We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location with superb English speaking owner who couldn't help enough.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #58 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location with superb English speaking owner who couldn't help enough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in this Riad for a week mid December. The Riad is small but homely and has an authentic feel. We stayed in two of the rooms available both of which were very pleasant. The food we requested for our night of arrival was better than much of the food we experienced in top restaurants during our stay. What makes this place so very good is the owner. The owner is English speaking and she went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed for a terrific break. No request was too difficult and believe me my partner made plenty!!! I have no hesitation in adding my 5 rating to the many others this Riad has achieved.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    35
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
172
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed there 3 nites with my son.
Very caring and lovely family run Riad. Only 15 minutes from Main Square. Nice Breakfast
on the roof, pleanty of items, with Fresh Orange Juice make our day refreshing.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonely mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Had a very relaxed stay here.
Sara and Mokhtar are nice and welcoming! You get greeted Mint tea and moroccan sweets on arrival.
We stayed one night in the Bab Agnaou and two nights in the Bab Ighli.
Both pretty rooms with very comfy beds. There is no wifi reception inside the Bab Ighli though in case that is important to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed Mid December. Airport pickup was prompt well-arranged no hassle, very glad we took the option as the guy walked us to the door and waited till Sara opened the door.

Very warm welcome, the raid looked gorgeous. Was satisfied with our room the only down side was the toilet had a strong smell of the drainage system.

The explanation and map Sara gave us was very helpful, good advice on our first day which saved us loads of hassle and time throughout the trip.

Will definitely recommend as Sara and her brother make you feel at home and quite relaxed, they are very friendly and welcoming.

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed there with my husband and parents the first week in December and it was incredible. The best points were:

a) We were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan sweets.

b) The whole hotel is very clean and extremely well decorated. You really feel like you're in Morocco.

c) Sara (the daughter and hotel manager) is sweet, friendly and helpful.

d) The breakfast (served in the rooftop terrace) is great!

e) It's only a 15 minute walk (slow walk) to the main square and market.

f) You REALLY experience Morocco because the hotel is located in the Old Town where you don't find tourists until you reach the market.

We totally recommend this hotel!
Love to you Sara!
Patrícia, Eduardo, Rita and Paulo (Brazilian family)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDuarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Riad is ranked so highly for a reason. After booking it based on reviews read here we were not disappointed.
The greeting and orientation were invaluable in the maze of the Old Town - no request was too much - the breakfast was exactly what was required. The Begging cats added charm - the room was clean cool and quiet and simply beautiful.
Worth absolutely every penny and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Leslie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. It was the end of July and temperatures were at about 45 degrees celsius but the Riad was cool and calm. Our room was well furnished, quiet and comfortable.

The family were very helpful, organising coach tickets to Essaouira and even finding us a rental car at late notice on a Friday.

It seemed that anything we asked about, they were able to sort out. They even managed to find my wife's lost wedding ring for us.

The Riad is in a less touristy part of the medina but this meant that we could feed ourselves quite easily by shopping around the stalls in the area. It took about 20 mins to get to the main square. This could be quite hairy when it was busy, especially during Ramadan when everybody came out at night. Our tip would be to walk into town when evening prayers are on, to avoid the crowds and scooters. This would probably apply in most parts of the medina though.

The roof terrace was very pleasant for evening meals and the cat (Bruce), entertained us by strutting around and fighting off any cats that bothered us.

The family were extremely kind and took very good care of us which made our stay all that much better. The only negative for some people might be that it isn't as close as some Riads are to the centre but we preferred to be able to get away from the chaos and have a breather.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in Bab Ighli and were greeted by Missimon (Bruce) the cat every morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#56 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#138 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing