We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Extended family holiday of 23 adults & 3 kids booked the whole riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Africa
Ranked #69 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extended family holiday of 23 adults & 3 kids booked the whole riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautiful riad. We were given a very warm welcome. We were treated with a lot of care and respect, just like we were the staffs own family. We had the whole riad to ourselve, which was a bonus. The atmosphere of the place made us feel right at home. We got a lovely breakfast every morning as well as Hearbal tea for sickness on a day we were I'll, which made us better with in an hour.I had the Casablanca room with my husband and 3 kids. The decor is tradition but finished to a very high standard. The rooftop was wonderful and warm. We went in November so the weather wasn't really hot. It's literally 2 mins away from the square which was really good if your a shopaholic like me. We were out all day leaving everything behind with no problems. Safe in every room, which was very easy to use. Would recommend to others (",) x

Room Tip: All rooms were very comfortable so any room is good but Casablanca room is very good for families th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    60
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
86
90
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswold
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at Riad Africa for my sisters birthday and eleven of us hired the whole Riad for a long weekend. Fantastic value with breakfast every day. The staff could not do too much for us, and were always there and helpful. Organised trips, anything we needed, they even picked us up from the airport and arranged food in the first evening. The rooms were spacious air conditioned and so clean. The Moroccan style bathrooms were amazing.. Some of the girls had some treatments which they really enjoyed. The centre court pool was a welcome at the end of the day, with a lounge to relax in. I highly recommend this to anyone and it is just a short walk to the main square. The staff even walked us there to make sure we were safe. Fantastic short stay and amazing staff and food.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the top room with access to the terrace was my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helenloveshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Riad Africa for one night after a week trekking in the Atlas mountains although it was so enjoyable it felt like a lot longer. The rooms and general decor are of a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Nick has done a fantastic job of renovating the place - care and attention has clearly been paid in all areas. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely and the free wi-fi was a bonus after a week 'offline'. We were made to feel extremely welcome and I will undoubtedly be back the next time I stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

There is a lot of choice when you are considering Riads in Marrakech but this one really does deliver.

We stayed after a week trekking in the Atlas and the welcome we received was fantastic. The whole group couldn’t quite take in the high standard of the place. Whether it was the; rooms, breakfast on the roof terrace, the friendly and attentive staff, location or just the overall ‘feel’ – everything just seemed to click into place.

It is close to the square yet far enough away to feel like a retreat from the hustle and bustle. The walk into the main square is as straight-forward as you are going to get in Marrakech and is along an interesting street with restaurants, stalls, etc.

I’m already planning to return with my partner. Thanks to Nick and the team.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a group after being in the atlas mountains for a week. On arrival we were blown away with the peace and tranquility of it all in the middle of marrakech. You would not realise what was just a short walk away. Rooms awesome. Staff great and had the pulse of the group right on arrival. Breakfast on rooftop garden completed an incredible stay. Nick and his team were brilliant and already planning a return with family

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Riad Africa is the perfect basein Marrakech and was thoroughly enjoyed by our expedition group after they'd spent a week in the Atlas mountains. The building is stunning and immaculate, the staff are welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The Riad is right in the heart of the city and yet you feel like you are in a different world once you leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind and close the door. I really couldn't recommend this riad highly enough and we'll certainly be returning with more of our teams next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My father and I really enoyed our time at the Riad Africa. Marrakech is an interesting city full of unique sights and smells (and tastes!) and it was great to experience them all and then return to a calm, serene spot at the Riad Africa.

The manager, Tod, and the other staff were all very accomodating and helped make the experience a wonderful and memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Das S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#65 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#56 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#32 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Property: Riad Africa
Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing