We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and clean but no frills”
Review of Riad Picolina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Picolina
Ranked #539 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Riad Picolina is a brand new place. We booked it for a change as we usually stay in a different one on our trips to Marrakesh. Therefore we can compare Riad Picolina to the other place we know.
The location is good (about 10 min walk to Jamaa el Fna). The streets leading to the place are a bit of a maze though so ensure you contact the Riad before and they will arrange for the familiar taxi driver to pick you up from the airport. For 100 dirhams (50pp) the man will bring you straight to the door.
This Riad is very clean. They changed towels and cleaned our room every day. That was good. Staff in Picolina are very helpful. The young man who was there every day made a real effort and came across really humble.

However keeping in mind our experience from the other place we stayed in, we definitely would change few details. They may be insignificant yet could make a big difference.
Breakfast - every day was the same. It shouldn`t be that difficult to even change the types of jam (one of the reasons we love Morocco is a fig jam which we did not taste this time)
We didn't like the sound of a microwave from the kitchen, msenem pancakes taste 100 times better straight from the frying pan.
The atmosphere - the reason we think riads are much better than 5 star hotels is the smells, candles and music. These emphasize the feel of peace and tranquility you should experience when entering riad. It was a shame these were missing in Picollina. The place was nice but it needs a final touch.
Room - the only criticism we have is the see-through curtain instead of a door to the bathroom.

Despite all that we think Riad Picalona was great value for money. It delivers on all basic levels so if don't expect too much go for it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikolajM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rutangalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 763chris222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ourscava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruno629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamer boven zijn rustiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Normita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Indien je wat langer bent kies de tweede kamer rechts of de tweede kamer links van de trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rhulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Azenzer
Riad Azenzer
#297 of 501 in Marrakech
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Le Marocain
Riad Le Marocain
#489 of 1,167 in Marrakech
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riad La Kahana
Riad La Kahana
#868 of 1,167 in Marrakech
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Jardins de Riad Laarouss
Les Jardins de Riad Laarouss
#373 of 1,167 in Marrakech
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Mounir
Riad Mounir
#545 of 1,167 in Marrakech
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Picolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Picolina

Address: 56 Derb Sidi Lahcen ou Ali, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $40 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Picolina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Picolina is located in the heart of the medina of marrakech, in a quiet and easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Picolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing