We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best situated Hotel for Marrakech”
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
Ranked #118 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Hotel is situated near the railway station and in easy reach of the souks and Place Janaam El Fna for experience eating.
The Hotel is excellent extremely clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Some reviewer feel the rating is too, for me this is not so based on my experience of travelling the world for nearly forty years after all you are not in Europe but north Africa and somebody else country. Great and plenty food.

Room Tip: All rooms have triple glazing, not to keep out any noise but to keep the rooms cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 836 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

A group of friends stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Having booked the trip in Feb and upon reading some of the negative reviews of this hotel, we were not sure of what expect. In reality, although this is not a 4* hotel, it is a very good 3* plus hotel. All the staff were very accommodating and went out of their way to assist, especially Hassan who really looked after us at Breakfast. The only recommendation I would make is that the breakfast menu didn't change from day to day and the choice on offer was the same each day.

The rooms were spacious and cleaned every day. As for the location of the hotel, it is perfect as it is opposite the train station an central.

The hotel has 3 restaurant. We tried Le Thaisu on our second night. Although it was empty, which initially provoked a concern, we actually had a very good meal.

There are other hotels in this area but Opera Plaza was the best. I have no hesitations in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Currylover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is lovely. The fabric colours are smart and chic and the decor is very tasteful. The staff work hard and are very helpful, have friendly attitude and made our stay so good. The variety of restaurants serve excellent food in great surroundings, with choices from the menu that provide a diverse selection.
The hotel's central to most places, easy to get a taxi, train or bus and means other places for eating are very close with a good range of choices and prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed over the Easter week. There's a common theme here and I'm going to add to it. If you're looking for good service, friendly staff and a a decent breakfast to start your day don't stay here. Certainly don't eat here for lunch or dinner. We got caught out on the first night arriving late we had dinner in the hotel's Morrocan restaurant. Just like faulty towers. A complete nonsense and the worst food we had during our stay. The rooms were clean fair play there but the soap, shower gel and shampoo sachets reminded me of budget holidays as a student. Also the location is not good unless you want to catch a train (station close by) or the red tour bus which stops outside. Air conditioning - what air conditioning? Anyway we moved out after 3 days having found a number of better places to stay for the remainder of the holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RotherhamDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and would definitely recommend. Perfect location for exploring the city and right by the train station.

The hotel is spotless and there is a great pool area. All the hotel staff are so friendly and do anything for you. In particular Abdessamad is one of best waiters ive experienced anywhere.

Also the rossini restaurant run by Adib (who also is fantastic) has a great selection of food each night.

Overall a top experience would def come back

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benfo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location as a base for out of city day trips
Many people have mentioned on reviews of this hotel that the staff are not overly competent, and that was true in part on our trip. We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb13 after staying in a more expensive riad in the Medina followed by a 4 night trip to Essaouira, where we again stayed in a beautiful riad.
On this part of our trip, we used this hotel as a convenient bed and breakfast as our days were taken up on long day trips into the mountains on one day and a train trip to Casablanca the next. The Breakfast was as good as anywhere in our opinion.
We had a lunch in the poolside restaurant on our last day, and we could see what we guessed were the completed meals going cold on the side, by the waiting staff, while they were getting what appeared to be a training session on the tills. They were finally brought to us about 10-15mins later, a little cooler that they could have been.
One evening we got back late and decided to order a burger and dring from room service, 90 minutes and about 4 frustrating phone conversations later they finally arrived with an apologetic manager. We got the impression that without his final intervention, we would not have eaten at all that night. The staff kept telling us that they had it under control, but until we spoke to the manager on our 4th conversation, nothing had got done.
Yes, the reception staff are "matter of fact" in their approach, but overall we were happy enough with our stay here, and would recommend it as a functional home base.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LockeyNewForest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our stay was from the 1st of April till the 8th , the location is good, the room spacious and very clean, bathroom spacious but soap and shamppo awful in tiny sample packs, the air con is of no use outside on the balcony 80 degree's, inside air con with hot air, the mangement does not turn it on to cool till 1st of May, offer of a change of room never happened althought promised by 3 managers, a picket line of ex staff outside the front door who have been sacked , senior staff only in post weeks, the Thai restaurant is a night mare, a wait of 45 minutes to be served the wrong starter as they did not have what was on the menue , order for wine then turned out not to be in stock in fact none of the wines we asked for, a simple white !!! The manager of the main restauarnt and the Thai restaurant manager said the charge would be deleted , after over 2 hours discussion the night before we left and when we left made no differnce the manager of finace Mr. Khalid would not remove the charge , on one day when the tempurture was so hot you could not sit in the sun, the sun umbrella's went out when the shade of the building made then of no use and no pool staff just some times. We could be still staying at the hotel even now as an early morning call that did not happen, room service for a bucket of ice took 5 calls and 1 hour and 15 minutes, and the waiter said that he had not been busy but was just not told.
A person was taken ill at the pool the family asked the manager to call an ambulance , after 15 minutes of a doctor and nurse staying at the hotel, giving mouth to mouth , and pumping the chest , the manager asked was an ambulance still needed , and staff taking video's on mobile phones, the man did pass away.

This hotel could be good, but staff who are not managed or trained , as for Thomsons who we spoken to for over an hour in London by phone and the rep Rashid we got no satisfaction and only when we left did the rep say did they move you and seemed shocked it did not happen.
Think long and hard before you book this hotel, it is in the Daily Telegraph Travel plus Thomsons be warned.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_B503778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#177 of 501 in Marrakech
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#211 of 501 in Marrakech
170 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 501 in Marrakech
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#200 of 501 in Marrakech
1,372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
0.0 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#316 of 501 in Marrakech
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Angle Avenue Mohammed VI et Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $73 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing