We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful, Local Host Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #68 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Local Host Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I cannot say enough nice things about Sara and the family that runs the place. They make sure you are looked after as you acclimate yourself to the Medina area. She drew us a map of the old village and gave us great advice for getting around the Medina. And because they are a Moroccan family, they know everyone in the area.

The rooms are well-appointed and very luxurious. The Riad is impeccably clean and the beds are very comfortable. Everything about the place is first class. Its perhaps a 15 minute walk to get to the Medina and there is a lot of great stuff to experience on the way. And its really wonderful to come back to a quiet refuge like this Riad after being immersed in the spectacle of commotion that is the Medina.

This placed should be listed a lot higher!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GozerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
175
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Tried to write in danish, but Tripadvisor didnt like that. Well, this Riad is situated in the old original part of the city, the Medina. We were picked up in the airport and recommend doing so, as Marrakech is a bit confusing the first days of the stay. But after that you quickly learn your way around without getting too much lost. You pay the Riad for picking you up - and only the Riad!
The Riad is a small family owned hotel, where Sara and her family makes you feel very welcome. They are always smiling and friendly. All questions are being answered correctly and does not cost you extra (like outside these walls). And - most important - you can trust the information you get here. Sara gave us a very good description about finding our way around and a general info about the city and even about the whole society.
The included breakfast is excellent and plenty. Fresh orangejuice and pancakes every day :) We also had dinner some evenings, and you owe yourself to do that. Sara's mom is a very competent chef. Try her pastilla :) We really enjoyed the food here.
After walking around for hours in the narrow and noisy streets, it was a relief to enter the Riad again, where it was always very peaceful and quiet. All the rooms were beautifully decorated after local traditions. We liked that a lot.
They have cats in the Riad. They are cute, but beware - they might try to grap some leftovers from the table ;) And another thing. We were there in January, and it was a bit chilly. So remember to bring your warm clothes this time of the year, as dinners are served outside in the atrium.
Finally is just left to say many thanks to Sara, her brother and the rest of the familiy for a nice stay in Marrakech. We recommend others to stay in Riad Tamarrakecht.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Tamarrakecht and would definitely recommend it to others who are seeking an authentic, non-touristy experience in this wonderful city. We are a young, well-traveled couple and spent three nights here in January. Seamless airport transfer was arranged at a very reasonable price, taking us right to the front door (important to help get your bearings the first time around!). The Riad is located about 10-15 min walk from place Jemaa-el-Fna. At first glance the route to get there may seem confusing but once you've done it once, it is easily remembered and the staff will always come get you if you are lost! The bonus is that you get to walk through a "real" neighbourhood and get the taste of Marrakech that is lacking in the fancier Riads around the square. We walked it many times at all hours of the day/night and did not feel unsafe in the slightest -- and some of the best mules and chicken vendors were along the way!

The Riad is comfortable and unpretentious; clearly family-run and Sara and Moktar were gracious hosts, answering all of our questions and providing us with many awesome inside tips on the culture and vibe of the country (and fair price for teapots!). This is what made the difference -- you can go crazy comparing Riads but we learned that they are all basically the same, it's the people that make the difference and you will feel at home at Tamarrakecht. There are even a few adorable cats that hang around and snuggle you on request!

We rented the Bab el Jdid suite on the second floor and it was lovely and calm (note from my wife to the ladies -- hair dryer is included!) The room is authentically decorated and quite comfortable, though hot water was sporadic (common throughout Morocco, not their fault!) and the WiFi signal came and went in the room. We had breakfast each morning on the rooftop terrace and it was wonderful -- they changed it every day but it invariably included Moroccan pancakes, eggs, pastries and fresh OJ/tea/coffee.

On our last night Sara's mother cooked us the best meal we ate in Morocco -- savoury and warm Harira (soup), succulent beef and prune tajine and lovingly prepared chicken pastilla (b'stilla). We ate so much we could not move for almost 24 hours but it was worth it!!

In short, if you are looking to experience the "real" Marrakech at a reasonable price, and are not afraid to walk through a real street on the way to the main square (why some people prefer to avoid the locals while travelling mystifies me...) then look no further! Thanks again to Sara and her family!

Room Tip: We can only speak for the Bab el Jdid suite on the top floor, which was wonderful! Other reviews se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_Karolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night and wished we had more time to spend at this lovely family owned riad. It is very well decorated and the rooms are stunning, and have modern amenities. Lovely breakfast on the terrace! The owner's daughter Sara was a most gracious and informative hostess who gave us an excellent map of the route to the main square, and her brother was very helpful with the breakfast and other needs. The owner is very polite and personally made sure we were well cared for. And the roaming cats were a special attraction for the children. We hope we will be back one day for a longer stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AP20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a great stay in Tamarrakecht. Nice staff, great location, beautiful hotel, breakfast on the rooftop. Our flight arrived late at night and departed early in the morning, but the staff helped us to get to the airport on time with delicious breakfast before sunrise. I have never seen such a good hospitality, book in advance because this place deserves to be fully booked all year round!

I gave the quality of sleep a 3 out of 5, but that's only because I was traveling with my mom and she snores. We had to share the (big) bed, two separate beds would have been better in our situation.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bow E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip, and had a lovely time. Sara is a great host and was really helpful in answering any of our questions and giving directions. Sara organised a transfer from the airport which was effortless and great after arriving at night. The rooms are lovely and feel quite grand, and the breakfast on the rooftop in the sunshine was the best breakfast we had on our trip!
The riad is about a 10 min walk to the Jemaa el-Fnaa (main square), however it is an easy walk and gives you a taste of life in Marrakech. I also liked that the riad was away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area, and is so quiet once you step inside the doors.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah611Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in this Riad for a week mid December. The Riad is small but homely and has an authentic feel. We stayed in two of the rooms available both of which were very pleasant. The food we requested for our night of arrival was better than much of the food we experienced in top restaurants during our stay. What makes this place so very good is the owner. The owner is English speaking and she went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed for a terrific break. No request was too difficult and believe me my partner made plenty!!! I have no hesitation in adding my 5 rating to the many others this Riad has achieved.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#72 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#44 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.1 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#33 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#42 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing