We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
Ranked #230 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Great Dunmow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel makes a great base with the hustle and bustle of the souks and main square only a taxi ride away , the Atlas Mountains only an hour away. A great day trip organised by the hotel to the Atlas Mountains, visting a womens co-operative making Argon oil , a guided walk up to a waterfall and lunch in the river !!!
The hotel is modern,comfortable and very clean , the food was excellent, the breakfast was good with lots of choice, and great omlettes. we also had the Sunday Brunch which was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms were good and the beds were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte29759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    97
    46
    16
    16
See reviews for
57
257
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I came back after 1 year to this hotel, and it's still over the expectations! the staff are really professional, the rooms are very clean, the food is great, and the Spa even more relaxing...
I can not understand how people can talk about an unclean hotel, saying that it looks tired !
Please just remain at the same level and don't bother your self with some clients who i am sure are depressive before entering your hotel !
I loved it, i love it, and will love it !

Room Tip: If possible go for the junior suites, they are really great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It's definitely not a 5 Star Hotel,
Me as a very experienced traveller would say it's a solid 4 Star. 3+ to European Standards.
After we stayed there, we had the feeling that the tripadvisor ratings might me a little bit brushed up by it's owners.

HUGE PROBLEM: 90% of the staff speaks or very, very poor English.

We felt a little isolated in this hotel because of it's architecture and location.
By taxi your quickly in the Medina, but the taxi drivers try to rip you off all the time that's we we changed after one night the hotel and stayed the rest Sofitel Marrakech Imperial. - Much better package!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank but_Nutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Directeur général at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear sir,

We are very honored that we have been at least able to host a very experienced traveller, and are really concerned about your comments, and will do our best to improve. I just want you to be sure that this Tripadvisor website is really serious otherwise we would be able to interfere in order to avoid bad comments on it...

Regards

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

April 2013 - Absolutely not a 5 star Hotel, and now looking tired and very unclean. I feel this hotel is perhaps more suited to a younger traveler, perhaps less used to the finer more refined things available. Soft Rock music piped throughout the hotel and cheap framed wall posters of “The Godfather” and “Scarface” should tell you everything about its quality of décor and target clientele. We were seduced by good reviews and the spectacular photos on the Hotels website, but I can assure you those photos highly flatter the hotel. Carpets were filthy dirty, huge wall mirrors with large multiple cracks and that’s just the entrance, I could go on. Originally we booked for three nights but decided not to stay for even one once we looked around. We couldn’t get a full refund and ended up paying higher rate for an alternative but genuine 5 star hotel, but it was absolutely worth it as we found a true gem of a hotel that saved the holiday. If you are 35+ and looking for some sophistication and comfort… look elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Directeur général at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sir, after investigating, I found out that you just spent 1 and half hour in the hotel, you didn't even enter your room because of your early arrival when we offered you a free breakfast.
I am very sad that you didn't give us the opportunity to convience you about our services, and hope that we will be able to really host you one day.

Regards

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

WOW! This hotel was even more than I expected after reading so many positive reviews.
The room we had was just beautiful, decorated so nicely with a big bathroom, comfy bed and a view over the pool (amazing).
When we arrived we were given a welcome drink near the pool and the staff were lovely & friendly. Obviously most staff spoke french with little English, but we had no problems getting what we wanted & they tried very hard to understand & help.
The pool & sun loungers were just awesome! They are big loungers with bean bags & so comfy. The only downside is that I noticed it's European tradition to come out early and put a towel or sarong on the loungers to "reserve them" for the day even if your not using them. We really don't do this in Australia/UK so was kind of weird, but i just used peoples loungers when they weren't there, i think that's fair :)
The rooftop bar (Skybar) was great as well. Very modern & funky. We ate there a couple of times, as we arrived late the first night & had lunch one day as well. The food was ok.. i would definitely recommend heading out into the Medina for dinner for better food, but it's fine for a meal or so (i'd avoid the hamburger).
I was really worried when booking thinking it would be a hassle to not be in the Medina but actually it was the complete opposite. The Medina is INSANE.. super fun to explore & have dinner and head to the souks etc, but it very nice to escape just to sleep. And the hotel was only 5-10 mins in a cab which cost us 50 Dirhams (£4).
One of the best hotels I have ever stayed and absolutely would recommend and stay again. Thanks!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkiemmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We look back on our stay at Cesar Resort & Spa fondly. The staff were, undeniably, friendly and polite. Our room was lovely - clean, spacious and was replete with almost everything we required. Having a pool to retire to during the hot afternoons was something of a luxury - and we actually found the position hotel itself desirable; knowing we had both the busier and more dynamic city to explore, and the quieter, tranquil location of the hotel to relax in, was brilliant. However, there were some hiccups and peculiarities during a stay – they mostly make us laugh now, but at the time we did take them a little more seriously. The first was the lack of communication with staff. It wasn’t the language barrier as most people seem to have referred to, but more lack of clarity between staff members. Some staff would give us completely different information that was inconsistent to other staff members (from smaller, more trivial things like how much the taxi from the city would cost, to bigger, more important things, like our transport for our flight back home!) In fact, we had booked AND PAID for our airport transfers on the first day, but this seemed to have gone unrecorded by a staff member, leading to confusion half an hour before we were due to have our transfer. There were a few other smaller issues, and I think we would have benefited from some more information from the staff about recommendations in the city itself. Our air conditioning in the room was rubbish!
One thing that does make us laugh is our breakfast every morning. We were asked every day what we would like, and before we were able to answer, the waiter would suggest, ‘EGGS?’ The breakfast is very limited, but delicious all the same.
Overall, we had a great stay here, and would recommend it for holidaymakers seeking relaxing afternoons and evenings in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived at the Ceser after a short transfer late evening we were greeted with smiles and were given a fruity Mocktail and asked to take a seat after our passports were checked we were shown to our Junior Suite no 28 on the first floor and shown around and given an explanation on how things worked .
The Suite was spacious with sitting area massive bed ,bathroom with separate shower and his & his sinks rose petals were placed around the room we also had fruit , nuts and a bottle of bubbly we swiftly opened this a walked out onto the large terrace and from tis point we knew we were going to love it .

In the morning we breakfasted on the Sunny terrace the staff were friendly and the Breakfast fair with an egg station and delicious fresh orange juice .

We relaxed on our first day and tried out the inner courtyard pool but beware you will have to keep moving to chase the sun as it becomes shaded I would recommend the sky bar pool as there is no shade a DJ and excellent chill out sounds bean bag sum loungers and great staff, we ate up here on many occasions and the food was excellent tuna & Ceser salads recommend also the French fries are to die for so is the fresh mayo . Be aware that on Sunday they have a Brunch at 28 dh each its not good value (there is nothing wrong with the food) it's just a selection of the menu !!!!!
If you like wine go for the Morrocan it's good.
The hotel is on the Ouskirts to get to the main Square pay no more than 50 mdh and agree it first you can walk passed Carrefor it takes about 15 min but a taxi is easier as you will need all your energy when you get into town!!!!
When you arrive at the Medina embrace its a melting pot of smells sounds etc with motorbikes , horse and carriages , chickens and running around its also extremely safe so don't be put off there are beggars but you find this in an major City , after experiencing the Souks you can either eat locally or hop across town in a cab to the new town where there are plenty of excellent place to eat we recommed le Comptior ,jad mahal great entertainment with Belly Dancers.
Make sure you do the open top bus, Kasbar,and the YSL gardens.
I could go on and on Marrekech is an amazing place and the Ceser a perfect place from where to explore don't listen to other reviewers that complain about the Staff they are lovely and very helpful . Would I return yes in a flash ...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike_tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Responsable réception at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Cesar Resort & Spa.
I am glad that you had a wonderful time with us and that you were pleased with the services provided by our staff. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with all of them.

I hope to personally welcome you back in the near future.

Khadija
Responsable Hebergement
Cesar Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#278 of 500 in Marrakech
55 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
4.1 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#167 of 500 in Marrakech
446 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#203 of 500 in Marrakech
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Property: Cesar Resort & Spa
Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing