We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hotel Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Hotel Marrakech
Ranked #192 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Luton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent 3 nights here and have found the hotel to be clean and all the staff we have come into contact with are polite and friendly. About a 45 minute walk to the medina or a 50 dhr taxi ride that's about 4 quid. I know the locals pay less but at least forwarned it shouldn't be a suprise. Hotel is right opposite the train station but we didn't hear one train whilst staying here so don't let that put you off. Good hotel in a convenient position. I might consider a hotel nearer the medina if I came here again but then might find it a lot more expensive and maybe not as friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Lutonnil
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    183
    59
    29
    20
See reviews for
68
150
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My mom and a couple of friends stayed in the hotel in the last week of September/first couple of days in October and to be honest reading some of the previous reviews we were not sure what to expect especially since it is a 3* however we were pleasantly surprised :)

The decor, feel and atmosphere of the hotel is very welcoming and modern. The staff are very friendly and polite, always have a smile and say hello! The room was facing the road and the train station but we had no problems with noise as the balcony had double doors so if we wanted some quiet we would just shut the door. The rooms were comfortable, a good size and always cleaned.

Many of the facilitates are shared with the hotel next door (which is a 4*). The hotel boasts that it has a bowling alley, spa, and club however they are located in the hotel next door. It was great knowing that we had these facilitates and the other hotel was also quite friendly. The pool area is shared so you will most likely see people you do not recognise but it is a lovely little lounge area. I would recommend the hammam, it was great and my skin was glowing!

The location of the hotel is great as we were able to go on foot to most places such as the markets. We were close enough to get to the markets to walk however not so close that it had all the hustle and bustle. There are plenty of trendy cafe's and restaurants just a short walk away offering all things continental to traditional.

I would recommend the bus tour that we did over 2 days as there was an inner city and outer city tour. It was great and convenient because it stopped straight outside the hotel.

Also - in term of the food. I had read in a previous review that vegetarian food would be hard to come by however I had no issues as those who do not eat meat or fish are well catered for! The markets in the evenings are a must, the smell of all the wonderful food and the entertainment is great!

All in all a great hotel and trip! Will definatley be back and would recommend all to stay here :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A pretty new hotel, which makes it nicely clean, crisp and modern. Location is good, opposite the train station and 5-10 minutes walk to some nice shops & restaurants, and about a 25 minute walk to the medina. Breakfast buffet was more than decent too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here during the last week in September / first week of October (2013).

The hotel met all of our needs; it provided a clean, comfortable room, a lovely pool area to relax around and was within range of the major sights of the city.

We visited most places on foot and due to its location, found it really easy to navigate to and from the main sights such as Jemaa El Fna and Majorelle Gardens.

The pool area was a lovely place to relax and regroup after all the hustle and bustle of the square, and the pool itself was warm enough but nice and cooling at the same time (the missus might disagree there ;-) !).

The room was comfortable and clean (the air con was a must after a day in the heat!), and although we had a room facing the main road and train station opposite, we had no problems with sound or light keeping us awake due to the double glazing and blackout curtains.

The lounge bar next door, which was part of the hotel, was nice. Not exactly a rave, but somewhere to chill with a beer and a shisha pipe!

All in all, a good hotel with decent facilities and friendly staff. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a high room after hearing tips from other travellers mentioning noise from the bar, but to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danmalloy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here the first night in Morocco, was a nice hotel, good breakfast, really helpful staff but didn't feel all that Moroccan, was just what I was after at that point though, quiet night before plunging into Morocco

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haydan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Also, the housekeeping staff don't respect do not disturb signs - and there aren't locks on the doors (at least of the rooms we were in) so I wouldn't stay there again - it's not what you would expect from a three star hotel. Several of the Red Hotel rooms appear to smell like sewage - the whole room, as soon as you opened the room, from the experience of our group - who had 4 rooms in total - i.e. it wasn't just one room that was a problem. We were able to be moved to different rooms - which smelt ok - when we asked - however obviously that only works if the hotel isn't very full. (The room we put in the shower still smelt bad, but only if you opened the door to the shower - so it was manageable). From the reaction of the reception staff I gather this is an ongoing issue - i.e. they weren't surprised and didn't say they'd get someone to look into it - as you might have expected. Either that or they just didn't really care- as their English was perfectly good. However, the pool is good and the location is very close to the train station - and it's all quite modern looking- but I wouldn't stay again. Also the reception area of the hotel really reeks of what I assume is a strong floral cleaning product?

Room Tip: Ask to be changed if your room smells bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantellew228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good value for money when I booked. Stayed 7 nights. Comments below influenced by traveling solo. My room on 5th floor overlooking train station was smart and well maintained during stay. Double doors to balcony kept it quiet. Breakfast (6.30-10.30) was okay although lacking variety which would have been good after a few days. Can be enjoyed on terrace. Evening meal option upgrade for buffet was excellent value (£35/7nights) although not used every night. Poolside shared with Opera Plaza Hotel was very good for service; good range snacks/meals (about 2 dozen items). Always felt safe with this hotel.
Other points: A bit less than 30 minute walk approx to Medina although pavement under construction (slow construction I think). From main road (not hotel), taxi 20dh to Medina but 40dh back- maybe poor bargaining by me. ATM machine immediately outside hotel entrance was handy, Money change service in sight of hotel and tourist bus stops around corner. WiFi unreliable but got access via Opera plaza. Reception and general help / information excellent- special thanks to Nordin. If I was returning to Marrakech I would seriously consider this hotel but would also have a look around at other options for value for money.

Room Tip: Having read previous comments here I was prepared to ask for room change if not happy. Did not need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#129 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#242 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#154 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#160 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#357 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlas Medina & Spa
Atlas Medina & Spa
#186 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hotel Marrakech

Property: Red Hotel Marrakech
Address: Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Hotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing