We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”

Musee de l'Art de Vivre Marocain
Ranked #83 of 159 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Difficult to find despite signs hidden in the narrow streets but really worth it well displayed rooms featuring embroidery and other objects Really pleasant little house

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank witsend18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Inspiration for all the senses.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Sometimes less IS definitely more.As is the case in this delightful little Riad.If textiles,fabric and stitchwork capture your interest (or if you simply appreciate interior design and like to find ideas about using colour with flair) then this tiny museum ticks all boxes.Bring a sketchbook and laze in the comfort of the rooftop gazebo to record your impressions.Such an unexpected delight.Kicking myself for not purchasing any of the sumptuous fragrances on sale!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A new place to visit in M'Kesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a very small nice RIAD bought up to date in a classy way.. Well worth seeing and it is very close to other attractions. It is very well signposted now (better than anything else here!) and we took a taxi anyway. In November it was not as furnished as in the photos but still interesting stuff in each room. The roof terrace is excellent and in the summer i can see how attractive this would be. We bought some room fragrances here and now back home this keeps reminding us of our trip

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A new place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

After the crowded other attractions in M'Kesh this is a nice quiet converted house to relax in - especially on the roof! Not a lot to see but that itself is fine.as we have visited everything else in other years. Next ot the Madrassar. Very well signposted! The clean small square nearby has local shops and is good for people watching -catch a taxi here. The Museum girl spoke english (I'm 90% sure) but we do speak French also.. We bought some room perfume here which is in our house now and very nice it is!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Living the dream for an hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Musee de l'Art de Vivre; Marrakech

This place was really hard to find, even with a friend who is a local, helping me & lots of stops to ask people in the area.

There are some helpful signposts, but not enough for us!

This Museum was, in fact, originally conceived & restored as a commercially run 'maison d'hote' called "Jnan al Madina"..... but, with only 3 letting bedrooms, it never made any money and so the enterprising owner has turned it into a small museum featuring the decorative arts instead.

Entry price is 12 dhms and, frankly, it is well worth it as, whether or not you are interested in Moroccan embroidery, weaving etc, this is one of the most beautiful classically styled riads I have seen.

The courtyard is paved with lovely blue tiles and you can relax there with a drink.

On each floor, some rooms are styled as they would have been when the building was being used as a house; others are solely furnished with glass, museum - style cases containing examples of craft skills. There are explanatory boards in English as well as French

The mix between classic styling & modernity is best seen in the 'hammam', which is traditionally conceived, but is most definitely of the 21st century.

The piece de resistance, however, is undoubtedly the terrace, where there is a very inviting canopied area, with comfy sofas just begging to be sat on- and on sitting down, the panorama that greets you is fantastic, with the Koutubia mosque minaret centrally placed, and behind it, the ( currently snow capped) Atlas Mountain Range.

Just sitting up there in perfect peace, drinking in this view, is enough to create a special 'Marrakech Moment' or, in my case, to remind me why I bought a ruin of a riad, with a dream of achieving such a tranquil environment.

If you are here on your first visit to Marrakech and have ended up staying in one of the large hotels on the 'Strip' leading out of town, half an hour here will show you what you have missed, and make you determined to book a riad for your next visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flekkygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de l'Art de Vivre Marocain also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Musee de l'Art de Vivre Marocain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing