We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent place to drink wine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Salama

Le Salama
Ranked #71 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $22 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant/ bar is a true find. Located just meters off Djema el Fna square it has an ambience and elegance not previously found on the square. Having just opened in December 2011 the service is superb and vibrant. Le Salama is spread over 3 levels allowing to cater for over 200 guests and is crowned with a panoramic terrace overlooking the Atlas mountains and a 360 degree view of the medina. The menu offers modern Moroccan cuisine including delights such as Monkfish Tagine or Lamb Shank with caramelized tomatoes and poached pear. Mouthwatering! This is the perfect place for a tea break, sipping a cocktail or a good local Moroccan wine or even having a meal after shopping in the souk.
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent place to drink wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stylish interior and very good service...maybe more attention to detail would be good (wilted roses; broken soap container). But the atmosphere was there! Great harira soup! very good beef and chicken kebap! Tajine with shrimps...verrryyy nice:). Le Salama offers Moroccan cuisine! Prices- European (20-30EUR). I think the second floor of Le Salama is/looks the best. The first and third floors are also ok-depends what you like. They offer a show for tourists (belly dancers, Berber musicians), which I found a bit funny and too noisy...did not really enjoy it....but some tourists were taking some pictures.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    394
    132
    71
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I picked this restaurant because 1. It was close to our road 2. It has a lounge bar. We did not know that the ambience would be so nice and that there was going to be entertainment! The drinks were very good and wait staff excellent. The patrons were of mixed age and nationalities of course, but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. The menu was Moroccan and our food met our standards, delicious, as well as the wine. The entertainment was bellydancing...always a fun dance to participate in if one desires! We were pleased with our evening. For food in the Medina and Square it is comparably higher at this restaurant that outdoor and street food, but well worth the money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robinstravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner here our first night in Marrakech. The top floor is a secret sanctuary for cocktails. The dining room is very elegant and once inside, hard to believe you sre a block from the square. Dinner was great; highly recommend the tagine with olives and preserved lemons. The staff was very attentive and helpful. My son had a beautiful caprese salad. The couscous dish was goid as well but the tagine steals the show. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank chiantiface2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were recommended this by a local but were very disappointed. Expensive compared to some lovely other places we went to. Nice atmosphere. Service got our meal all wrong. Food was just fancy moroccan that you could have got anywhere else for a fraction of the price and nothing special. Only reason to go is if you are desperate for alcohol!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jswestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice place and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The food and service was very good. I think it was great value for money considering the authentic setting, the location near the main square and the typical Moroccan food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Salama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Salama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing