We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful hosts and beautiful riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #64 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts and beautiful riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent a wonderful 4 nights at riad tamarrkecht. Both sara and mukhtar were extremely friendly and helpful and saras map was invaluable. We stayed in the Bab El Jhid suite which was lovely and spacious and comfortable. We ate twice at the riad and the food was very good and eating on the beautiful roof terrace was peaceful and a welcome break from marrakrch town. The breakfasts were v good. If we return to marrakech we would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the Bab El Jhdid suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
177
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely 5 days at this Riad. Sara was especially helpful drawing us a map and giving us a 'welcome talk' on our arrival. Do take advantage of the airport transfer on offer! We stayed in the BAB EL JDID suite-a stunning room and I think the largest one. The decor was lovely, the bed extremely comfortable and a lovely bathroom. We had fresh fruit in our room. The breakfast is lovely and eating on the terrace was a real treat. We were made to feel very welcome and it was a very relaxing environment especially after the busy Medina. Like previous reviewers have said it is a 10-15 walk to the main square so Sara's map was very helpful. Thank you to all the family especially Sara and Muhktar. It was also an opportunity for me to practice my 'school girl 'French!

Room Tip: The Bab El JDid suite was lovely and we would recommend it! it seemed quite a lot bigger than some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillespie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had the most amazing experience in Marrakech in this absolutely beautiful riad! The hosts were fantastic and we felt safe and really well looked after during all our stay.
The daughter of the family Sarah does an amazing job at the front desk. She was really friendly and always happy to give advice with a smile

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had the most amazing experience in Marrakech in this absolutely beautiful riad! The hosts were fantastic and we felt safe and really well looked after during all our stay. The daughter of the family Sarah does an amazing job at the front desk. She was really friendly and always happy to give advice with a smile to all guests, as her brother Muhktar was also. Our room was a ground floor suite, which was clean and very tastefully decorated, but lacked natural light. The breakfasts were some of the best continental style breakfasts we have ever had in our travels and the dinner we had in the riad was just DELICIOUS, cooked by the mum of the family! We booked transfers directly with them, which we found really useful as we did not have to worry finding the riad when first arrived. Lastly, we found the location of the riad really convenient, close to the gate where you can take a taxi anywhere in the city and 15-20 minutes walk to the main square. Overall, our experience in this riad - oasis in the crazy old city, was brilliant and we would definitely recommend booking to everyone! THANK YOU Sarah, Muhktar and the rest of the family for a beautiful, friendly, authentic Moroccan experience! D&A(Mekky)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloWorld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed a night at the Riad and Mukhtar and his Father were wonderful - so helpful and friendly. The service was great and the room was great too. The riad was beautiful and the roof terrace was very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a great experience inside Riad Tamarrakecht. The main guy who runs the riad (I'm assuming the son from reading the other reviews), was hospitable, nice, and very chill. One of the first things I learned about entering the riad is that you are entering a paradise from the busy city and labyrinths. We were in a "hotel" mentality- get keys go in room. But the idea was, enter the riad, sit down and relax...because they were preparing desert & tea! It was so nice! Upon entering the room, there was fresh oranges, flowers, a bottle of water, and towels. Was very clean and the room decor was beautiful. We were impressed with breakfast- generous portions and assortment. One of the morning we ate on the roof terrace and it was such a gorgeous feeling with the rich colors of the terrace and blue sky. Make sure to read the fine print upon booking this riad, b/c it is cash only (like everything else in Marrakech). We forgot about this and the son was so chill and understanding. He was willing to come with us to the airport so we can pull out cash at the ATM! But luckily there was a cash point close on the way! But it was so great of him to be so accommodating to the situation. I'd sum up that this place is great and the host is one of a kind. The only thing is that the location is a bit too far from the plaza. There was absolutely no way we would of found the place without asking directions from the local people. They are very helpful and willing to help. They will insist on taking you to the riad for a tip. It's intimidating being lost in the labyrinths at night. The walk to the main plaza is probably about a half hour b/c it's a long walk and also the motorcycles, cyclists, and foot traffic on the way makes it longer. If you are not going to the plaza, the riad is close to a main street where you can catch a cab very easily (about 5 min walk). All in all, we had a great stay and it was an amazing experience and adventure!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKCALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an amazing time in Marrakech, the Riad was a peaceful escape from the busy Medina, you can relax whilst hearing the water trickling from the courtyard.
The room was very clean and had everything we needed (towels, comfy huge bed, rose petals, fruit, water and a GREAT shower!).
The family that runs the Riad was really friendly and attentive from the very beginning. The son walked us down to the Square the first night so we weren't hassled by the opportunistic locals, this really helped since after that we knew our way. They also took the time to book several trips for us, even those offered by other companies. They would call and make the reservation for us. We cannot thank them enough!
Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, specially the orange juice! It was great to have breakfast while catching some sun in the lovely terrace!
Thanks family to make from our stay a wonderful one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaniaMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#81 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#63 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#34 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#69 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#119 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing