We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Africa and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$398
$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$55
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$634
$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$416
$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$320
$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$359
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,066
$1,024
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$456
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
331
89
23
8
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
89
23
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager timroof terracethe main squareatlas mountainssuperior roomfantastic hospitalitymajor attractionshigh atlasthe hustle and bustleminutes walk from the mainbuilding worklovely riadquiet locationjemaa ela lovely staymint teastayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 465 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After three days trekking in the High Atlas, my two colleagues and I were looking forward to a well earned rest in Marakech, (In retrospect Marakech itself and the word "rest" are probably not entirely compatible!). After leaving our mini bus transfer we were led down a couple of winding streets until we arrived at a very ordinary looking door. Upon entering we were met with a haven of tranquility that couldn't have been more different than the mele of traffic on the way in.
Mohammed (the resident "do everything" guy) met us with a helpful and freindly smile and this seemed to be his default setting. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he made every effort to make us feel welcome. Our room was beautifully appointed with a 4 poster which I nabbed and an adjacent twin room. The bathroom was lovely and the place was well equipped (TV, i-pod dock, sockets etc.). The rooms were centred around an airy central atrium with a small plunge pool and adjacent lounge area complete with an abundance of sofas, TV and stereo. Here, you may bump into Todd, an American gentleman whos life appears to be far more colourful than my own average life as a Firefighter in the UK. Todd will happily serve as the West meets Africa interface, a sort of human "rough guide" if you will.
We only breakfasted at Riad Africa but it was delicious and I have no doubt any other meals would be of the same standard. I would recommend this place in a heart beat, well situated, clean, friendly and above all calm. I won't say too much about Marakech itself but to have visited Morrocco without visiting Marakech would be an oppurtunity squandered.
Graham Surridge, Northants

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First of all I would like to thank Nick from Specialist Morocco for arranging our first experience of Marrakech which was amazing. We stayed for 3 nights in Riad Africa and my husband and I can find no negatives at all . Peter, Todd, and the rest of the staff could not do enough for us and really made us feel very welcomed. Nick, you should be very proud of them, and your Riad is in very good hands.

The Riad was in an ideal location close to all the attractions of Marrakech but also away from it all.

We spent the next 4 nights in the Atlas Mountains in Kasbah Tamadot which was a complete contrast to Marrakech.

We both feel that this is holiday is definitely up with the best that we have had.

Gloria and Michael, Wales

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rags_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As a family with 2 teenage kids Riad Africa was perfect for us. In a quiet alley but in the heart of Marrakech Medina, ideally located near to taxi ranks, souks and major attractions this Riad is to be recommended. Staff could not be more helpful and the food was excellent. We felt very welcome with our children and I understand some Riads can be a little hesitate to accomodate families. Do stay in for one of their evening meals, it was one of the best we had all week and we paid for some rubbish in swanky restaurants with no atmosphere elsewhere. Tod was full of recommendations such as the Henna Cafe which is another must and took us on a hike through he Atlas mountains which was a wonderful eye opener. Good sized rooms, clean, well furnished and cosy. We had rooms on the ground floor beautifully located next to the small pool but for more privacy select those on the first floor. The cold water issue mentioned by the last guest should not put you off! The water system is being upgraded and if you turn the sink tap on at the same time as the shower the pressure is high enough to boost the hot water to kick in...then you get a steaming hot shower no problem...just persevere with it, after all, this is a sensibly priced Riad in the Medina , not the Savoy! In the cool winter evenings the log fire in the lounge is lovely. We tended to hog it, the children snuggling up with a book on the cosy sofas quite happily. Don't bother looking elsewhere. Just book. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room Bwindi on the ground floor was the one with the dodgy water and 3 huge windows onto the pool with only semi-opaque curtains. A beautiful room, georgious bathroom, lots of space and firm but comfy bed but probably the least private so if you are a bit of a prude like me opt for one of the others.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour package put together by Specialist Morocco. It was apparent very quickly that there had been some issues and, unfortunately, we did not read the latest reviews on the review web sites before booking. Our comments as follows:

1. If I was a woman on my own I would have been concerned at the location of the Riad, particularly as the lighting was very poor around the alleyways you had to walk down at night.
2. The lighting above the door was not working and the entrance was not very enticing.
3. On the first night, there was no remote control for the heater and therefore the room was very cold and we had to ask for another blanket.
4. There was no hot water on the first evening and the hot water was very intermittent throughout our stay – we understand this is being addressed.
5. The bedside lamp was, I believe, in a dangerous state – the light went off when you touched the power lead – it made me very nervous so I kept it switched off.
6. The shower was very poor (that’s when you actually had hot water)
7. The breakfast area was unsatisfactory, eating breakfast on low occasional tables in the bar area was not ideal
8. There was a television in the room but no power cable connection, which rendered this useless

On the positive side, Todd, who I believe was brought in as a result of the problems that had been occurring over previous weeks, was very helpful and was obviously ‘fire fighting’, trying to resolve issues that he had inherited from the previous staff. He made great efforts to address the issues we raised with him, including the intermittent wi-fi connection, finding the remote for the heating, obtaining another blanket (without which we would have been VERY cold) and working hard to resolve the hot water problems. I think if it had not been for his efforts and the girls who cooked, cleaned and served us, who were very polite and incredibly helpful, our stay here would have been disastrous and we would have checked out without a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krystina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in February and cannot fault the Riad Africa. We stayed in the spotlessly clean Zambezi room and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. We ate dinner in the riad one evening and the food is excellent, and there's plenty of it. Breakfast was also excellent - varied and plentiful.

The roof terrace was a lovely place for a beer in the afternoon after haggling in the souks, and we spent several relaxed evenings in the salon enjoying a glass of wine in front of the open fire.

Redouan and Tod did everything possible to make our stay comfortable, interesting and enjoyable - in fact ALL the staff were fabulous. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are planning a longer trip to Morocco next year encompassing a stay in the Atlas mountains and a trip to the sahara, and of course we will return to Riad Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lph537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews