We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Adventure-Filled Two-Day Erg Chigaga Trek from Ouarzazate with Moubarak

We had a great experience on our two-day Erg Chigaga trek from Ouarzazate with Moubarak! Taking... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
xSebastien
Simply Magical Experience

I am at a loss for words on how best to describe this incredible experience. One of my best girl... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wanderlust_elle_kel
Read all 549 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Marrakech
from $26.41
More Info
from $126.29
More Info
from $45.92
More Info
from $135.48
More Info
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
494
47
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
47
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews erg chigaga omelette day tour camel ride first night sand boarding atlas mountains once in a lifetime luxury tour luxury camp milky way toilet and shower sand dunes camel milk three days land cruiser amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 549 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2018

We did the 3 day, 2 night Erg Chebbi tour. Top Desert had some of the most competitive prices and the Sahara experience was overall the most amazing thing we did in Morocco so do not miss it.
Unfortunately for us, our driver Moustapha who despite being a sweetheart, was a terrible guide. Not only was he very limited in his languages (only very basic french and basically no english) but he wouldn't tell us where we were going half to the time and kept us in the dark most of the trip.
Due to his limited communication, he wouldn't tell us the history of the places we visited, he didn't point out any interesting facts, and couldn't answer most of our questions. It really was a shame as a tour guide is supposed to be prepared to properly inform us of the places we go to but most times we had to read our travel book to try and figure out where we were or what the significance of the place was.
He would constantly stop at different towns to deliver packages to his friends whilst never tellings us what was going on and what the next stop would be.
He got lost at night when we couldn't stand being in the car any longer, but wouldn't admit to it or tell us what was going on so it got a bit frustrating.
He took us to his family house in his hometown which was very interesting and sweet, but he also didn't ask us if we wanted to do that so it was again a bit uncomfortable for us.
He had also told us we were going to Erg Chigaga because it was better and less touristy, but then we found out from the camp staff we were actually at Erg Chebbi.
When at the desert, we stayed with a few other guests from different tour companies and it was all dreamy. The tent, the dunes, the camel ride.. it was perfect.
The return to Marrakech was a nightmare. Moustapha told us we would be back by 7:30PM and we didn't actually arrive by 11:30PM. This was even after we told him no stops as we wanted to get in early. He just kept lying and didn't manage any of our expectations, and 15 hours in the car in one day was too. His driving was very reckless at night in those narrow roads in the mountains surrounded by construction work, so we did fear for our lives on multiple occasions.
Perhaps we were just unlucky with our guide but communication was definitely an issue with this company.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank mati437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boughazi M, Owner at Top Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Hello Mati,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We want to let you know that we have no Moustapha in our team. We also want to ensure you that there is none of our tours that arrived back to Marrakech at 11:30PM. Please make sure that the tour you had is really our. I think that someone sold you a tour as if it's ours. If you are really sure the tour you did was with us, please contact us by email and send us your booking ID and the date of your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We took the 3 day, 2 night trip from Marrakech through the Atlas and anti Atlas mountains, ending in the desert at Erg Chegaga. It was an outstanding and memorable experience. The transportation and accomodations were first rate. Many thanks to our guide Moubarak for being a tremendous host and great source of knowledge. He ensured every need was taken care of and made sure our trip was a memorable one. Great job all round. Thanks very much!

Ed and Linda
Ontario, Canada

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Was an interesting and unique experience with TOP Desert. My friend proposed in the desert with the help of our friendly driver, Fayhsai, making all the preparation. We were also invited to Fayhsai’s sister Home for Moroccan tea and pizza. It was really very kind and warm of them for showing us the family side of Morocco. When we arrived at our hotel in Fez, Fayhsai also helped us with our luggage and liaison work. Thank you for your service rendered. Last note, I hope the company could provide leaves/off days for their drivers, not just from the safety point of view, but also the drivers really need time with their friends and families to better dedicate themselves for the job.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rinkogemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We did a four day trip to the Erg Chigaga desert. The car was very good and clean and Brahim a good and save driver. We had booked the standard camp and were positively surprised by the comfort. The tents were clean (except the sand, of course :-)), the toilet and shower as well. The food was also good and always plenty. Water is not included, so we bought several liters before entering the desert. The accompanied trip on dromedars was one of our highlights and we were impressed by the freshly prepared lunch in the sahara. The only thing we were a bit disappointed about was our drivers level of English. It was advertised to be fluent, in reality being very basic. We were not able to ask a lot of questions as he did not understand them. We do not speak French, so this was limiting conversations during the long hours in the car. Overall, we liked the tour, Brahim was very friendly and we got what we expected for the money.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank annafK1840AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

i highly recommend Top Desert for a desert adventure. Moha was incredibly flexible accommodating our request to visit erg chigaga in 2 days instead of the usual minimum of 3, and our driver, Bazi, made our trip to the Sahara an unparalleled highlight of our 2 weeks in morocco. Bazi picked us up at our riad (located inside the marrakech medina) at 0600 in order to accommodate the amount of driving required that day, and was a superb guide and driver in every way. we had the "extra credit" experience of a rainstorm the night we stayed in the desert camp, which made the morning drive out more than a little interesting. Bazi's superb knowledge of the desert and extremely professional driving enabled him to find a safe way back out in spite of the numerous rivers that had cropped up overnight because of the storm. the car was very comfortable, the camp was fun and the food delicious, and our entire experience exceeded even our high expectations. thank you, Top Desert, for an incredible experience and lifetime memory. you guys rock!!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Go22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews