We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Hotel Marrakech
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$445
$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$82
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$513
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$413
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$453
$367
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$368
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$232
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
172
252
83
36
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
252
83
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationopera plazabar loungerecommend this hotelreception staffcold meatsbusy roadpool areaexcellent hotelboiled eggsmodern hotelhalf boardmin walkcrepestaxi driverourika valleythe hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 572 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Red Hotel. Rooms were kept immaculately clean, beds comfortable, and showers powerful with plenty of hot water. Staff friendly and attentive. Like others have said, you share all common facilities with the much more expensive Opera Plaza - pool, etc, so you do get a bit of a bargain staying at the Red! The only down sides are the cost of wifi in the rooms, why do you have to pay when it's free in the lobby? Also, no safe/ tea making facilities in the room (yummy pastries on arrival though!! :) ). All in all a good place to stay in the new town, give it a go!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Blondenurse_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for amenities and near enough to the old town for a quick taxi ride. Poor cousin to the sister Opera Palace hotel next door but can use all the common facilities. Great pool area (but really cold in November). Rooms spotlessly clean and we had a really large balcony. Good amenities, although access to WiFi and internet is a bit flaky. Would really have appreciated minibar and tea making facilities. Front desk staff were really helpful. I would definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel as high as possible - view not great but takes away the street noise and noise from bars and nightclub etc.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Effyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a very fresh, clean and modern hotel situated directly opposite the new train station. It is therefore really convenient if you want to use Marrakesh as a base for exploring other parts of Morocco, as all the transport links are within a short walking distance. Also ideal if you arrive after a long journey and just want to flop somewhere as soon as possible!

Inside everything is finished to a good standard and the rooms are comfortable enough, though not luxurious and not particularly big. The hotel opened within the past year so everything is new. Beds are a little on the hard side but perfectly ok. The shower was excellent. Rooms also have a reasonably sized balcony, and ours looked out onto the train station which was an impressive view.

The main downside of staying here is the noise. It's right next to a busy roundabout, and Moroccan drivers are unfortunately very horn-happy, so even with two double-glazed doors and thick curtains, some noise will come through. If you're a light sleeper, it might be best to stay elsewhere or at least request a room round the side. However, despite the noise, on the whole we slept ok. This isn't the place to go if you want a very quiet and relaxing holiday, though, it's more of a city break/travelling base.

The bar/lounge was quite busy with hip young Moroccans on the shisha pipe, and this seems to be the latest trendy place in Marrakesh. It's very European in style and design, and it's not always obvious you're in Morocco - that could be seen as a good thing or not, depending on your preferences. They play Western music in the restaurant for example - usually the same songs... Hotel California and We Are The World being two favourites! The breakfasts are fine, with a decent choice and they do a set menu each night for about 120dh which was rather good when we ate there. Very French style food as you would expect.

The pool bar on the roof was shut during our stay, but we had access to the Opera Plaza pool next door instead which was great. There were loads of spare sunloungers and it's a good sized pool. In fact, the Red Hotel and the Opera Plaza are really two hotels in one building, and I'm not clear what difference there really is between the two. You can, for example, walk along the corridors between the two hotels on each floor. Could it be that the noisiest rooms are put in the Red Hotel, which is why it's a bit cheaper? I'm not sure. Anyway, officially the ground floor pool area is not part of the Red Hotel so I don't know whether you would be guaranteed to get access to it during high season. We were given the run of the place, but it wasn't full so that might be why. As the Opera Plaza is higher classed and more expensive, it felt like we got a bargain staying at the Red but using their facilities.

This is an good choice for a city break if you prefer staying in the new town. If you want to be close to the medina and Jemaa el Fna, this is at least half an hour's walk away and we found it a bit far to walk there and back, especially when it's hot. Taxis should be about 30dh each way though you will have to bargain to get that - you will be asked for 50dh. Finally, I do want to mention the staff who were extremely helpful and professional throughout. They also speak pretty good English.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will be noisy due to traffic.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This new hotel is clean and modern. Located in great location opposite the beautiful railway station and Supratours bus station.
We had quiet, clean and spacious rooms (Stayed there twice and left one of our suitcases in the luggage room).
The staff at the front desk were very nice and professional and spoke good English, especially Said who was quite funny.
They serve rich Breakfast Buffet with great pastries and cakes.

The hotel is short bus ride to Jemaa el-Fnaa and the medina with buses number 8, 14 and 66 which you can catch opposite to the Supratours bus station,
at the price of 3.5 dirham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I spent one night on their way from Merzouga to Essaouira at this hotel. As the hotel is located opposite the railway and bus station it was great for me. This hotel is relatively new, modern and very clean. Staff working at the front desk very nice and professional, speaking quite good English, which is not always the case in Morocco. Modern rooms with comfortable beds are quite large. Clean bathrooms with separate shower cabin with very good water pressure. Quite a good breakfast can be eaten on the hotel terrace overlooking new Marrakach.
Generally I was satisfied with staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews