We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albakech House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albakech House
Ranked #143 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
bcn
2 reviews
“Nice boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a nice cozy boutique hotel. The staff was very friendly and Adam the owner was very kind and helpful. Great swiming pool. The hotel is 5 mins away from the Medina with a shopping mall right in front. I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlomoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    51
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
112
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the AlbaKech House, Marrakech. We were warmly welcomed on arrival with a glass of mint tea and shown to our lovely suite overlooking the Atlas Mountains. Nothing was too much trouble for Adam and his friendly smiling staff including his really helpful driver who drove us into town to the Medina. We had breakfast in the garden each morning with a varied selection of fruit, waffles, pancakes and yoghurts; we also had delicious Moroccan dinners on two nights in the hotel. Adam organised a trip to the mountains for us which we thoroughly enjoyed and had an interesting day. After spending time visiting the sights and sounds of the Medina it was great getting back to the Alba Kech for the peace and tranquillity and to relax in the beautiful garden. I t was also very convenient to walk down the road to shop in Carrefour for a bottle of wine or a beer to drink on our veranda. We would definitely recommend Alba Kech House and would love to go back.
Sheila L.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel with amazingly helpful and cheerful staff. On arrival, we discovered that we wouldn't be able to change money locally (it was a Saturday) so Adam just pulled out his wallet and lent us some. How refreshing!

Our room was lovely - sunny balcony, four-poster bed & sumptuous linens. Separate bathroom & loo.

I had a hamman and massage in the hotel - very good and relaxing. I didn't dare try a local one so the 'safe' option suited me fine.

Breakfast was lovely, served in the sunny garden.

The location was fine for us - a couple of miles outside the medina, which was quite a relief. We used the hotel's car service during the day (or walked) & made sure we fixed a price with the taxi drivers before we got in a cab to come back at night (Adam advised on this, too).

We stayed by the pool during much of the day & ventured out at night. Sunbeds were comfy and fluffy towels were provided. The water was pretty chilly (it was February) but some hardy sorts ventured in. We went across to the Carrefour supermarket & bought fresh bread & salad for lunch, which we had on our balcony.

We enjoyed the El Faissa restaurant (very near the hotel) for dinner one night - lovely atmosphere, good food & nobody seemed to be smoking in the restaurant (we found this quite a shock in some places).

We would definitely go back to the Albakech and would strongly recommend it for a peaceful haven outside the craziness of the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony overlooking the pool. We had room 17 - views of Atlas Mountains & pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed total of three nights. Luxurious rooms, friendly staff and out of the bustle of the medina. While it may be a couple of km out of town there are two restaurants within a couple of minutes walk (Al Fassisa was very good).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Three things are wrong with the Albakech House: location, location, and location. Not that it's in a dangerous or ugly neighborhood: tucked behind a multiplex cinema and a huge, upscale shopping center, it could be in virtually any suburbia in the Western world. But it's a long way from downtown. True, there is an excellent shuttle service until 6:00 PM, but if you want to have dinner in the Medina (and you better had, because the Albakech House has no restaurant and there's only one or two in the neighborhood), you're reduced to haggling with taxi drivers who will insist they have to charge you two or three times the going rate because they'll have to drive all the way out to Agdal and then come back empty (poor babies!). So much for the negatives: otherwise it's a quiet, pretty, decent hotel made pleasant by a terrific staff, who are very anxious to help, although some have limited French and/or English. Although it's modern, it's been done up in the riad style: ochre colors, heavy doors and windows to protect against the heat, etc. It has some nice amenities - heating for cold winter mornings, multichannel TV, large showers with lots of hot water, pool - and lacks others one might expect in a boutique-style hotel (in-room coffee facilities, bathrobe & slippers, etc.). Warning: your taxi from the airport will *not* be able to find this hotel, even if you show him a map: ask to be taken to the Megarama cinema, the Al-mazar mall, or better yet the Red Sun restaurant, which are all next door, and do *not* pay the 300-350 dirhams they will ask you: 75 d. is a fair price.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Was only able to stay here for one night but wish we'd been able to stay longer.
Outside of the heart of Marrakech so a good place to stay if you want somewhere a little queiter than the medina. The area is still being developed sonar times has the feel of an industrial park but the facilities are good - there's a cinema comes within 100 yards as all as a huge gleaming new mall. Lively restaurants close by too.
The room we had was lovely, comfy bed and sat tv. The bathroom was a bit more basic than the room but adequate. The lobby is beautiful with fountain and comfortable furniture. The staff were lovely and keen to help with anything.
A lovely swimming pool which we didn't have time to use. No bar .
Would definitely recommend if you want a nice base for souk adventures!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Albakech House during the last leg of our two and half week trip touring Morocco. We found this hotel based on it's wonderful ratings, and during our stay the hotel met and exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a break from the hustle and bustle of Medina life.

Room Tip: If you would like a stand up shower, the junior suite isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#136 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#80 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Soltan Riad & Spa
Palais Soltan Riad & Spa
#439 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#100 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#84 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#395 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Property: Albakech House
Address: Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albakech House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing