We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts beautiful Riad”
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #84 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely 5 days at this Riad. Sara was especially helpful drawing us a map and giving us a 'welcome talk' on our arrival. Do take advantage of the airport transfer on offer! We stayed in the BAB EL JDID suite-a stunning room and I think the largest one. The decor was lovely, the bed extremely comfortable and a lovely bathroom. We had fresh fruit in our room. The breakfast is lovely and eating on the terrace was a real treat. We were made to feel very welcome and it was a very relaxing environment especially after the busy Medina. Like previous reviewers have said it is a 10-15 walk to the main square so Sara's map was very helpful. Thank you to all the family especially Sara and Muhktar. It was also an opportunity for me to practice my 'school girl 'French!

Room Tip: The Bab El JDid suite was lovely and we would recommend it! it seemed quite a lot bigger than some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillespie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 340 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had the most amazing experience in Marrakech in this absolutely beautiful riad! The hosts were fantastic and we felt safe and really well looked after during all our stay.
The daughter of the family Sarah does an amazing job at the front desk. She was really friendly and always happy to give advice with a smile

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had the most amazing experience in Marrakech in this absolutely beautiful riad! The hosts were fantastic and we felt safe and really well looked after during all our stay. The daughter of the family Sarah does an amazing job at the front desk. She was really friendly and always happy to give advice with a smile to all guests, as her brother Muhktar was also. Our room was a ground floor suite, which was clean and very tastefully decorated, but lacked natural light. The breakfasts were some of the best continental style breakfasts we have ever had in our travels and the dinner we had in the riad was just DELICIOUS, cooked by the mum of the family! We booked transfers directly with them, which we found really useful as we did not have to worry finding the riad when first arrived. Lastly, we found the location of the riad really convenient, close to the gate where you can take a taxi anywhere in the city and 15-20 minutes walk to the main square. Overall, our experience in this riad - oasis in the crazy old city, was brilliant and we would definitely recommend booking to everyone! THANK YOU Sarah, Muhktar and the rest of the family for a beautiful, friendly, authentic Moroccan experience! D&A(Mekky)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloWorld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed a night at the Riad and Mukhtar and his Father were wonderful - so helpful and friendly. The service was great and the room was great too. The riad was beautiful and the roof terrace was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a great experience inside Riad Tamarrakecht. The main guy who runs the riad (I'm assuming the son from reading the other reviews), was hospitable, nice, and very chill. One of the first things I learned about entering the riad is that you are entering a paradise from the busy city and labyrinths. We were in a "hotel" mentality- get keys go in room. But the idea was, enter the riad, sit down and relax...because they were preparing desert & tea! It was so nice! Upon entering the room, there was fresh oranges, flowers, a bottle of water, and towels. Was very clean and the room decor was beautiful. We were impressed with breakfast- generous portions and assortment. One of the morning we ate on the roof terrace and it was such a gorgeous feeling with the rich colors of the terrace and blue sky. Make sure to read the fine print upon booking this riad, b/c it is cash only (like everything else in Marrakech). We forgot about this and the son was so chill and understanding. He was willing to come with us to the airport so we can pull out cash at the ATM! But luckily there was a cash point close on the way! But it was so great of him to be so accommodating to the situation. I'd sum up that this place is great and the host is one of a kind. The only thing is that the location is a bit too far from the plaza. There was absolutely no way we would of found the place without asking directions from the local people. They are very helpful and willing to help. They will insist on taking you to the riad for a tip. It's intimidating being lost in the labyrinths at night. The walk to the main plaza is probably about a half hour b/c it's a long walk and also the motorcycles, cyclists, and foot traffic on the way makes it longer. If you are not going to the plaza, the riad is close to a main street where you can catch a cab very easily (about 5 min walk). All in all, we had a great stay and it was an amazing experience and adventure!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GKCALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an amazing time in Marrakech, the Riad was a peaceful escape from the busy Medina, you can relax whilst hearing the water trickling from the courtyard.
The room was very clean and had everything we needed (towels, comfy huge bed, rose petals, fruit, water and a GREAT shower!).
The family that runs the Riad was really friendly and attentive from the very beginning. The son walked us down to the Square the first night so we weren't hassled by the opportunistic locals, this really helped since after that we knew our way. They also took the time to book several trips for us, even those offered by other companies. They would call and make the reservation for us. We cannot thank them enough!
Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, specially the orange juice! It was great to have breakfast while catching some sun in the lovely terrace!
Thanks family to make from our stay a wonderful one!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TaniaMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This Riad is beautiful, and I would go as far to say the most hospitable and beautiful place I have ever stayed. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I was particularly impressed that they took time to cook me a specially prepared breakfast due to a food allergy, and the breakfast is very generous. They prepared a meal for us when we arrived late, even though I stupidly didn't inform them. It is clean and safe. It is the place to stay in the Medina of Marrakech if you want to soak up the atmosphere and stay in a traditional Riad.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jofish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#83 of 502 in Marrakech
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.8 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#150 of 502 in Marrakech
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#87 of 502 in Marrakech
676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#70 of 502 in Marrakech
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#89 of 502 in Marrakech
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech 11223, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $72 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Tamarrakecht 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Marrakech’s medina,Riad Tamarrakecht is a 15-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. You can admire the view of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace, and Moroccan dishes are served in the dining room. Free Wi-Fi access and a seating area feature in the air-conditioned rooms and suites, which have an elegant decoration. Each room has a private bathroom, which is decorated with Tadelakt. A traditional breakfast is prepared every morning at the Riad Tamarrakecht. Desserts include Moroccan pastries and homemade sorbet, and you can also request cookery lessons. You can relax in the pool in the patio or in the living rooms. Excursions can be organised on site and an airport transfer is possible at an extra cost. Marrakech International Airport is a 15-minute drive from this riad and Amelkis Golf Club is 6 km away. You can visit the Majorelle Gardens, an 8-minute drive away. Medina is a great choice for travellers interested in markets, shopping and street markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing