We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfy and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfy and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an amazing time in Marrakech, the Riad was a peaceful escape from the busy Medina, you can relax whilst hearing the water trickling from the courtyard.
The room was very clean and had everything we needed (towels, comfy huge bed, rose petals, fruit, water and a GREAT shower!).
The family that runs the Riad was really friendly and attentive from the very beginning. The son walked us down to the Square the first night so we weren't hassled by the opportunistic locals, this really helped since after that we knew our way. They also took the time to book several trips for us, even those offered by other companies. They would call and make the reservation for us. We cannot thank them enough!
Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, specially the orange juice! It was great to have breakfast while catching some sun in the lovely terrace!
Thanks family to make from our stay a wonderful one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaniaMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This Riad is beautiful, and I would go as far to say the most hospitable and beautiful place I have ever stayed. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I was particularly impressed that they took time to cook me a specially prepared breakfast due to a food allergy, and the breakfast is very generous. They prepared a meal for us when we arrived late, even though I stupidly didn't inform them. It is clean and safe. It is the place to stay in the Medina of Marrakech if you want to soak up the atmosphere and stay in a traditional Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jofish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The two of us stayed at Riad Tamarrakecht for five nights and we thouroughly enjoyed each day! The riad itself is a piece of art, very looked after and beautiful throughout. The breakfast is tasty and rather generous and the hosts, although do not speak much English with the exception of Mocktar (the son of the family who run the riad), are all very attentive and polite. Our room was lovely and very atmospheric with some colourful stained glass and fresh flowers; the cosy terrace was perfect for both the breakfast and smoking some sheesha (5eur), or simply socializing and chilling in the evenings. The riad can also recommend some day trips, we went to see Cascades D'Ouzoud (30eur pp), and absolutely loved it! All in all, a great stay at the riad, would definitely stay again if ever back to Marrakech!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina_Mackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The owner of the hotel and his sun very good people. When we went to walk to Marrakech in the first time. He went with us to show us the way and that we do not get lost. Also, they prepared breakfast for us at 4 am and after that the hotel owner drove us in his car to the bus station.

The hotel inside very clean and they cook a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

People are lovely. Breakfasts are gargantuan. Accommodation is authentic, with a careful eye on the attention to detail. We arrived as guests and departed as friends.

Riad Tip: Do make use of the Riad's Airport Transfer Service.

Marrakech tip: Have spare toilet paper as many loos tend to be "out of stock"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okaycrokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday with my friends. The family that run the hotel were very nice and very welcoming. Sara (one of the daughters) showed us how to get around, her and her father even walked with us to the market to make sure we knew our way. The hotel room was amazing and the terrace was lovely. The breakfast was amazing and they had so much variety, after breakfast I wouldn't eat again until late afternoon. Sara ensured that we had her mobile number and if we ever got lost we could just call them. One evening we wanted to go to the new town, and Sara's father drove us there and collected us, because he said that the taxis would be too expensive. I've never stayed in a hotel that was so focused on ensuring their guests were happy and catered for. I am planning to come back again with my mum and granddad. If you stay here definitely have at least one meal from the hotel, the food was one of the best meals I had whilst in Marrakech, one of my friends was vegetarian and didn't have much choice in restaurants, we told Sara this and she offered to cook my friend whatever she wanted. If you like fish definitely request for the grilled fish or fish tagine, you won't regret it. The location is great and so close to the main square in the old town, and the airport is only 20-30 minutes from the hotel. They really looked after us, and Sara's father treated us like were his daughter.

If you go to Marrakech in an all female group be prepared to get unwanted attention from the Morocco men. The best advice I could give would be to ignore them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after reading the reviews on here and we weren't disappointed,
We arrived at abour 8pm and our transfer driver waited with us while he called someone to collect us and take us there as the street was very narrow, we didnt get his name but he was the son of the family that owned the riad and he looked after us for the whole time we were there, he couldn't have done more and spoke good english.
We got mint tea and moroccan pastries on arrival and a map on how to get the the main square which was very helpful when we did decide to go, he offered to take us that night himself but we had a long day travelling so didn't go until the following night.
There was a mix up with the room so we had a different room to the one I booked but it wasn't a problem and it was a lovely room we were given, a large bed with a seating area and an ajoining bathroom. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. We also got a bottle of water and a fruit bowl in the room, dressing gowns in the bathroom and I believe the sheets were changed every day.
The breakfast that came with the room price was amazing! A fried egg with some peppers in it I think, 3 different kinds of bread and croissants with jam, honey, cheese, butter and some delicious black olives in some kind or marinade, along with freshly squeezed orange and tea or coffee if you wanted it. We had our breakfast on the roof terrace which is a lovely place to just sit and relax.
We didn't book any trips through the riad as we booked these before arrival with another company, but they came to knock on our door to let us know when the driver was here and wished us a pleasant day.
We had dinner on the last night, also on the roof terrace and it was fantastic. They have a number of options, all are cooked by the family in their kitchen I believe. We had a moroccan soup to start followed by a vegetable tagine and vegetable cous cous and the chocolate crepes for dessert. The portion sizes for all courses were very generous! They even managed to get us some wine when we requested it which was a very nice touch, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The Father of the family even drove us to the airport onthe morning we left.

Though it is tucked away in the Medina it is in a good location to get to the main square in about 10-15 mins (depending on the crowds of people, cars and motorbikes on the narrow streets!) and its actually a nice quiet street where no one hassles you unlike the streets closer to the square.

It doesnt have a full swimming pool but thats not what we were after anyway, it had a small "plunge" pool that you could take a dip in to cool down in the summer months.

The only possible thing I would mention about the riad is that it would be very difficult to find for the first time if you were looking for it yourself, and your room key doesnt open the front door so you have to knock to be let in, though it was always answered promptly.

This is a wonderful place to stay and we would definately stay here again if we were to go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#125 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#32 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#79 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#47 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#75 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing