We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Selman Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Selman Marrakech
Ranked #44 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for just one night due to a flight delay - wish I had more time. Exquisite hotel and a true 5 star hotel, unlike some of the others in the city. Opulent surroundings and excellent service.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations clients at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman Marrakech.
We are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    53
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
95
178
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

If you are reading this because you are considering going to this Hotel then stop reading & just book now.

My wife and I have just spent 10 days in a Riad at the Selman. The service is exceptional. Nothing was ever a problem & everything was done with a smile, with urgency & with pride/passion in their work. Having visited almost all the other 5 star Hotels/Resorts in Marrakech during our trip (many ranking ahead of the Selman on Tripadvisor by the way!) I can only say that the Selman sets & delivers 'the standard' in Marrakech.

Many things separates this Hotel from the others;
- The fantastic design of the property & the grounds. perfectly clean & maintained.
- The amazing views of the mountains
- The stunning service with the most visible & hands-on Hotel GM I have ever met. Leadership from the very top.
- The peaceful & relaxing environment (far enough away from the hassle of the city centre but close enough to visit ever day if you wish.

I want to thank all of the staff at the Selman for a special time at your Hotel; far too many to name or single out. This is a team effort.

Money can buy a good Hotel room but it can't buy you memories. We leave with great memories.

My only improver is get name badges please. Some Hotel guests like to address staff by their name, names are more personable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wootton_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review of Selman-Marrakech, I am glad that we have lived up to your expectations during your visit and I will ensure to pass on your comments to our team and our butlers in particular.

Regarding name badges, I much agree with you. We originally thought of avoiding at all cost a corporate approach, but guests and staff find comfort in hearing their own name, and build rapport faster to those who use it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Marrakech very soon.

Best regards,

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic four days at the Selman Hotel in Marrakech. As we arrived on a Sunday, we enjoyed an exquisite Brunch setup which lasted all afternoon. The next day were spent by the 80m long heated swimming pool under one of the cabanas with impeccable service. In the afternoon we also visited the Spa and the gym. Both facilities were excellent.
For horse lovers, there are stables on the property, which are home for some very lucky Arabian studs.
Initially we only intended to stay for three nights, but the tranquillity of the ambiance set in and we extended out stay. We will certainly be back to Marrakech and there will be no doubt where we will stay, Selman Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Selman Marrakech.
I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and I have shared the good news with the team. It is indeed very rewarding for our team to read such kind comments as it fuels peak performance !

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours Sincerely

Christian Langlade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

the place is very nice , been greeted by the manager mr.Cristian , whom was very pleasant and charming personality . greeted us warmly and assisted us directly . True professional

the location is a huge set up with lovely stable made of the landlord's finest horse collection .
the riad is very comfortable , as is in any 5 star moroccon resort its very detailed, a bit pricier though when compared to the rest. needs to be competitive with prices.

overall
i would defnitly recommend it as one of many good options in marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxbcxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

beautiful hotel- at first we loved it. as the days went by we realised that there were SO MANY problems. 1. The pool was FREEZING, too cold to swim in- the pool by the spa was way too hot, like a jacuzzi. you are also right on the road if you want to sit there. No thanks. The service was awful- no management at all. Everyday our order was wrong at breakfast- it became a running a joke. There was a family staying in the rooms above me, the children in one room directly above me with a nanny- from 5.30am every day the kids ran and screamed and despite calling reception 200 times they would not do anything- they had NO experience in dealing with this kind if issue, (i'm sure very common!!) The hotel was half empty- did they offer me another room? No. It was awful. Basically its over priced and they dont have a clue, if you have ever stayed in a great hotel, and know what you are talking about, you would hate this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, General Manager at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Though we realized your stay dated back from June 2013, I am sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your experience when visiting the Selman.

Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated and since your visit, I am pleased to let you know that several improvements have been made. Indeed, since August, our pool is heated all year long thanks to a heat exchanger. We also have introduced breakfast buffets to ease service and are planning a kids club as of next March.

Please contact me on direction@selman-marrakech.com should you wish to discuss any issues further.

Kind regards

Christian Langlade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Sunday Brunch at The Selman is a must. Delicious food in the most perfect setting whist watching the performing horses. A visit to the stables to view their magnificent Arab Stallions is highly recommended. The Selman is a superb property and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The Grey Riad is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech –
we are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look
forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Selman is a must destination for those visiting Marrakech. An oasis of beauty. Beautiful rooms,very helpful staff and gorgeous surroundings. Even the stables are impeccably clean. You must sample the Sunday brunch!!! it lasts forever............ and entertainment with the dancing horses!!... So unusual but fun.

It is located out of the city hub-bub but that isn't an inconvenience - transport is easily arranged and takes 10 mins at most to reach the Medina. Whether you are looking for a romantic or family holiday the Selman will meet your every need.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioEds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelmanMarrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Selman Marrakech, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Selman, Marrakech –
we are delighted that you had such a special time with us and we look
forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Selman Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
10.6 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
521 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
1,142 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairmont Royal Palm Marrakech
Fairmont Royal Palm Marrakech
#92 of 500 in Marrakech
338 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#62 of 500 in Marrakech
255 reviews
3.3 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selman Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selman Marrakech

Property: Selman Marrakech
Address: Km 5, Route d'Amizmiz, Marrakech 40160, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Selman Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Atlas Mountains, Selman Marrakech, a palace of distinct, designed by Jacques Garcia Selman Marrakech seduces with its timeless harmony. The property offers 55 rooms and suites and 5 private riads with a private swimming pool and butler service, meticulously executed. Selman Marrakech also feature the longest heatable swimming pool of 80m long, 3 restaurants, "Le Selman," a luxury fine dining with an international menu, "Le Pavillon," specializing in Mediterranean-inspired dishes with views of the hotel's Arabian horses and "Assyl", an authentic Moroccan restaurant. Precious moments are embodied in the presence of the beautiful thoroughbred Arabian horses. There are views of the horses from the terraces and the gardens where one can admire the equine ballet. Selman Marrakech's spa, Espace Vitalité Chenot is a tribute to oriental wellbeing. The Spa offers treatments using the specific and unique Chenot Method. Moments of pure grace add to the perfection of this timeless experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Selman Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing