We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riad, excellent location”
Review of Riad Le Rubis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Le Rubis
Ranked #326 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Firstly, the location is excellent. It is a 2mins walk from the square and very easy to get too once you have found it once!

The riad itself it very nice, traditional. The communal area is a little small but quiet and cool. There is also a small plunge pool for cooling off. The room (we stayed in Le Rubis) was spacious, with a large bed and large shower. PLenty of room for storing clothes. Breakfast was basic but delicious - coffee, fresh orange juice and selection of pastries with jams. Yoghurt was standard in our case.

The staff were really nice and very accomodating. Rashida, the day receptionist was lovely, limited english but very good french. She was very helpful and polite throughout our stay, just as the night porter was too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nottsnodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wife and I spent two nights here in middle March 2012, at the recommendation of our Rough Tours booking agent. 65 euros per night.

PROS: Clean; attractive; close access to the Jemaa El Fna; shower designed to not flood the rest of the bathroom; wake-up door knock on time; pretty indoor pool/spa; well-lit room; comfortable twin beds pushed together; effective A/C unit.

CONS: Room (Koutubia?) was narrow, not for the claustrophobic (next-door room, The Atlas, may have been a bit bigger); female daytime clerk (the only help on duty) spoke virtually no English or Spanish; spotty WiFi in the room; boring, limited breakfast (included in room price), had to ask for yogurt; no problem hearing the 5 am call to prayer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We picked the Riad le Rubis among hundreds of riads in Marrakech because it was newly opened in 2011, it was recommended to us by our desert tour guide, and Philippe the owner, offered a very decent discount rate. We were not disappointed. Once you're oriented to it, it is not at all difficult to find, as it's very close to the Jemaa el Fna, perfect for hanging out in the square or orienting yourself to Marrakech's shopping scene.

We rented two rooms, the Jemaa el Fna Suite and the Ruby Suite. Both were well-appointed with comfortable beds, a wardrobe for clothes, nice colorful windows and doors, and baths with hair dryer and plenty of hot water. The large mirrors in each room are a nice touch that made the rooms seem even larger. Both rooms had air con/heaters and for our January stay, both heaters could have worked slightly better, but we were not uncomfortable. All spaces and the stairwells were very clean.

The ground floor foyer area has a lovely serene dipping pool which was WAY too cool in January but could be awesome on hot summer days. In January, the foyer and breakfast areas could have used a patio or other type of heater to take away some of the chill.

On our arrival, we enjoyed a Royal Couscous meal on the beautiful rooftop terrace that overlooks the Jemaa el Fna and looks to the Atlas Mountains in the distance. Awesome views! The meal was delicious and very graciously served by Hassan, who took care of all our needs on our 2-night stay. Philippe, the owner, was not on-site while we were there, but he phoned on our arrival and followed up with us by email after our departure. I consider that to be sign of an owner who cares and wants his riad to be the best that it can.

I would highly recommend Riad le Rubis and hope that my first feedback on TripAdvisor will prod others to check it out for a stay in Marrakech. Good luck, Philippe!

Room Tip: The Jemaa al Fna Suite is special because it has direct access to the rooftop terrace, but all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MlissH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank irschem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 71blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank misscookky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#106 of 502 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#259 of 502 in Marrakech
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#23 of 502 in Marrakech
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#174 of 502 in Marrakech
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Manissa
Riad Manissa
#446 of 1,170 in Marrakech
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#25 of 1,170 in Marrakech
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Rubis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Rubis

Address: Derb Jdid Sghir Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $59 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Rubis 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Le Rubis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing