We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Fusion Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House of Fusion Marrakech
Ranked #55 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed down the road from this little gem of a place, and happened by it one day because the door was open and these amazing smells were wafting out. We happened to be there at the end of Ramadan and because everything was going to be closed, we asked if she would give our family of 4 a cooking lesson. I should preface this by saying I HATE COOKING. But, we were there and it seemed like a reasonable thing to try. We had the most magical 6 hours with Edwina! She taught us to cook a 7 course meal with very easy step by step instructions. Now, 6 months later, I own my own tagine and am still making Moroccan dishes every week! And I still hate cooking "regular food" but I look forward to making my tagines and rose water meringues! Thank you for a lovely day and a wonderful Moroccan experience Edwina! We miss you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank val p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I took the Long Half Day cooking course at the House of Fusion and had a great time. The Riad was easy to find and not far from the main square of Marrakech. We started by deciding on the menu for the day, consisting of 6 or 7 different dishes. After going to the market to purchase some of the ingredients we came back and made a chicken tagine, Berber eggs with tomato jam, couscous, carrot jam, Kefta tagine from sardines, another sardine dish, fried eggplant and learned how to make mint tea. Edwina was very knowledgeable about Moroccan cooking and very friendly. We sat down and ate the feast at a beautifully decorated table and then went to the market to buy some spices. Would definitely recommend the course to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. It was a perfect way to see a country - going to the markets to buy food to cook, a day trip out to a Berber village. The riad is wonderfully peaceful. Fabulous adventure. I highly recommend it as a unique way to see Marrakech.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank katderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After looking at a number of options for a cooking class, a friend and I settled on HOF based on a recommendation from our Riad and having seen it a number of times walking around the Medina. This was the highlight of our trip. The half day class we did was the complete experience starting with discussing the menu over an amazing cup of coffee to learning our 'shopping arabic' and picking out the perfect produce at the market and finally enjoying the multitude of dishes we made.

Edwina and Taufik were excellent hosts providing great instruction with a sense of humour. I appreciated Edwina's style and that we wrote our own recipes. Generally its nice to work in pairs so one writes, while the other does the prep. The clean up and set up is taken care of by the hosts/staff as well which allows you to focus on the cooking and jotting the recipes. They were also very accommodating and allowed our friend, who didn't participate in the class, join the group for lunch for a reasonable fee.

I highly recommend going with the sardines and carrot jam. Really all the dishes were excellent and some of the best food we had in Morocco. My friends, who generally don't eat meat, made an exception so they could enjoy the lamb and chicken tajine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank younggeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I found this place while wandering around the medina. It tempted me to walk in with a sign saying 'epic mojitos' are served in this place. That's how I met Edwina and heard about her cooking classes. Few days later I arrived at 'House of fusion' early in the morning to take part in an amazing cooking experience. We had a day full of fun and we cooked a beautiful meal. I will definitely come back for another class when I visit Marrakech next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardra1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We did not stay in this Riad but had an evening meal. It was by far the best meal we had on our week long trip. Had I known in advance, we would have booked in for the cooking class. Why was it so great?

A) Service and hospitality - Edwina knew what we needed at all times. We didn't even need to ask. We enjoyed her company as well. While she is not Moroccan (originally from Australia) she has lived in Morocco a long time. After the meal, we invited her to join our conversation and we learned a lot about the country through the eyes of a foreigner which was interesting to us.

B) Quality - you could smell her cooking down the street at all hours of the day and it smelled good! Over powering often the undesirable smells u tend to pick up while walking through the medina. I can't say that about most of the other restaurants we passed. The other comparable meal we had in price at Dar Esalam did not come close in terms of flavour or quality.

C) Atmosphere - after two evenings of fighting the crowds in the main square trying to get a good roof terrace with a view for our meal... Relaxing on Edwina's quiet, roof-top terrace was a blessing. Sipping on a mojito under an umbrella on a super comfy, pillowy bench was amazing.

D) Price for alcoholic beverages - much better here then at other places.

E) Dessert - was a real dessert with proper Grenache and meringue with a Moroccan twist. A true fusion of flavours that worked amazingly well. Sure beat out the typical fruit cup and yogurt offerings at even the best of the other places we tried.

Edwina's onto something good in the food department. She offers organised tours as well which sound much more sophisticated, tailored and unique to the competition (possibly more suited to a more mature market and myself being 6 months pregnant) but we did not get a chance to try them.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in this riad. There is no pool which was one of our requirements but looked good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freemanat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were walking from our hotel (Riad Samsli) and noted the sign advertising "Epic Mohitos" and went in to check out the menu. During the day it is a cooking school run by an Australian expatriate and her Moroccan husband and at night it is a small, quaint restaurant with "Epic Mohitos" and wonderful Moroccan food in quantities that defy consumption of it all. More like eating in someone's house than in a restaurant (and they do live there).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_SusanVienna_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#20 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#149 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#93 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Fusion Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Fusion Marrakech

Property: House of Fusion Marrakech
Address: Derb Jdid 81 | Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful culinary destination is somewhere glorious to holiday and celebrate fooding. Sumptuous accommodation in this chic riad, is offered exclusively, to guests booking a culinary stay. Then there are the fabulous gourmet road trips, all the way to the desert, where along the way, you will picnic in hidden gorges, stay in kasbahs, cook in a tribal desert outpost, beyond the end of the road, close to the Algerian border, later, riding camels to camp beside dunes, in a private camp, cooking dinner over stones. Fusion and traditional cooking classes are held in the riad and a traditional over coals class can be had in a remote High Atlas village, 90 minutes from Marrakech and a tribal desert outpost as part of a road trip. Gourmet picnics along the Tizn Test, dinner parties and celebrations. Everything we do is far off the tourist trail and glorious beyond words. All holidays are planned to feel personal and absolutely extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your House of Fusion Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing