We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
Ranked #212 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I spent a long weekend here and I was a little concerned after reading the negative reviews, however don't let this put you off. I was in room 20 which was wonderful and I loved the decor. The room was spotless and the cleaners did a great job everyday; they even folded our clothes that we left slumped on the sofa.

Staff are wonderful and very helpful.

There are three pools but they are very shallow, the one in the spa is heated so that's particularly nice if you are travelling there during the cooler months. The one of the roof has a great view of the Atlas mountains.

Our shower on the last day did not have hot water, after we brought this up with management it was fixed within an hour.

I agree with many other reviewers that the breakfast is not great, not enough fruit etc and food that looks like its been out all week, but there is a chef making eggs on request which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: I would go for a room on the second floor as I imagine the room around the courtyard might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banana1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    97
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
57
254
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I resided at this hotel during our recent trip to Marrakech. Upon arrival, we requested to upgrade however the hotel quoted us an extortionate amount which didn't correspond with the rates stipulated on the actual hotel premises...very bizarre!!! Our room was located on the ground floor (opposite the plunge pool). The rooms are contemporary & relatively new but don't be deceived by the pictures depicted on the official website as they are significantly smaller. Secondly, the constant foot fall in & around the ground floor which starts VERY early in the morning has a significant impact on those craving any form of relaxation!!! It drove us to the brink of despair throughout our stay...like my partner rightly pointed out, maybe they should swap heels for slippers?! The other major disappointment was the quality of breakfast served every morning. It was evident that certain items had been served from the morning before & the options are limited to say the least. Although the staff are accommodating, the breakfast is definitely not at 5* standard! We accessed the spa facilities & were quoted different prices by different staff members... Again very bizarre! The hotel is in a decent location & conveniently situated near a basic shopping mall..(for those evenings when you fancy having a quick pizza in bed!) but as mentioned previously, the hotel is lacking that 5* quality. A senior staff member presented as abrupt & quite rude in our dealings with her..maybe it's just a "lost in translation" moment but judging by the previous reviews, it's a common occurrence. But that's not to take away from the other staff who were polite & responsive during our stay. Unfortunately we would not return to this hotel in the future as it's not a 5* hotel we paid for. By lowering their rating to a 3-4* would allow people to have more realistic expectations where luxury & standards are concerned.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_Trotters9612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Directeur général at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for your stay at Cesar Resort & Spa and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that you had unpleasant experience.

We wish to inform you that from the 15th December 2014 a British management team has taken over. We are reviewing all the customers comments and we are working on the necessary changes to meet your expectations and provide the high quality service we are known for.

We hope to see you again soon in Cesar Resort & Spa.

Best Regards

HESHAM KHALIFFA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved the place ! So beautiful and calm with a great view over the Atlas Mountains and only 10 minutes drive to the old town. The staff are so welcoming and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and there are a couple of places to rest and relax either by the pool in the courtyard or on the rooftop. The Spa is great for hammam, massages and other beauty treatments. The food is good, especially the buffet breakfast and the mint tea is gorgeous ! My partner and I loved it all. The only suggestion is that it would be nice to have a choice of the 2 restaurants if half board as otherwise, it can get quite limited and repetitive to choose from the same old menu every day. Otherwise, very good indeed to relax and recharge !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belledej0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We had just checked out of one sublime hotel and were mildly anxious, hoping that the second half of our holiday will be as good as the first. It was far better than we had anticipated. Great service with a genuinely friendly smile and excellent accommodation. Don't listen to the squirming rants of other reviewers. This is by far one of the best new hotels in Marrakech.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mammooshka H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a week. I have to say the building,corridors and our room was spotlessly clean.I think the thing missing from this hotel is atmosphere. There was none! the staff where polite and friendly and helped when ever you asked for it.
The breakfast was disappointing we didnt go hungrey. They didnt top things up you always had to ask for thinks .The fruit bowl was never topped up and if you didnt get in at 0800 you wouldnt get a flavoured yoghurt. We took our own bananas in every morning because despite them being for sale everywhere in the city they where never provided. I noticed that the staff were eating more than the guests they would come into the room and get a plate and help themselves and then go into the kitchen with the plate. The worst case was on Tuesday morning of our stay and a male staff member came in got a plate added this chicken in a cream sauce on his plate then lifted the lid of the sausages and used his hand to put them on his plate. Needless to say we didnt eat hot food from then on. We only ate one evening meal in the hotel on the first night. Whilst being very tasty the potions where small and it was expensive compaired to places in the City.
There was only cornflakes which where so pale they looked ill! It was better when the female waitresses where on duty they at least looked busy, as the men just stood near the kitchen door and watched you like animals feeding time at the zoo!
The room was large and very clean (Junior suite) we had room 19 which had a store nearby so the noise was an issue in the morning. The corridors where very cold dark and noisey. The patio door lock was broken on our arrival a maintainance guy attended straight away and made a repair which then broke again after I had locked it. I gave up asking and found the opposite door lock was also broken.
Would I go back to this hotel ? No I wouldnt and I wouldnt recommend it. As mentioned by other reviews there is a managment issue here no ones knows what they are doing except the cleaners who do a very good job. Mr manager perhaps you should buy your cleaning staff a vaccum cleaner to prevent those poor ladies having to brush all that carpet on their knee's by hand!
I wouls agree with other reviews this is not a five star hotel 3.5 maybe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Directeur général at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for your stay at Cesar Resort & Spa and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that you had unpleasant experience.

We wish to inform you that from the 15th December 2014 a British management team has taken over. We are reviewing all the customers comments and we are working on the necessary changes to meet your expectations and provide the high quality service we are known for.

We hope to see you again soon in Cesar Resort & Spa.

Best Regards

HESHAM KHALIFFA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a night flight at the end of September. We were greeted by the warmth of a lovely Moroccan evening. Having bartered with the taxi driver we eventually paid 200 dirhams to the hotel.
After a short taxi ride we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by very friendly staff. Check in was swift and we were shown to our room in the far left hand corner by the pool. Once there, a wonderful complimentary cocktail arrived for us.
The room was very spacious and stylish. The bed is huge and extremely comfortable. Marble floors and air conditioning was a delight to be greeted with after a hot day by the pool. Free water and nespresso as well as the little free amenities in the bathroom!
The design of the hotel is in our opinion beautiful, huge comfortable sun loungers spread around a pool & an upstairs sky bar that is great to catch the late afternoon sun. Food is nice but a little expensive, the cocktails are amazing and must be tried. Ashamed to say that we only ventured out to the supermarket & on one occasion to the medina, so can't advise on things to do around Marrakech. The hotel was that nice we didn't want to leave!
Would like to thank the staff of this great hotel for doing everything possible to make our stay as wonderful as it was.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

had a wonderful time, service was great and staff were wonderful, room was superb (we went for a suite, worth the extra cost). The hotel set dinner on Fri/Sat was great

Only down sides was the lunch food was a tad overpriced, I had a facial which wasnt the best (although I did complain and they compensated us right away) - we also had a joint massage and Hamman which were both superb,

Lastly, if you do a trek to the Atlas mountains (we recommend), make sure you wear decent shoes (we were not prepared for the hike to the waterfall at the end of the trip)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#289 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#259 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mansour Eddahbi & Palais des Congres Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albakech House
Albakech House
#137 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Property: Cesar Resort & Spa
Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing