We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful cuisine and very attebtative service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Najat's Kitchen

Dar Najat's Kitchen
Ranked #104 of 758 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan, Halal, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dar Najat's Kitchen-"best home made gastronomy restaurant", part of the Riad Dar Najat. Traditional Moroccan food, reservations accepted the day before or before two o'clock for the same day. PLEASE, BE KIND TO REACH ME BACK ON MAIL for any booking or on phone. ps website in Maintenance,bookings on request only. We are open for the Ramadan's period but just on order dear friends. Cheers,Olli.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful cuisine and very attebtative service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a lamb tagine, chicken tagine, rice and mezzes (Morrocan salad, haricot beans, courgettes and aubergines) breads, pomegranite dessert, beer and white wine. Absolutely delicious, the mezzes were very generously sized infact all the portions were. We especially loved the aubergine and courgettes. The tagine were to die for and the best we had in Marrakech.
Would definately recommend to anyone if you want a high quality traditional meal and with fair prices and a 5star service to book a meal at Dar Najat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank businessinportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    36
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So bad, I checked to make sure we were in the right place!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Awful place, we were so disapointed after reading so many good reviews, which is of course the reason we picked the place and booked.

I called in the afternoon to make a reservation for that night, which was accepted without a problem. Arriving at 7.50pm for an 8pm reservation, we were shown to the roof top restaurant which was completely empty. Nobody there, just set table's and music. We were offered drinks so both requested a glass of wine, which duly arrived, then nothing for 45 minutes... no service, no offer of another glass of wine, no mention of anything and nobody around, we were left completely bewildered as to what was happening. No staff, no other guests there for dinner, nothing... Eventually, we decided to leave, so we walked down to reception to pay for the glasses of wine we had received, but nobody was visable there either. At this point the manager, not the owner, came to us and pleaded with us to return, explaining they were only allowing us time for ourselves, to relax and enjoy the atmosphere, but there was no atmosphere and nobdy expects to be left without some type of service for this long on arrival at a restaurant.

We stayed, had dinner, which was ok, but nothing more. During that time, 1 other guy arrived for dinner, stayed for 10 minutes, then left. Good choice on his part! Another couple arrived as we were leaving and sat looking bewildered as the restaurant was still completely empty and lacking in atmosphere.

I really did check to make sure we were in the correct place, as our experience was very different to most of the other reviews, but it was awful service, average food and no atmosphere. Maybe it was just an off night, but it was without doubt the low point of our trip to Marrakech.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi there!
Sorry for your dinner which didn't look like being a success.. (at all..!) but don't think we are talking.. about the same place dear friends! We didn't have any guests. .looking forward to run away.. after a glass of wine..(?) and the Riad is totally full since long. .the food & atmosphere & service you are describing as "awful"..and "empty" really look like being and other place. In the post , the reviewer said many times he has been checking being in the place he booked....which certainly means ..he has serious doubt about and again..really don't think at all we are talking about the same places with customers "running away"..after coming..
The fellow traveller with looking at the huge majority of our posts .might consider the same as this testimony seems.. not again talking about the right place ..as said many time by the reviewer himself.
If anyone come to Dar Najat's Kitchen, he will enjoy the place & service & atmosphere & gastronomy fresh of the day..and certainly will not describe ourselves as .."awful" I might say.
Regards, Oliver.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“a Wonderful meal after a long trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

When we booked our rooms at Dar Najat, we did not even know they served dinner. However, during the initial emails with Olli, the owner of Dar Najat, he suggested we might want a nice Moroccan dinner from the Dar Najat kitchen our first night in Marrakech and if so, they would be happy to prepare a special meal for us. Wow! are we glad we took him up on his offer.

My wife ordered beef and I ordered chicken. The other couple did the same. The taste was absolutely fantastic. The service was great. The price was reasonable. Everything was cooked fresh. To relax after a long day of travel and end the day with a quality meal such as this made the trip worthwhile! We ate our dinner by candlelight on the open air balcony at the riad.

The owner likes to have a day's notice so that they can shop for everything fresh. Rather than hunt around trying to find a restaurant on your first night in Marrakech, do yourself a favor and go with the Dar Najat special dinner. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nonstop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Not much to say really.. Absolutely loved this place.. The walk from the medina is great too.. Great service, great food, great atmosphere.. Really amazing music playing all evening too.. Very romantic.. Would definitely come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The fact that you are asked to let them know before 2pm if you'd like dinner that day so that they can buy your food in fresh from the markets is a big reason why the food is so good. Breakfast is all freshly prepared with pain au chocolate, crepes, fresh bread, tasty preserves, omelettes, fresh fruit, coffee and orange juice that is simply fresh oranges roughly squeezed into a glass for you.

We had 2 dinners that were the best food we had all the time we were there. Our evening meals started with a wide selection of vegetables, perfectly prepared, followed by tagine (the chicken is superb) and dessert of fresh fruit. The portions are very generous and you can accompany your meal with wine or beer at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Najat's Kitchen also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Najat's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing