit if we ever go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#26 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#25 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#3 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chafia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chafia

Property: Riad Chafia
Address: 15, derb El Farrane | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chafia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Chafia is located in the heart of the medina of Marrkech. this charmfull hotel is the right place for your holidays. You are very welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Chafia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing