We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cesar Restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
Ranked #207 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cesar Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited this hotel from a nearby hotel to dine, 6 of us, and arrived at 7.30pm. We ordered promptly, and we were the only people in the restaurant. Our meal arrived after an hour. We had ordered 2 rare steaks, 2 salmon pasta, a caesar salad and a chicken dish. The steaks were charred beyond recognition and tough - replacements took another 40 minutes and just as we deciding to abandon hope of eating, these second steaks arrived and were acceptable. Food is poor and very expensive, service thin on the ground, wine was nice though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    97
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
57
254
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We encountered this hotel via groupon.co.uk
I would say its the best deal we had!
The hotel is new hotel, very spacious room, everything new, clean and very shiny
The staff was great! The beautiful hotel had indoor swimming pool and they gave us private time to use it!!
Breakfast was great and special thanks to Nadia and zakariya who were very helpful
If you come to Marrakech, choose this hotel and you won't regret it
Although the place is a bit distance from
Jamma el Finna but there is taxi for 30 dirham and it will take you to central city

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UmmNusaybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Visited the Cesar Resort & Spa with my wife and 18 year old daughter in December 2012. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were all very polite, friendily and helpful. Breakfast is included and although some reports give this a negative rating, besides being a little strange in offerings the food is very good and plentiful. We ate out most nights but the food in the hotel was also very good. Alcoholic drinks are similar prices to most other places in Marrakech.

We used the Spa and it is also very cool and relaxing. The Hamman was great value and certainly gives you a good scrub!!

The location is a little out of town (which is a good thing to escape the madness!) but it is walkable or if not you can get a taxi for 40-50 dhm. Look out for Yousseff in his taxi as he hangs around the hotel and gives excellent service. The local shoping centre and supermatrket are only 5 minutes walk away.

I would return and also recommend this hotel to others. We took a short break just before xmas and the daily temps were all +20degC and easily warm enough to sunbath.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Well this hotel can be best described as a 'wannabee' boutique hotel.  We have stayed in many boutique type hotels around the World, and this is the first to disappoint.  Somebody has clearly spent a lot of money on their project, and first impressions, in the dark of the evening, are good……..

However I would neither return to the Cesar nor recommend it to anybody.

The hotel is about a year old, we think, on the south side of town (currently being developed) and is a taxi ride (5kms) to the centre of Marrakesh - the taxi bills certainly add to the cost of your stay.  There is a Carrefour supermarket just down the road which proved to be very convenient.

My husband suggested to the hotel that they consider putting on a shuttle bus to town, but the understanding of the staff in the hotel is VERY weak, no requests were met, and no questions adequately answered.  The manager asked us on our last day, in broken English, if we had just arrived!!  We must have seen him and greeted him on at least 4 previous occasions whilst he was just walking around……….

We went to Marrakech for my birthday, and asked reception to make a restaurant reservation for that Wednesday evening - nothing was done, and we eventually got there on the Friday night - after the event!!!

The hotel was very sterile, never anybody at the bar, nobody playing the piano and very few guests, and no atmosphere in the restaurant.  The upstairs bar and pool were all set to go, except there wasn't a member of staff in sight.

I have never seen so many staff, and their friends, milling around in a hotel!!!  Thousands of them, most of them doing NOTHING……..

Breakfast was the same every day - cheese omelette (not good if you don't eat eggs), yoghurt and croissants (both delicious) - no choices, except for tea or coffee and it took three days to get my tea made without sugar.  I also didn't appreciate the two birds (feathered) flying around the indoor dining room at breakfast, and picking at leftovers on the tables.

There is a doorman who opens and closes the front door, but never occurs to him to call us a taxi….  There are also hundreds of cleaners………. (clearly not in the spa though!!)
We did play golf on one day but that took many visits to the front desk to organise.
 
Over and above these previous comments NEVER allocate room 16 to your guests.  It sure was a 'Secret Escape', stuffed in a dark corner backing on to the bar, where we had to keep the curtains closed on the pool side most of the time, because it was next to the pool restaurant and smoking area, and the wait staff stood in front of our window at lunch time waiting to serve the outdoor restaurant guests.

Unlike a comment on Trip Advisor I see that the beds were turned down every evening - certainly not ours!!  But they did leave us bath salts, for a room which didn't have a bath.  We requested, via Mirian the receptionist, to move rooms but to no avail - the place didn't look busy with guests until the Saturday we left, just staff!!

On our last day we had a body scrub and massage - both excellent - in the enormous, soulless spa.  We had booked the appointments for 10:00am but think they had forgotten and were running around looking for gowns.  I went to the ladies room and it was disgusting, 2 filthy poo marked toilets, litter on the floor, no hand towels, no spa-type aromas, and during the whole process we never set sight on a single fluffy white towel……….

Clearly not a relaxing break with staff, and their friends, jabbering outside our room amongst the smoking guests most of the time. A huge financial investment has obviously been made in the hotel, but even more needs to be spent on the staff if they are to accommodate Western guests.

I would be too embarrassed to recommend this Secret Escape in Marrakech to anybody, given the unpleasant experiences we encountered.  Marrakech itself however has great atmosphere and is a wonderful place to spend a few days respite from the Great British weather.

Room Tip: Check out your room, before you unpack and ask to look at a couple of others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Directeur général at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for your stay at Cesar Resort & Spa and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that you had unpleasant experience.

We wish to inform you that from the 15th December 2014 a British management team has taken over. We are reviewing all the customers comments and we are working on the necessary changes to meet your expectations and provide the high quality service we are known for.

We hope to see you again soon in Cesar Resort & Spa.

Best Regards

HESHAM KHALIFFA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Hotel, is in a quiet area of Marrackech and beleive me after a day in town you will need some quiet, it is a great escape from the madness of the town centre. The staff are very welcoming and service is excellent. The rooms are beautiful, beds comfy and spotless clean. It is exactly as it is described on the website.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool- the groundfloor rooms your bedroom door opens directly to the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights which was too long for Marakesh. Room, facilities, spa etc all excellent. Staff helpful but you must remember the country's second language is French and some have little or no English. Restaurant best decribed as coffee shop/bistro. Had two meals and quite acceptable but best to eat outside. The superb Al Fassia is only 50 metres down road (rated separately).
For some the issue of a 30 Dirham taxi ride to centre of town was an issue, For us , being outside of the city was a welcome relief from the dirt, stench and pollution of the old town.

Room Tip: Our room faced out to the main road but no issues with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Cesar Hotel and spa for five nights. What a fabulous hotel. The rooms were so luxurious and well laid out bathroom with a fabulous shower. The bed was just the most comfortable ever, with lovely bedding.
The hotel itself is undersold by its exterior. In the basement there is a great relaxing spa area. We had a Haman and massage. Both were wonderful and very inexpensive. There is a nice indoor pool down there, plus steam rooms and relaxation areas.
There are two other outside pools, although they were too cold for me to go in. The pools are surrounded by sun beds, which are not the norm, but like giant bean bags to lie on. It’s just so easy to fall asleep on one in the sun.
The food available was always of a good standard. If you are there on a Sunday, go to the brunch, served from 12 – 4. The menu was very extensive, excellent food and good value, but allow plenty of time to eat, relax and take in the ambience.
The staff in the hotel were really helpful and pleasant, especially Yusuf and Atif, who served us at breakfast and in the bar. They were always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. This however could be said of all of the staff, including the Manager, who was very hands on and attentive to guests.
We enjoyed some winter sun and relaxed to an unexpected level. It’s a great place to just chill out.
This is a great hotel and I would suggest, not one to be missed. It has easy access to the Souks and is about 200m from a shopping mall.
Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelseagirl1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#288 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#260 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mansour Eddahbi & Palais des Congres Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Albakech House
Albakech House
#136 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Property: Cesar Resort & Spa
Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing