We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gorgeous”
Review of Albakech House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albakech House
Ranked #141 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We came here for two nights after a few days in the main town of Marrakech and the Atlas mountains. It provided a lovely tranquil retreat. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the house beautifully decorated and the pool area fabulous!
Staff couldn't have been more helpful and although we didn't use the free driver facility as we'd already been in and around the city, it was nice to know it was there. It was really helpful to be able to pay for a late checkout on our last day as the flight wasn't until evening time.
Breakfasts were wonderful - french pastries, hot chocolate, fruit, yoghuts, eggs - different on both mornings we were there - our kids thought they'd died and gone to heaven!
The only thing I'd say was that it's more of an adult type environment - our children are 8 and 10 and like to play and splash around in the pool and I was conscious of the noise and splashing that they were making. Having said that, we more or less had it to ourselves some of the time so it wasn't really a problem.
There is a large shopping complex just opposite it which we went to for lunches as the eateries there were relatively cheap and child friendly. There are other nice restaurants nearby for evening meals too. There's also a large Carrefour supermarket under the shopping mall so you can stock up there with pastries / fruit / alcohol (which staff are fine with you having to drink by the pool or in rooms, and will even supply you with bottle opener!) etc for lunches anyway.
Hotel also has various excursions on offer which looked great, though they weren't cheap.
We loved it! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Albakech House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 262 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend booked us a weeks holiday and this was to be our hotel. As soon as we got to the airport and had checked in we had a driver sent by the hotel to collect us and he gave us info about the country on the short drive. The lady at reception was helpful and couldn't possibly do more to help us. We decided to have half hour by the pool and the owner Adam made himself known to us and to make sure we had everything we needed. We had trips booked through the hotel and again, I can't fault them. Adam booked us taxis (at the rate it should be) to get into town t night and even made sure we got picked up by a private hire taxi. Again the lady at reception booked us a table at a moroccon restaurant just down the road and that was awesome. Basically, I can't think of a single fault with this hotel. Considering it was newly opened when we stayed it felt like they had been running it for a long time. It really made the holiday so much better. Thanks guys. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeni-greenslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel over a more upmarket place, on the strength of the recommendations on the web. The owner's son Adam who runs the place is friendly, courteous and helpful. Being part English, he, and by extension, this lovely hotel would appeal to the English speaking tourist.
The interior of the hotel is quite tastefully done in Moroccan style, special features of this Moroccan style villa are the colored glass inlays in the walls on top and the large stone fountain on the ground floor of the main building. I had fun taking pictures of the sunlight streaming through the colored glass inside the main building. The l shaped building has a lovely courtyard with a swimming pool. Sadly, the water of the pool tends to be cold, at least that was the case in February this year.
In regard to the rooms themselves, the beds were comfortable, and the quality of the shower adequate.
Most staff were friendly and helpful and the service was excellent. The breakfast was sumptuous.
I did find the trips organised through Albakech house to be on the more expensive side but perhaps it is better to be safe with a recommended operator than be sorry with unknown ones specially if one is travelling with a child as I was.
On the subject of children, the room rate finally turned out to be much higher than expected, in view of the high child surcharge which I hadn't bargained for. I am not sure if other Marrakesh hotels also levy a similar surcharge for a six year old. In hindsight, staying at a more upmarket hotel wouldn't have been much more expensive.

This hotel is located a ten minutes drive away from the noisy old town in a newly developed tourist area. The hotel drop you off to the Medina or the old town for free.
The shopping mall next door to Albakech house has quite a few eateries including a "Dominos Pizza".
Behind the shopping mall the sandy landscape streches for miles around. Stepping outside the back entrance of the mall one sees the stone wall surrounding the enclave shimmering in the distance. An attractive desert style garden with palms and cactuses is being developed there, whose centerpiece is a long stone walkway, which streches far into the distance East to west. To the west lie the Atlas mountains.Behind the wall to the right is a public garden with olive groves which is only open on a Friday I was told. From the roof of Albakech house On the penultimate day of my stay there, I did manage to photograph a magical sunset as the sun set behind the Atlas mountains.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishwa raj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Albakech House is very well presented, the rooms are comfortable and adequate, the communal areas are traditionally moroccan and welcoming. The best part of our stay was sunbathing by the pool and the breakfasts. The pool and gardens really makes the place and provides a peaceful relaxing place to read and sunbathe. The breakfasts were great with fruit, pastries, bread, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt etc all included in the price. We ate breakfast sitting outside on tables in the garden by the pool every morning which was wonderful. There is a helpful driver that takes you into town when you'd like during the day and he also drove us to the airport when we left.

The drawbacks were mainly due to lack of information on things to do in the area. Since they only provided breakfast (unless you wanted to book food well in advance) there was no information provided on where to go nearby to eat dinner or lunch. Obviously you can go and explore which is what we did but it would still have been useful for some local recommendations. There is a shopping centre nearby with a supermarket in it which is useful although no fridge in your room to keep any food/drinks.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay as it was very relaxing which was what we were looking for but if you want more in the way of information and/or entertainment this may not be the place for you. The fact that it was located a short distance outside central marrakech wasn't really a problem as this is made clear on the website when you book. It was also definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this wonderful hotel 4 nights. We usually spend 1 or 2 nights every 2 or 3 months in Marrakech and this was our most comfortable stay in the city ever. Room was beautiful with pool view , everything worked well, hot water, aircondition, TV .
All team members were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious.
Very nice surprice was the free transfer which we could use.
We picked the hotel because of its location , its just right around the corner of the Pacha Marrakech night club , where we spent saturday night.
I had to catch evening flight back to London, but Mr. Adam, the manager, let us keep the room even little longer then the official check out time, and after we could stay by the pool till late afternoon when our taxi arrived. It was absolutly perfect and very comfortable. I will recommend Albakech hotel to everybody who will want to enjoy relaxing holidays in Marrakech , avoiding busy Medina.
When we will be in Marrakech for more than 1 or 2 nights, we will stay in Albakech house for 100% again . Thank you all for your hospitality and great holidays. Best regards Zuzana

Room Tip: our was no. 7 and was very nice
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzip3as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a great stay at Alba Kech. The hotel is a boutique style - something like 15 rooms - and the service is both personal and excellent. The main area is similar to a Riad, high ceilings with a marble fountain and a great atmosphere. The rooms are quite large and high ceiling, either in the 'house' or looking over the swimming pool - which is a good size, lots of sun. It is outside of Medina, so dont expect to walk out the door to the Souk, and there are vacant lots around it - but it feels like a real oasis and the hotel provides a very quick and convenient car transfer both ways (always there when we wanted it) which is just 5 mins drive from the centre. We really wanted a pool/sunbeds for our teenage kids, and Alba Kech had the feel of a Riad and the pool, plus a great manager and staff. They organised tours at a good price and short notice. Well recommended...!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We were so lucky to Stay in this charming hotel! After the hectic an noisy Marrakech this is the perfect place to stay. We are a young couple and for us the place was very romantic! How nice were people who are working there, you can not even describe it! The rooms were authentic and new, very clean and incredibly beautiful! But the greatest thing in this hotel is the owner Adam! He is such a friendly, helpful and just an amazing man! Thank you so much! We are definitely coming back in September .

Marinka and Faisal

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinkaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#199 of 502 in Marrakech
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
393 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#76 of 502 in Marrakech
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#217 of 502 in Marrakech
166 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#87 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#69 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Address: Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $76 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albakech House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing