We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Merrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Africa
Ranked #61 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful stay in Merrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great location (albeit a bit hard to find at first) to all the sites in Merrakech.
Rooms were fantastic for a room in the heart of the city and the service was exceptional. Tim and his staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

Definitely recommend Riad Africa! And if you do stay, order the meal at least once. The beef, prune tagine was very tasty.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rycar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    52
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
77
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My partner and I decided to visit Marrakech for a long weekend – we wanted somewhere that was a little bit different and warmer than the UK in February. Marrakech definitely fit the bill!

There are hundreds of Riads in Marrakech but we were both very happy with our choice. The staff were excellent, very attentive and suggested great places to eat and drink. The location was also great – a short easy walk from the Jemaa El Fna.

We took the advice from other customers and arranged a transfer from the airport. We were happy we did as on first glance the Riad is hard to find. However, once the manager Tim has personally shown you how to find the Riad from the main square you will never forget it and it is actually very simple to find.

We stayed in the Congo room which was spacious enough for the two of us with our cabin sized suitcases, the shower was always hot and the room was warm at night for a winter time stay.

The breakfast was plenty enough to set you up for a day exploring the Medina. We received croissants, bread, jams/butter, omelette, yogurts, freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of tea and coffee. On our first night we pre-ordered dinner from the Riad kitchen, the food was to a good standard and the portion sizes were very generous. The Riad also has a selection of wine and beer on offer – the Moroccan rose took us by surprise and was actually very drinkable…

The roof terrace was very comfortable and peaceful and a great way to spend a warm afternoon in Marrakech. The Riad has a television downstairs with sports channels, if you so desire, which is next to a lovely log fire that is perfect for a chilly winters day (we were able to watch the 6 Nations and Premiership football).

Overall our stay at the Riad Africa was great and I would recommend it as a good place to stay in Marrakech. The staff worked exceptionally hard to make our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My family and I sepent 3 nights during the Christmas week in this Riad: when we arrived, they showed us the room, not in the part of the riad showed in the website, but in a smaller one. The room was really small with a tiny bathroom. We asked for another one and they moved us in a new room, as small as the first one, but with a bathroom a little bit more large, but it was impossible to close the door, since it was not fixed. The first morning we did not have hot water, and the manager told us that everything would be ok befor the evening. It was not. we did not have hot water for all the days we spent there. Moreover, the second afternoon I wanted to rest, but it was impossible since some men were working out of my room. I think it is not convenient to schedule works during christmas week (high season period). Also, they just made the beds but did not clean the floor of the room that, due to the works, was full of dust. Finally, since they told us to use the shower of another room in order to have hot water, we discovered that they assigned us a normal room, even if we paid for a superior room! we asked about it and they gave us a refund just for the difference, not for the fact that we sent 3 days without hot water. I suggest you to book another riad!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luRm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

A traditionally designed riad, with a friendly relaxing atmosphere. In easy reach of all the must experience activities and sights.
Multi nationalist visitors combined with Tim, the managers, wealth of knowledge made our stay very enjoyable.
I'd recommend riad Africa to anybody.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Traveled in a larger group of 9 adults and 3 small children over the holidays. As has been mentioned, the location is great - an easy walk (and find) to Jemaa el Fna. Tim and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. One word - if you are traveling with small children the pictures do not lie - there is a good size pool in the middle of the courtyard. However, there is a comfortable lounge area off to the side that worked well for those periods when we needed to entertain our toddlers (outside of the room but away from the medina). The rooftop is also lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAAandZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Riad Africa was a perfect location from which to explore Marrakech, it was a short walk to the palaces, the souks and the square.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, though rather small when you have two suitcases laid on the floor. The food for breakfast was excellent and you got plenty every morning.

There was a couple of issues with staff having very loud arguments within the hotel both on a morning and late evening which we found very unprofessional. Along with the fact that it was suggested by staff that the noise was from other residents at the hotel which was not the case.

Whilst the location and the rooms were really good, I wouldn't choose to stay there again because of the staff. Whilst they were friendly and accommodating, I do not wish to spend good money to hear them arguing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzzy534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The average rating is justified for this place. The plus is the good service from Tim and team, proximity to the square. The low points are the size of rooms, everything is slightly old and worn out. The menu options are limited.
Its very friendly and cozy. I would have given it a better rating if I had not stayed at another riad which are way better for the same price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SnehaBeriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#59 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Property: Riad Africa
Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing