We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay and pleasant staff.”
Review of Riad Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Mirage
Ranked #167 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Overall the riad is a great value. We stayed at a different riad prior to staying at the Mirage and I can make some comparisons between the two. Wi-fi doesnt work well in the rooms. The riad entrance is manned 24/7, so you have to ring the bell to be let in, which for us wasn't ideal; nonetheless we never had to wait longer than 30 seconds for someone to open the door.

The terrace upstairs is very charming and private. We were not there a lot, due to our tour schedule, but had we had more free time we would have enjoyed the common areas a bit more.

One tip for english speakers, the lovely ladies at the riad don't speak english, only french. There was one young gentleman covering the night shifts that spoke very good english and spanish. I speak some french, but for those non french speakers, you might want to learn some key phrases as french is one official language in Morocco.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Riad Mirage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 206 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a 5 day break in Marakesh .One word - fabulous . We stayed at Riad Mirage and we were made to feel very welcome. Whilst Monique ,and staff spoke mostly French, and all literature and menus were in French , everyone was extremely courteous ,friendly and very helpful.
The Riad was very cool, clean and comfortable and in an excellent location at 5 mins walk from the Medina and souks .Its a really good idea to make use of the transfer service and be collected from the airport as at first you would never find it !
Rooms - cool, crisp white bed linen and towels changed every day , hair dryers ,toiletries and safety deposit box provided. Bathroom - excellent shower and lovely hot water..
Nearby , in the medina , plenty of cash points and exchanges but you can pay your bill by card or local currency.
Plenty of local coffee shops and restaurants nearby and very reasonable .
All in all , would definitely recommend a stay in Riad Mirage , we had a lovely time , and hope you do to . Thank you Monique and Ayoub ..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easmithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

After visiting Riad Mirage, many times. It is like coming home every time. It is in a very good location. The people working ther are all great. It is clean, quiet, and the rooms are spacious. I can highly recomend it. Going back a fourth time, in eighteen months, very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohanTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived in Marrakesh on NYE and had made arrangements with our tour company for dinner for 7 before hand as we knew it would be a problem with such a big group. We were recommended to have our celebration at our Riad and was quoted Euro 40 per pax which we agreed as we wanted to spend NYE in a comfortable setting and not have to deal with the crowds considering it was our first night in Marrakesh.
Upon arrival in the Riad we had confirmed this arrangement with the owner and was told dinner was at 9pm. Our party arrived at 9.05pm at the courtyard of the Riad to find out that they had not even prepared our table. We ended up standing for 15 minutes while the staff jostled around to put together a table for us while the owner continued to entertain what seemed to be like a private party for friends and family, all this with the background of a 4 piece band playing traditional music.
Finally our table was set (this was after we had to personally assist the staff) right next to the band as there was no other place! The band was incredibly loud considering the riad is not acoustically prepped for such loud noise, we could not even speak to each other or hear ourselves think for that matter. Considering the amount of money we were quoted for the dinner we were not explained whether dinner was buffet or set menu, we were not offered any beverages (while the private party had bottles of wine and champagne as well as canapes). We were served 2 bottles of water after being seated for 10 minutes.
We finally gave up when the band harassed us for money in exchange for them entertaining us which is completely ridiculous. At this point we spoke to the owner and requested for them to assist us in finding an alternative restaurant , but of course by then everywhere else was booked.
We finally walked out of the riad and looked for our own place to celebrate NYE and by then it was close to 10 and food was still not being served.
The awful experience didn't end there, we came back to the riad at 1.30am after the celebration to find a much quieter riad as most people had left, however, 10 minutes later as we were about to sleep the owners decided to have the band play more music! We had to complain and request for it to stop as it was totally insensitive for the owners to just do as they please when they have paying guests.
The next morning when we checked out, the owner did not even acknowledge us and breakfast was not even offered to us.
This is by far the worst hospitality experience i have ever experienced in my life and I am an avid traveler and work in the hospitality industry as well. I would not recommend any traveler to stay at this riad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank zip22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Located right off of Jemaa el Fna, this Riad was bright and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very good and beds were clean and comfortable. It was hidden in a dark alley way which wasn't ideal, but we felt safe enough. The breakfast was delicious and it had a lovely roof terrace. Google maps gives the wrong location so consult another map if trying to locate it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in this wonderful riad for 3 nights before heading into the mountains and desert of Morocco. Sure, the rooms are nice and the location is perfect from where to explore Marrakech, but my experience could not have been more wonderful had it not been for the lovely, warm and kind-hearted Amina who also cooked the most delicious Moroccan dishes. And to top this - she also scrubbed me clean and polished in the riad's hammam. The lady is multi-talented! Kudos to Monique and Ayoub who all made sure I had a pleasant stay. Thanks Amina for the special 'gift' - you are awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My sister and I have just come back from staying in this Riad, from the moment of booking, an instant welcoming email, transfers to and from the airport included. The staff and Monique could not have done more, they were so helpful and so pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the first night and the food was great, the breakfast was plentiful, continental style, lovely fresh juice and big pot of coffee. Our room was great, with air con, which was still definitely needed at the end of september, we had a hair dryer and the bathroom came equipped with towels and soaps and moisturiser (for those on luggage restriction) it was cleaned daily. We had breakfast each morning on the roof terrace and would while away the afternoon soaking up the rays up there, sun loungers, towels, cushions and sun hats provided. Monique may not speak too much english but she does understand and she's very entertaining and will have a good go. A really lovely place to stay, a short walk (5 mins) to main square, great place to get away from the hustle and bustle, would thoroughly recommend. My top tip, if you want to get away from the souks to shop, instead of turning right by the Spa sign to return to Riad Mirage, carry on along that little street, there's some really lovely shops without the hassle.

Room Tip: All the rooms from what I saw looked quite similar but decorated individually
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjq83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#139 of 502 in Marrakech
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#207 of 502 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#261 of 502 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#269 of 502 in Marrakech
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#87 of 502 in Marrakech
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mirage

Address: Kenaria, Derb Sidi Boulafdail No10 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $74 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Mirage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Mirage, with its luxurious decor, its five bedrooms and its large suite, is pleased to welcome you to the serene neighborhood of Kennaria, Marrakech. Le Riad is located only five minutes away from the must-see destination Djemaa el Fna Square. Le Riad Mirage is conveniently located in the Medina, which is near many cultural sights and memorials that you can visit. Taxis can drive you up to 100m from your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing