We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad to stay at in Marrakesh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Africa
Ranked #69 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Riad to stay at in Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here at the start and end of a hiking trip into the Atlas mountains in Sept 2013. The manager was very attentive and even stood around during meal times in case we needed anything. The rooms were comfortable and had en-suite bathrooms. The pool in the centre of the Riad was a welcome sight after a long day of touring and a great way to escape the day's heat. The rooftop is pleasant and calm - great to have a beer up there. The location was great - quite near to the main square and easy to get to. Some great restaurants in the area. There is a barber nearby but i would say avoid him as we went there for a shave and he charged us double the going rate because we were tourists.
I would certainly recommend the Riad Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    52
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
73
78
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Riad Africa is an beautiful property and in a central location, it was really easy to find your way back to from the square once you know where it was. Tim, Said and all the other staff were lovely and always happy to help. The rooms were really nice and a good size, and the pool was a really huge bonus to be able to come back to after a warm day in marrakech! We did a number of excursions including a cooking lesson with Layla, which was really fun!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annabel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The atmosphere in this riad is just great. Tim the manager, Said (mr. No problem) and Mahammed were all very helpful and kind. Tim always have a good story from his long time experience in Africa.

The staff can help organizing one day trips as well as longer trips.

The riad itself is an oasis in the anarchistic Medina. Located close to major attractions, including the big square in the medina.

There is a lovely roof terrace and a small pool. Try the dinner prepared, it is absolutely worth the money.

The rooms are cool, even when it get hot outside.

The hot water works - sometimes you just have to wait a bit.

The breakfast is good, I would suggest though, that a piece of fruit was served as well.

Only downflip, is that the rooms on the groundfloor can be a bit noisy in the morning. They are next to the reception and the pool.

All in all I will not hesitate to recommend Riad Africa.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first flor might be less noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgen B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great staff, great location, fantastic roof terrace for getting away from the hustle & bustle of Marrakech. Tim & Said were terrific with information on where to go, how to get there, how much things should cost (if you are good at bartering) & where you can go for a glass of wine!
We also stayed at the sister accommodation Kasbah Africa in the High Atlas mountains, which was the perfect getaway after a busy time in Marrakech. Kasbah Africa was luxurious, beautiful, extremely good value & peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Tim, the Manager Said and Mahammed could not have done more for us - 5 minutes from main square, yet very quiet, great room, roof terrace, small pool. Great breakfasts and dinner. Lots to see and do.
Our Tips - change money on arrival or near Riad - 30% better than U.K.

Only critiscism - more observation as we had been warned previously, do not take guided tour of Marrakech. Guide only wanted to take us to his mates in the souks to sell us things - go on your own - Tim provided us with a gret map plenty to do and see.

Tim arranged trip to one of their sister properties in High Atlas Mountains - Dar Tassa - great - see review.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAIRACRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

a wonderful place to stay in Marrakech! Tim the manager was an excellent host and the staff were wonderful.
The location of the Riad could not have been bettered. I would thoroughly recommend the Riad Africa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshbird1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having recently returned from our holiday i thought i would write a review for the first time. This Riad exceeded all expectations, on arrival we were greeted by the manager Tim who was a great guy who immediately put us at ease and his guys provided us with tea and showed us to our rooms. The room was on the ground floor, exactly what we needed, comfortable with its own bathroom.

We did not use the pool but there were a few people splashing around and i can see it being a great cool off in the summer.

In the morning we were treated to breakfast on the roof top, it is a great sun trap for a lazy afternoon and was great start to the day.

I would recommend this place to anyone and the Tim was great, his experience and knowledge of Marrakesh, Morocco and Africa is priceless.

So if you want a great place to stay with a great host then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOBY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#55 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#47 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#56 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.0 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Property: Riad Africa
Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing