We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended family holiday of 23 adults & 3 kids booked the whole riad”
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Africa
Ranked #103 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautiful riad. We were given a very warm welcome. We were treated with a lot of care and respect, just like we were the staffs own family. We had the whole riad to ourselve, which was a bonus. The atmosphere of the place made us feel right at home. We got a lovely breakfast every morning as well as Hearbal tea for sickness on a day we were I'll, which made us better with in an hour.I had the Casablanca room with my husband and 3 kids. The decor is tradition but finished to a very high standard. The rooftop was wonderful and warm. We went in November so the weather wasn't really hot. It's literally 2 mins away from the square which was really good if your a shopaholic like me. We were out all day leaving everything behind with no problems. Safe in every room, which was very easy to use. Would recommend to others (",) x

Room Tip: All rooms were very comfortable so any room is good but Casablanca room is very good for families th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 431 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at Riad Africa for my sisters birthday and eleven of us hired the whole Riad for a long weekend. Fantastic value with breakfast every day. The staff could not do too much for us, and were always there and helpful. Organised trips, anything we needed, they even picked us up from the airport and arranged food in the first evening. The rooms were spacious air conditioned and so clean. The Moroccan style bathrooms were amazing.. Some of the girls had some treatments which they really enjoyed. The centre court pool was a welcome at the end of the day, with a lounge to relax in. I highly recommend this to anyone and it is just a short walk to the main square. The staff even walked us there to make sure we were safe. Fantastic short stay and amazing staff and food.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the top room with access to the terrace was my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helenloveshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Riad Africa for one night after a week trekking in the Atlas mountains although it was so enjoyable it felt like a lot longer. The rooms and general decor are of a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Nick has done a fantastic job of renovating the place - care and attention has clearly been paid in all areas. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely and the free wi-fi was a bonus after a week 'offline'. We were made to feel extremely welcome and I will undoubtedly be back the next time I stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is a lot of choice when you are considering Riads in Marrakech but this one really does deliver.

We stayed after a week trekking in the Atlas and the welcome we received was fantastic. The whole group couldn’t quite take in the high standard of the place. Whether it was the; rooms, breakfast on the roof terrace, the friendly and attentive staff, location or just the overall ‘feel’ – everything just seemed to click into place.

It is close to the square yet far enough away to feel like a retreat from the hustle and bustle. The walk into the main square is as straight-forward as you are going to get in Marrakech and is along an interesting street with restaurants, stalls, etc.

I’m already planning to return with my partner. Thanks to Nick and the team.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a group after being in the atlas mountains for a week. On arrival we were blown away with the peace and tranquility of it all in the middle of marrakech. You would not realise what was just a short walk away. Rooms awesome. Staff great and had the pulse of the group right on arrival. Breakfast on rooftop garden completed an incredible stay. Nick and his team were brilliant and already planning a return with family

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Riad Africa is the perfect basein Marrakech and was thoroughly enjoyed by our expedition group after they'd spent a week in the Atlas mountains. The building is stunning and immaculate, the staff are welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The Riad is right in the heart of the city and yet you feel like you are in a different world once you leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind and close the door. I really couldn't recommend this riad highly enough and we'll certainly be returning with more of our teams next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My father and I really enoyed our time at the Riad Africa. Marrakech is an interesting city full of unique sights and smells (and tastes!) and it was great to experience them all and then return to a calm, serene spot at the Riad Africa.

The manager, Tod, and the other staff were all very accomodating and helped make the experience a wonderful and memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Das S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#36 of 499 in Marrakech
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#84 of 499 in Marrakech
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#44 of 499 in Marrakech
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#56 of 499 in Marrakech
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 499 in Marrakech
842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#95 of 499 in Marrakech
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $91 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing