We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good quality hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Hotel Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Hotel Marrakech
Ranked #178 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for a night before catching a morning flight. We chose it on the basis of being easy to drive to from Essaouira (i.e. not requiring another daunting navigation through Marrakech), near to the airport and it was reasonably priced (~450 dh). Check-in was easy and we got a room on the 5th floor with a private balcony. Room was clean, well-decorated and generally comfortable, although there was a fairly unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom (in contrast to the perfume they pervade the corridors and public spaces with). A downside was that free Wifi was only available in the lobby, paid Wifi (10euro for 24hrs) was available in the room. Breakfast was a buffet with cereal, various pastries and cold meat/salad, coffee was good but it was the only time in Morocco that we had orange juice that wasn't freshly squeezed. It's across the road from the impressive rail station building and a 10min walk to the heart of Gueliz (the new part of Marrakech) - take a petit taxi to the Medina as it's a much longer walk!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lumination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    200
    65
    29
    22
See reviews for
76
159
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed a week at the Red and found it to be of a reasonable standard and as others have said being able to use the facilities of the attached sister hotel was a bonus. Whilst our room was at the front of the hotel noise was minimal and no worse than other hotels we have stayed in around the world. Staff were very helpful and friendly,rooms very clean although no facilities, as already mentioned, for making tea of coffee and the hotel is excellently located for the station and coaches.

Room Tip: The rooms do not all have balconies or certainly not on the 4th floor which could cause issue especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a very basic hotel on a very busy main road, close to a very busy roundabout, opposite the railway station. Based on other reviews, we asked for a room high up, near the back. We were given a room low down, on the front. The next day, after complaining to the Thomson rep, we wer switched to a room "high up, at the back". Our first room was incredibly noisy from the road and the disco. It smelt badly of damp and wasnt particularly clean. The room we moved to was very quiet, didnt smell, and was clean from start to finish. I have a medical condition which requires me to sleep a bit upright - on the first evening, I asked for 4 extra pillows. The request was received with disbelief, so I said 2 would do. A few hours later, after dinner, no sign of the pillows. My wife asked again, and the reception said they would be there soon. They didnt arrive. When we moved rooms, we "stole" the pillows from the 1st room, so we had a total of 4 pillows. A while later, there was a knock at the door of our new room and the housekeeper asked for the pillows we had taken. She intimated that the hotel only had 2 pillows per room. I politely declined, and we kept the pillows, locking them in a suitcase each day. Facilities shared with Opera Plaza, so not bad, albeit expensive. Overall, if you want cheep, and are prepared to have any reasonable requests resisted, this hotel may be fine. As for Marrakech, we werent impressed, and wont be going again.

Room Tip: High and to the rear are better. Top floor 503-511 the higher the number, the better. If you ask and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubadiver10002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubable
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rooms nice, only had room service once. Quality of food below average.
Breakfast repetitive and not great selection if you don't want sweet pasteries to start your day.
About a 30 to 40 minute walk along highly polluted main road to get to old town. Nothing much to see in this "new town" some of the pavements / side walks remind one of London - during the blitz.
Asthma succeeded beware! I needed frequent use on inhaler when near main roads and I live in a city.
The hotel is new and the building is pleasant if somewhat anonymous. It is impossible to get away from the canned and intrusive music in the lobby and beside the pool. Sun badgers with headphones were at least able to block this out but for those of us without the only place to read was in ones room. Very sad because the pool area and lobby is pleasant enough.
The Red Hotel is cheaper and joined to the Plaza. It shares all the Plazas facilities. As far as I can see the only difference are the actual guest rooms, the Plaza being finished to a higher spec. If you want peace, a garden, an easy stroll to the city - consider other options. You will see noise and pool side music is mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

i stayed here last month when I had an early morning train to Casablanca. The Red Hotel is in a good location in the new medina, near transportation and most major hotels and restaurants. The old medina and Majorelle Gardens are a30 minute walk away. rooms are decent - clean, modern decor, etc. There is an inside spa with great services at a good price. They share a swanky little hotel bar with the property next door that has love music on Fridays. Pretty cool vibe. I would stay here again if I had an early morning train.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank katieemerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 26th November and stayed there a week. UnfortunateIy I was very dissapointed with the overall experience. First of all, don't stay there if you don't like noisy places. You won't be able to sleep at night because of the noises coming from both the main street which is quite busy 24 7 and the hotel bar where a loud music is played till very late at night. Secondly, although the hotel offers a pool with the snack bar it was never open even when the weather was nice! Another thing, there's no free wifi in the room. You can access it free in the lobby but don't expect the connection to be strong enough to enable Skype conversation. The good thing is our room got cleaned every day but the bed in the room was just not comfortable at all. Breakfast was average, very little choice and the same food every day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Red Hotel. Rooms were kept immaculately clean, beds comfortable, and showers powerful with plenty of hot water. Staff friendly and attentive. Like others have said, you share all common facilities with the much more expensive Opera Plaza - pool, etc, so you do get a bit of a bargain staying at the Red! The only down sides are the cost of wifi in the rooms, why do you have to pay when it's free in the lobby? Also, no safe/ tea making facilities in the room (yummy pastries on arrival though!! :) ). All in all a good place to stay in the new town, give it a go!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondenurse_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#123 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#260 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#171 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#156 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#211 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
Ibis Marrakech Centre Gare
#349 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hotel Marrakech

Property: Red Hotel Marrakech
Address: Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Hotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing