We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Magic oasis of peace in the center of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Tamarrakecht
Ranked #62 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Magic oasis of peace in the center of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in this family-run Riad for two days and had the most wonderful experience. Without exaggerating, this was one of the best places we have stayed at. Although in the center of crazy medina, inside it was a peaceful, clean and quiet. You could only hear the water fountain and mellow arabic music. On entering we were welcomed with the typical tea and delicious sweets. Our room was spacious, had amazing bathroom and was designed with great taste. The whole Riad looked like someone really took their time designing every single piece of it. On the top of the roof there was very nice terrace, where we were served delicious lunch we ordered extra from the owner's wife. The breakfast were so huge, they could easily feed more than just a couple :) There were various types of sweets, pastries, juice, teas, fruits etc.

The only disadvantage was that the owner did not speak English, but he always called for his son to translate. The son was very helpful - he personally took us to the main square, organized hammam or taxis for us.

I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had the room in the first level with red bathroom and sky bed. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tereza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    35
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
172
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I don't think I have given 5 stars before but I have no hesitation in doing so for this charming little riad. In that I pretty much echo what others have said, so obviously they are maintaining their standards. Nothing seems too much trouble for the family who own it. English and French are both spoken, breakfast and mint tea come when you want them, there's a comfortable roof terrace, bus tickets are bought for you.

Rooms are a decent size with great decor, very comfortable king size beds, a/c (heats in winter), good showers with plenty of hot water. It's a 15 minute walk from the main square but they will draw you a map and also direct you anywhere you want to go.

This won't suit you if you want 5 star luxury, pool, fitness centre etc, but if you want peace and quiet and excellent attentive service, it's perfect.

You don't have a snowball's chance in hell in finding it, so do accept their offer of collecting you from the airport for 8 euros a head. If you really want to do it yourself, take a taxi to Bab Aylens, walk through the gate into the Medina, fork right at the first mosque, carry on for 100m and turn left when you can see down an alley 20m to a wall with CH written on it about. Left again at CH and it's the doorway on the right before the arch.

Hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discowilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Out of season, they are still an attentive riad with good size rooms and great breakfasts! The walk into town is a reasonable distance but for this you do get a bit of peace and quiet away from the bustle of the square. The only real downside is that in dec it is a bit chilly, and the heaters only blow hot air into their built-in box and not into the room!

Best to stay when it's warm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K85az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This riad is a great place. The rooms are really clean and nice design. The family that run this place are very nice and welcoming. I could not recommend this place more. I will for sure stay here again. A great escape from the busy square of Marrakesh!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcus z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After a day spent in the chaos and noise of the Marrakech medina there is nothing better than going back to an oasis of peace where people are warm, friendly and make you feel at home.
Riad Tamarrakecht is a beatiful little guesthouse with amazing rooms where you can really feel like a princess or like in 1001 nights :)
Every decoration and detail of the Riad and its rooms are simply fantastic and the breakfast is almost like a ritual. Every day you get different kinds of bread, Moroccan-style crepes, eggs or fruits, jams, honey, coffe, fresh orange juice etc. Plan at least half an hour for breakfast in order to enjoy it at its best, it would be a shame not to do so.
The first welcome you get in the Riad is also lovely, with some mint tea and pastries, a very detailed map of Marrakech and its medina along with very clear explanations (marked with a highlighter on the map :) ) to find your way from the Riad and back...thanks to this never got lost in the medina :) The Riad also offers excursions. I had already booked mine before booking here at different agencies, so I am not able to judge on the quality, but I think it is great that such service is also on offer.
Rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean.
You can also have lunch and dinner there and the quality is fantastic. There is a beautiful roof terrace where you can choose to have your meals if you wish to do so.
Location is great: it is quieter than in other parts of the medina and it takes only 20-25 minutes on foot to get to Jem El Fnaa. If you need a taxi you can walk to Bab Aylen, a gate at less than 10 minutes from the Riad.
I would definitely recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mestre, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great place to stay. You' re welcomed by Sarah in a perfect english and the riad is 10 min. walking from the grand place. The rooms are spacious and clean , the breakfast served also on the terrace is gorgeous. The staff is helpfull and ready for information. If we came back to Marrakech we'd definitly stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAOLO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Riad Tamarrakecht was supurb. Very relaxing environment and the attention to detail was beautiful. There were so many lovely features, flowers arrangements, wooden doors, water features etc. the family who own this riad did their best to make us feel like home and enjoy every moment. they managed to provide family atmosphere and high service in the same time.we especially enjoyed deliciously cooked dinner served on the roof and smoke hookah listening to the sounds of busy Medina. the rooms are uniquely decorated. interior is made in Moroccan style. overall our stay was amazing. i would recommend it to each and everyone. i promise you wont regret!!!
P.S i would also say a big THANKS!!!! to Sarah and her family for being a great hosts and just exceptional people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie-Jelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#133 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#59 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#63 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Property: Riad Tamarrakecht
Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing