We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Medina Riad”
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #87 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Unfortunately we only able to stay for one night, but when we return to Marrakech we will definitely book again at this family run riad. The service was impeccable, and the lady who greeted us was very polite, friendly, and very efficient in booking our airport transfer. We arrived late so had no food or drink, and were very tired, so were grateful for delicious tea on arrival, and she brought us some food (for free) that we ate on the beautiful terrace roof. Breakfast was delicious, and the family were extremely accommodating in providing this as we had an early flight. Would love to spend more time here, as this seems like a gem in the heart of the Medina.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Riad Tamarrakecht
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 333 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of nights. The family that owned the hotel were very accommodating and polite.
Unfortunately, we had the room right by reception and the kitchen so a little noisy.
There is a rather quaint higgledy-piggledy roof garden which is a real suntrap.
Recommended for a brief stay, if you're on a budget.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Clairey-custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Most reviews I've read here before making a decision to stay at this riad are absolutely to the point. The place is very nicely decorated, the hosts are wonderful, and their homemade food is delicious. However, I would like to recommend everyone to slightly lower their expectations. No, I don't want to diss the riad on anything. But it is very important to know exactly what to expect, and sometimes one may have to adjust their western expectations to the Moroccan reality. In reality, the breakfast is almost always a few minutes late, the AC is not as arctically cold as it is at home, and the paint on a bathroom wall may be peeling. But despite all this, this riad is still a great place to stay and I would do so again without any hesitation.

Now, a few tips. Do reserve a taxi from the airport via the riad - in this case the driver will take you directly to the riad's door. It's close to impossible to find the place on your own unless it's marked on the map, you have a GPS, and you know the correct route. Do ask the innkeepers, Sara and Mokhtar, for recommendations about the food stalls on Jemaa El Fna. They have a dog and at least one cat on premises, so beware if you have any dog/cat allergies. 

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
5  Thank stanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Marrakesh for the first time and loved our stay here. However, we would highly recommend contacting the Riad in advance of your flight to let them know when to collect you - if you're unfamiliar with the medina it's extremely difficult to navigate (and we were taken advantage of by a "helpful" stranger). That said, the riad itself is absolutely wonderful and I wholeheartedly recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make our visit comfortable and pleasant. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

After 7 days of trekking/climbing in High Atlas mountains followed by a 3 day sahara desert tour, i settled in here so i could explore, sight see, shop and get lost in and around Marrakech. When you first walk in you are transported in a oasis, very nice rooms, loved the terrace and the common room. Food was great, staff was very helpful and it was nice to finally meet sara in person. When i had to be up at 6 am for a early tour i had breakfast ready for me, that was a nice surprise. Easy walk to main square and all shopping your heart desires
If you are looking for a holiday inn express close to airport, then that is what you should get, if you are looking for a great locally owned raid, you wont do better then here

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was a charmingly traditional riad, and comfortable. Sara the owner's daughter, who manages the riad was most helpful and gave us lots of helpful advice. We would strongly advise anyone to contact her to arrange a pickup from the airport . We did not, and were ripped off. Sara was upset that we had missed her e-mail telling us about this. We agree that the location is not for everyone.

The views from the terrace, and the breakfast, were wonderful. But if you are a Hilton-type person this is not for you. For those who want an authentic experience, we highly recommend Sara and her riad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Riad Tamarrakecht is the perfect base within the bustling medina. The riad is impeccably decorated. We stayed for 4 days and stayed in 3 of the rooms, each unique, luxurious, and beautiful. The breakfast on the terrace is the perfect start to any day. Sara's welcome started our trip with a great energy. She and her family are excellent hosts. The location is perfect if you want to get a glimpse of what local life in the medina is like. Getting lost is inevitable but by the end we felt confident getting around the medina. I will tell anyone I know who is going to Marrakech to stay here!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vix313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#71 of 502 in Marrakech
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#82 of 502 in Marrakech
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#89 of 502 in Marrakech
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 502 in Marrakech
882 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.1 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $71 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Tamarrakecht 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing