We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An oasis amidst the chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Vanilla sma
Ranked #20 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis amidst the chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a perfect stay in this riad. We stayed 4days and 3nights in marrakech but stayed most of the time inside this riad as it was too beautiful to leave behind. ,marrakech lived up to its expectaion being chaotic, stinking hot, packed and noisy outside. But as soon as you open the door to the riad, it feels like you are saved from all the hussles of the outside world. Its was a divine retreat. Owner Nelly was very accommodating and sweet which added to experience. During our stay, we were very comfortable and relaxed and felt like home away from home.

Riad has only 6 rooms which is a bonus so it felt very private compared to larger hotels and riads.

If I get the chance to go back to Marrakech will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite. You'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luella924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
129
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amberley, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

From the narrow medina street and un-imposing front door you might wonder what you are in for - until the door is opened with a gentle smile and greeting [ no, not Nellie !]. A cool, soothing
atmosphere greets you, created by the water pool in the courtyard and the sophisticated but
un-pretentious decor.
Comfortably seated in the groundfloor 'reception' area we were served freshly brewed mint tea
while Nellie made us feel at home and and gave us a verbal guided tour of the Riad and the surrounding area.

My wife had been ill for two days and I was suffering internal upset so we were not the most
inspiring guests! But Nellie, and her staff, for two days went out of their way to make us comfortable, catered to our every wish and served food acceptable to our delicate stomachs. She even sent out for special requests such as bananas, and late one night for hariri from a local restaurant.

Our room was spacious & comfortable with efficient air conditioning. The bath was stylish and
large with a powerful shower.
Everything was just first rate ! Definitely recommended.

As this Raid was booked for us through Alizes Travel of Casablanca, as part of an all-inclusive tour I cannot commment on 'value' [ though I rate it highly !]

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Riad Vanilla is a great place to stay. It is close to the square and a lovely oasis in the hustle of Marrakesh.
On arrival Nelly showed us exactly where to go and what to see, noted on a map, and what to avoid over a lovely cup of mint tea next to the tranquility of the indoor splash pool.
The rooms are decorated with incredible taste and immense detail.
I would recommend staying at Riad Vanilla any day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burgeyburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is really good choice of the accommodation in Marrakech. Very close to the main square and all touristic attraction. Nelly helps you with all your questions and wishes. Rooms are comfortable and with great design. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and during the day you can relax in patio by small swimming pool. I highly recommend Vanilla Sma and hope that I could come back again.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger and really romantic, so great choice for couples....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We found this riad through a recommendation. We were simply wowed by the place. The riad was stunning and Nelly, the owner, was great. She was very warm and accomodating. The location is very close to the market and going back to the riad was simple and easy. We wish we could have stayed longer. The riad made our vacation memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VHotelManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Book at Riad Vanillasma before everyone finds out about it and it gets fully booked. Discovered Riad Vanillasma through a referral and our family loved our stay. Newly opened, the riad is modern, tastefully decorated and so close to Jemma El Fna.
Nelly our host and the staff were so helpful and warm. Nelly even accompanied us when we arrived and took us around the souk which was very much appreciated.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvkristinelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The owner, Nelly was a lovely host and really looked after me during my stay. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#14 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#1 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Property: Riad Vanilla sma
Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing