We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Moroccan gastronomie at Dar Najat:” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Najat's Kitchen

Dar Najat's Kitchen
Ranked #106 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dar Najat's Kitchen-"best home made gastronomy restaurant", part of the Riad Dar Najat. Traditional Moroccan food, reservations accepted the day before or before two o'clock for the same day. PLEASE, BE KIND TO REACH ME BACK ON MAIL for any booking or on phone. ps website in Maintenance,bookings on request only. Cheers,Olli.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Moroccan gastronomie at Dar Najat:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The food at Dar Najat is simply delicious. The breakfasts are wonderful starting with fresh orange juice and hot bread, followed by pain au chocolate and pancakes and ending with omelettes and large plates of fresh fruit. We booked dinner on a couple of evenings and were similarly impressed. We had a Chicken tagine on the first evening and enjoyed this so much we had a lamb tagine on the second evening. There were perfectly cooked vegetables to start on both evenings along with freshly baked bread and fresh fruit for desert. The food at Dar Najat is a cut above the norm so make sure you pop in - whether you are staying there or not - during your stay in Marrakech.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sbsb1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    36
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couscous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The couscous they cook is delicious! And breakfast typically marrocan made fresh every day. You get a coffee, different breads, fruits and fresh orange juice. And eating it on the terrasse is very relaxing. You can also sit in the jaccuzzi and have it served there :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaNaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Riad Dar Najat is an oasis of calm in the loud and chaotic city. We had slight trouble finding it though but it seems to be normal in the maze of little narrow streets of Marrakech.
The owner and staff were very friendly and welcoming; the place itself is nicely decorated with atmospheric lighting and pleasant background music. The restaurant is on the terrace with jacuzzi, which we were welcome to use even though we didn't stay at the hotel and came just for drinks or dinner.
I have never been a big fan of Moroccan cuisine but I loved that meal. We got a selection of crunchy salads, green beans and okra with argan oil for starters and then ordered what I thought was the best tagine possible: soft juicy beef, with excellent sauce and plums, served with slightly sweet cinnamon rice with toasted almonds. The portions were so generous that we barely touched the fruit that came after the the main course.
The beer was overpriced but we were happy to pay as it seemed to be the only place selling alcohol during Ramadan.
After having such an amazing evening meal on the first night, the rest of the journey around Morocco was culinarily disappointing. So if you want to taste the best of Morocco, this is definitely the place to go to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Afik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu
Level Contributor
168 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A guide is necessary to find this discreet Riad in the Medina. Once found, it is an oasis of calm amidst the chaos. Traditional tagines, prefaced by an assortment of salads. All beautifully prepared and served with a smile. As others have noted, the ambience is terrific on the rooftop terrace and a great evening was had by all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malibuirishmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dinner is served on the rooftop terrace, decorated with wonderful lighting and great music. Intimate setting, not a lot of tables so it's best to reserve ahead of time. Good size portions, usually a salad, a vegetable dish, then the delicious tajine, either lamb, chicken, etc and of course, their great mint tea. Definitely give it a try!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Najat's Kitchen also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Najat's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing