We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #65 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This family run riad was so beautiful, and we were sad to only stay here one night before flying out of Marrakech. I had heard that riads in the medina could be noisy, however this place was so quiet and peaceful (it was about a ten minute walk from the main square). The service was great (delicious breakfast), and the family were keen to help us with directions or any other information about Marrakech. As previously mentioned in other reviews, it's best to organise a taxi through the riad - we forgot to do this and ended up being dropped at the gate to the medina. We then had to pay a local to show us where the riad was - a lot of hassle would have been saved if we had contacted the riad first!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleceiffel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    35
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
167
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Unfortunately we only able to stay for one night, but when we return to Marrakech we will definitely book again at this family run riad. The service was impeccable, and the lady who greeted us was very polite, friendly, and very efficient in booking our airport transfer. We arrived late so had no food or drink, and were very tired, so were grateful for delicious tea on arrival, and she brought us some food (for free) that we ate on the beautiful terrace roof. Breakfast was delicious, and the family were extremely accommodating in providing this as we had an early flight. Would love to spend more time here, as this seems like a gem in the heart of the Medina.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of nights. The family that owned the hotel were very accommodating and polite.
Unfortunately, we had the room right by reception and the kitchen so a little noisy.
There is a rather quaint higgledy-piggledy roof garden which is a real suntrap.
Recommended for a brief stay, if you're on a budget.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairey-custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Most reviews I've read here before making a decision to stay at this riad are absolutely to the point. The place is very nicely decorated, the hosts are wonderful, and their homemade food is delicious. However, I would like to recommend everyone to slightly lower their expectations. No, I don't want to diss the riad on anything. But it is very important to know exactly what to expect, and sometimes one may have to adjust their western expectations to the Moroccan reality. In reality, the breakfast is almost always a few minutes late, the AC is not as arctically cold as it is at home, and the paint on a bathroom wall may be peeling. But despite all this, this riad is still a great place to stay and I would do so again without any hesitation.

Now, a few tips. Do reserve a taxi from the airport via the riad - in this case the driver will take you directly to the riad's door. It's close to impossible to find the place on your own unless it's marked on the map, you have a GPS, and you know the correct route. Do ask the innkeepers, Sara and Mokhtar, for recommendations about the food stalls on Jemaa El Fna. They have a dog and at least one cat on premises, so beware if you have any dog/cat allergies. 

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank stanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Marrakesh for the first time and loved our stay here. However, we would highly recommend contacting the Riad in advance of your flight to let them know when to collect you - if you're unfamiliar with the medina it's extremely difficult to navigate (and we were taken advantage of by a "helpful" stranger). That said, the riad itself is absolutely wonderful and I wholeheartedly recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make our visit comfortable and pleasant. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After 7 days of trekking/climbing in High Atlas mountains followed by a 3 day sahara desert tour, i settled in here so i could explore, sight see, shop and get lost in and around Marrakech. When you first walk in you are transported in a oasis, very nice rooms, loved the terrace and the common room. Food was great, staff was very helpful and it was nice to finally meet sara in person. When i had to be up at 6 am for a early tour i had breakfast ready for me, that was a nice surprise. Easy walk to main square and all shopping your heart desires
If you are looking for a holiday inn express close to airport, then that is what you should get, if you are looking for a great locally owned raid, you wont do better then here

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was a charmingly traditional riad, and comfortable. Sara the owner's daughter, who manages the riad was most helpful and gave us lots of helpful advice. We would strongly advise anyone to contact her to arrange a pickup from the airport . We did not, and were ripped off. Sara was upset that we had missed her e-mail telling us about this. We agree that the location is not for everyone.

The views from the terrace, and the breakfast, were wonderful. But if you are a Hilton-type person this is not for you. For those who want an authentic experience, we highly recommend Sara and her riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#46 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#137 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.0 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#79 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#64 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing