We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Riad in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Vanilla sma
Ranked #26 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Riad in Marrakech”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were picked up at the airport (you should really do that) and accompanied to the Riad. When the beautiful Moroccan door opened we felt immediately that we made the right choice. Like you are in a very tail.

As a welcome, we were given mint tea and the staff gave us a lot of inside tips. Where to go, where to eat etc. Nelly is a very warm en welcoming person. ‘’This is your home now’’, was one of the first things she said to us. And it really felt that way.

The riad is beautiful decorated and really clean. Rooms are amazing and so is the breakfast. Very big, with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, fruits, bread, pancakes and an omelette if you want. The location of the raid couldn’t be better. It is literally 8 minutes from the big main square and very close to a lot of nice restaurants. Nelly can arrange bus tickets, excursions and tons of other things for you. Nothing is too much for her.

This Riad is really a hidden gem. After a day in the hustle and bustle of the medina it is such a nice place to come back to. Very quiet, relaxing and it always smells good in the Riad. Fresh flowers everywhere and a bottle of water in your room. I couldn’t think of anything I didn’t like. Really a five star place with a personal touch because of the wonderful staff and Nelly. Thank you so much, we definitely will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joooolien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
149
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a beautiful, stylish and peaceful Riad in the heart of Marrakech. It's the perfect retreat from the hectic streets. And the service and breakfast are superb. I recommend it highly. Thank you so much to Nelly and Redouan for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdieuFromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just stayed at Vanilla Sma for 3 nights and feel we can highly recommend this Riad. It is situated in a great location very close to the main square, the rooms are lovely and comfortable and quite, it is truly a home away from home.
The Owner Nelly, is truly a special lady, in all my travels I have never come across such a lovely kindhearted and caring owner. She is a wealth of knowledge on Marrakech as well as the surrounding area, she always has energy for a chat.
if you are an animal lover, I would highly recommend you stay. Nelly is a unique lady that rescues many street animals around Marrakech and nurses them back to good health:)
Great Riad and a fantastic owner and staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyPortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skoura, Maroc
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Marrakech was our first halt in a trip of one week in Morocco ,we passed two nights in Riad Vanilla Sma .the staff is so friendly . Redouan made us feel like we were his guests during our stay , tea and cookies upon arrival.
The food was fresh and good, and the smells from the kitchen! Fantastic.The rooms are done well , which lends the Riad a lot of character. We were very satisfied with this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank museetheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The decor and style of this Riad is wonderful.... Traditional yet modern and so much attention to detail. The owner Nelly is very knowledgable about the area and offered us little tips about good bars and restaurants which were very useful.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

When a place is as incredibly good as the Vanilla Sma, you doubt between sharing it with others or just keep it for yourself, but in this case I think all other tourists should know about this fanstastic place and Nelly (owner) really deserves a great opinion about her place.
Perfectluy situated (just 5 min from Jemma el Fnaa) but in a very quiet place with no problems of noise. Lovely decorated with the charm of an authentic ancient riad, but new construction and fully refurbished so you can enjoy all the advantages of a comfortable modern house and avoid the usual problems of other riads in Marrakech (such as bad smells or lack of haeting, hot water, etc). Incredible service from all the people there (not just employees but hosts), and specially form Nelly, the best host I have ever had. But, please, do not tell anyone! shhhh :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triki216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had fabulous 10 days in Marrakech in this wonderful Riad.
All staff members are very helpful and friendly. Excellent and huge breakfast to begin the day.
Situated in a quiet road of the medina, our room was very clean and nicely decorated.
I will be back most probably in july, august.
Thank you again to Nelly, Redouane and Sultana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#13 of 1,139 in Marrakech
1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,139 in Marrakech
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#24 of 1,139 in Marrakech
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#18 of 1,139 in Marrakech
606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#7 of 1,139 in Marrakech
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
#17 of 1,139 in Marrakech
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Property: Riad Vanilla sma
Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Vanilla sma 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing