We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay with the best hosts.”
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #88 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Marrakech, after too much TripAdvisor research I stopped on Riad Tamarrakecht and decided it was the one. We were not disappointed.
We were staying for six nights in total but because we booked fairly late the Riad was only available for five nights, fortunately the unbelievably helpful Sara found a solution we could stay at the Riad for two nights, have an excursion to the Sahara and then return to the Riad for final three nights.
This meant we stayed in all three first floor rooms and i can safely you will love any of them. Each has a unique individual charm.
I'd recommend getting a transfer from the airport arranged by the Riad it can be difficult to find but once you are there Sara will talk you through exactly where you are and need to go.
Breakfast is delicious and can be eaten on the lovely rooftop, served by Sara's brilliant brother Mukhtar who we really enjoyed getting to know. The whole family are perhaps the nicest people I've ever met and nothing is too much for them.
The walk to Jemaa el Fna is about 15 mins but walking through a less touristy neighbourhood in the Medina is actually really nice. You are left alone and you can eat where the locals do.
It was my birthday while I was there and Sara's mother baked me a cake, a bloody delicious one at that.
Everyone at the Riad goes above and beyond, the Riad is so comfortable that even moving rooms still meant everywhere felt like home.
There's no way we'd think about staying anywhere else. It is a remarkable, beautiful home away from home. Thank you so much.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Docefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Riad Tamarrakecht
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 333 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a beautiful riad 10 mins walk from the central square. A family affair. Architect father designed the refurbishment and run by the very hardworking siblings Sara and Mucta. They could not have been more helpful and friendly. Rooms are beautiful. A great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansbnks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Me and my girlfriend just came back from Marrakech and from this Riad. I just want to tell that I met the persons of all my trips! this riad is amazing but the best from there are Sara, ''Murrta'' ( I never know his name :) ) and the parents. this people makes your stay in Marrrakech unforgettable! thanks to Sara family, you made our trip amazing, and if someone tells something bad about this Riad and about this people, is lying! thank you so much for everything! thay more than staff, they are friends!!
THANKS, and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimGuimaraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Absolutely beautiful riad, so finely decorated and pieces chosen with care. The Bab el Jdid suite was sumptuous and the bed was more comfortable than my bed at home. The breakfast was so relaxing, served on the roof with the sun shining down on us as the cats watched us eat. Only 15 minutes to the main square, and easy directionally, once you get it right. Sara was kind enough to give us insights into Moroccan women's lives, and I'm happy to see a Moroccan family own and operate a riad. Overall a beautiful place to stay that was simply perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

To quote Monty Python - "And now for something completely different". Forget about staying in tourist hotels in the New City, where you will only get a sanitised version of Morocco. Riad Tamarrakecht is situated in the heart of the medina - the Old City - where you are surrounded by the "real" Morocco, but in no way does this involve slumming it as it is nicely decorated in local style, it is peacefully quiet, the food is good and the personal service is excellent. Whatever you do, make sure that you ask them to arrange transport for you to get from and to the airport as they will meet the taxi at the gate of the medina (Bab Aylen) and take you and your bags to the Riad - without it, you will never find your way. As soon as we arrived, Sara drew us a map showing the way to Jemma El Fna, the main square where it all happens in Marrakesh and which will inevitably be your focal point, and we had no difficulty in getting around. However, I would not recommend the experience to anyone with a severe mobility problem as the route is crowded with street vendors, motor-cycles and hand- and donkey-carts - though, having said that, my wife was recovering from a recent broken leg and managed fine. I would also suggest when you first venture out into the medina that you identify a landmark by which to identify the turning to find your way back to the Riad as it is down a rather anonymous-looking alleyway. Sara arranged for us to take a one-day excursion over the Atlas Mountains to Ait Benhaddou and Ouarzazate and her brother took us to make sure that our transport was waiting. The money for this, as well as for our accommodation and airport transfers, was payable in dirhams or euros (we chose dirhams), but Sara was totally relaxed about payment and I think I was more anxious to pay her than she was to receive payment! Incidentally, it might help if I mention that on leaving Marrakesh you will need to stand in the queue at the airport to get your boarding card stamped even though you may have checked in on-line, as you will not be allowed through security without this. In summary, a most enjoyable 6-night stay, largely due to the attentiveness of Sara and her brother - and of course those cats!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay in Marrakech - our final holiday as a couple before our first baby arrives in the summer. We chose this riad based on another Tripadvisor review by accident really - what a good accident! The riad collected us from the airport, depositing us at Bab Aylen, where we were met and guided to the riad on foot. There we were welcomed by Muqta, who provided tea, cakes and a ten minute orientation lesson, complete with an extremely handy map of how to get to the main square! And within seconds of sitting down there was a cat on my lap! In fact there were three cats, two of which (Mimish and son of Mimish) belong to the family. The third (nicknamed Stareycat) is a neighbourhood cat. But they were very sweet, led us to our rooms, tried to climb on us, and ducked in our room when we weren't looking! So if you really hate cats, perhaps this might not be great, but we loved them.

Our room (first floor, furthest away from the stairs) was really lovely. Clean, great bathroom, with a table and chairs outside looking over the centre of the riad. It was just lovely. Breakfast was superb, and eating it on the roof was great too. You can see the rooftops of the medina.

The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the main square. There are plenty of riads closer than this, but we loved the walk. We felt that we saw real life in those streets, further away from the tourist zone. We would have missed that if we stayed somewhere else. So if you want an experience that takes you off only the main roads, that shows you real Marrakesh people going about their daily lives, then this is perfect.

The hotel was fantastic value, 60 euros a night including breakfast! We could not fault it at all.

Sara and Muqta were really friendly, helpful, and you know they would look after you.

So all in all, we would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I cannot say enough nice things about Sara and the family that runs the place. They make sure you are looked after as you acclimate yourself to the Medina area. She drew us a map of the old village and gave us great advice for getting around the Medina. And because they are a Moroccan family, they know everyone in the area.

The rooms are well-appointed and very luxurious. The Riad is impeccably clean and the beds are very comfortable. Everything about the place is first class. Its perhaps a 15 minute walk to get to the Medina and there is a lot of great stuff to experience on the way. And its really wonderful to come back to a quiet refuge like this Riad after being immersed in the spectacle of commotion that is the Medina.

This placed should be listed a lot higher!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GozerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#71 of 502 in Marrakech
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#77 of 502 in Marrakech
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#90 of 502 in Marrakech
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 502 in Marrakech
883 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.1 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#49 of 502 in Marrakech
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $71 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Tamarrakecht 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing