We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Oasis of peace - in a lively city...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bab 54

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Bab 54
Ranked #228 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oasis of peace - in a lively city...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was nice and peaceful to revert to Riad Bab 54 - our "home" in Marrakech - after a long day in the very lively centre of the city. M'bark and Mohammad really did their best to guide us, book tours, make sure that breakfast was perfect and that we had everything we needed - very good!
If you get back to the riad after sun-down, the alley before you get to the door can be very deserted and dark - but you get used to it. Delicious breakfast with various content over the days boiled eggs, pancakes, yogurt, bread, coffee/tea - and not to forget, the wonderful freshly pressed orange juice!!! For the ladies: the hairdryer in the room is probably the best and most efficient model, I've tried in any hotel. Before you go to Marrakech - it might be useful to brush-up your school-French - that comes in handy many times during your stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Higher floor has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertil-Brinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Getting to the Riad was an adventure for us that we will not forget. After the taxi driver picked us up from the airport, he dropped us off at a point close to the small maze like streets of the city and a sweet gentleman came up and put our luggage in his cart and said to follow him. We had not expected this and were a little confused but followed this man through tight crowded streets of shoppers, around the spice square to a deserted looking street where we found the Riad Bab 54. In the end, this added to the charm of the city.
This Riad was excellent for our needs. Having a large room to accommodate a couple with two older children was perfect. The Riad was nicely renovated, tastefully decorated and very clean. We were given tea and delicious cookies upon arrival.
M'bark the manager was very kind and patient when giving directions to our restaurant and even sent Mohammed (also very nice) to guide us to Djemma el Fna. Mohammed showed us a pay phone in the square and said to call if we were lost ...saying SOS (as we didn't speak each others languages) and he could come back to lead us to the Riad.
Breakfast was very nice with yogurt, local breads and jams.
I would recommend that visitors bring their own map of the area if you have specific places you want to visit. I realize no map will do justice in this city but the ones given at Riad Bab 54 are not detailed and not printed well making them hard to read. Marrakech is very confusing to navigate for the best of travelers. Also, I would recommend that you call to verbally verify your taxi pickup from the airport as ours was not conveyed to the manager and we were forgotten at the airport. This is unnerving especially if you do not speak Arabic or French. Airport information people are not helpful. This is why I can only give 4 stars as my rating.
Overall, our short stay at Riad Bab 54 was excellent and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room with one queen and two semi private twin beds was perfect. Spacious, modern and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKCMS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a really great girly trip last week. The staff really went out of their way to make us welcome. The breakfasts were scrumptious and the beds very comfortable. A terrific place to stay-central and great value for money. You can get a bit lost finding the riad-but that's all part of the fun of Marrakech.

Room Tip: They all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drnklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This riad is great, clean and fantastically renovated in a very nice building. Location is good in
Marrakech medina. The only problem we had is that we could not find it in the beginning but we arrived with a car. Try to arrange a pick up for you when you arriving. We would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed only three nights in the Riad but at the end I felt like it was a second home. Everyone was so friendly and happy, even the others guest. Agathe the owner was the perfect host and made us fell very welcome. She would always be available to give us a lot of advises related to restaurants, what to visit and other information's we may need.. so we felt reassured all the time, feeling part of the "family". The room was really chic, modern with a touch of Moroccan style, very comfortable beds and the bathroom had a really nice style, with an open shower (sometimes ,not very practical, because it became all wet). There was a mp3 player available in the hotel, if you want to hear your on music, in a very cosy sofa corner and there is a lot cosy spaces to read a nice book. There is even books available for the guest, great subjects and a lot about the city, story, culture, architecture, art...It's very peaceful and beautiful place to spend your afternoon relaxing after strolling around Marrakesh during the morning. The breakfast is made when you arrive,but it's worth to wait a bit to have your hot bread and eggs and your super fresh orange juice.I would definitely recommend it!! As I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFMDSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at Riad Bab 54. It is a modern and stylish riad in the heart of the medina, not far from Jemaa el Fna; truly, the professional photos of the place are completely accurate. However, what made our stay so memorable was the service provided by the staff, namely M'Bark. He not only carried our bags through the rain to the riad after meeting us at Jemaa el Fna (which I would highly recommend because it is a little bit hard to find on your own the first time), but he also very graciously and patiently sat down with us to go over a map of Marrakech (and even taught us a little Arabic) while providing us with cookies and mint tea after we arrived. He was also up bright and early to serve us a lovely breakfast on the terrace the next morning.

My one minor quibble is the water temperature in our shower (we stayed in the Badia room) was a little bit temperamental during our stay, fluctuating between hot and cold. And it would have been really fantastic if they had a hair dryer in the bathroom. Nevertheless, I would not hesitate to stay at Riad Bab 54 if my travels bring me to Marrakech again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aller et retour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only for one night but can't wait to return to Marrakech and stay at Riad Bab54 again. The Riad itself is a beautiful blend of modern decor with traditional Morrocan flair. Our room was the Badia room on the ground floor next to the terrace fountain but unfortunately it was cold and rainy the day we arrived so we couldn't enjoy the awesome lounging possibilities that the courtyard offered. Our room particularly the sizable bathroom was very new and clean.

The highlight of Riad Bab54 however is the staff which is basically one guy, M'Bark who seems to run the entire place sucessfully by himself. He picked us up in the main square and brought us to Riad (you will need this guidance since the medina is difficult to navigate the first few times), served us a welcome mint tea and biscuits, taught us some Arabic, picked us up again after we enjoyed our dinner at a restaurant across the medina, and served us breakfast in the morning. This was all done with a smile and genuine hospitality that made the experience in the medina warm and lovely.

Riad Bab54 is definitely a great find!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Hizad
Riad Hizad
#185 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#125 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#1 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Wiam
Riad El Wiam
#175 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Lalla F'dila
Dar Lalla F'dila
#221 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bab 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab 54

Property: Riad Bab 54
Address: 54 Derb N'Khel, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bab 54 - Boutique Hotel - Marrakech Chic boutique hotel in Marrakech's medina with a stylish modern take on traditional Moorish design. One of the coolest new addresses in Marrakech. An oasis !Riad Bab 54 is a peaceful and refined 6 bedroom riad, offering great location, contemporary and traditional decoration, intimate atmosphere and great service. It is a fabulous option for any visitor in Marrakech.Situated just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square and bordering the Souks, this riad's greatest asset is its location, you cannot be more central.... The 6 bedrooms are individually and tastefully furnished and have stylish en-suite bathrooms with designer plumbing fixtures from Italy. Each bedroom also has reversible air-conditioning (so it heats as well if required), iPod docks, books, safes as well as Internet connection. There are plenty of places to relax with a book, play games, catch up on emails or enjoy a drink. The winter lounge has a fireplace, dining and seating area. The roof terrace has a panoramic view over Marrakech and the Mountains, and offers sun beds, a open air shower and comfortable dining and seating areas. It is the perfect place to relax, sunbathe or enjoy a meal. The main courtyard is light and uncluttered with a pool. The cool and colourful summer lounge is also great place to relax. The rates include breakfast, and with half a day's notice, the in-house cook can prepare other meals as well. The manager speaks good English and French and is always there to offer personalised service, advice and suggestions to enable you to get the most out of your stay in Marrakech. Facilities 6 Bedrooms with ensuite-bathroomsReversible Air-conditioningInternet ConnectioniPod docksSafe for personal effectsShampoo & liquid soap (La Compagnie de Provence) Breakfast includedOn-site dining facilitiesRefreshments and CocktailsDining RoomWinter Lounge (with a fireplace) Summer LoungePatio CourtyardPoolRoof Terrace (with sun beds, seating areas, dining tables and a cold shower) Games, Books and Magazines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Bab 54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing