We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Homely and well decorated rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Cherihane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Cherihane
Ranked #398 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely and well decorated rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you are looking for a fancy riad, this is not the place to go. But if you want a home away from home, then this is it. The living spaces are not like a hotel but more of a very nicely done home. There wasn't a nice open courtyard to hang out in unlike another Riad we stayed at. However, this was compensated by the bedroom being the best we stayed in during our trip. Nice comfy bed and beautiful bathroom as well. Nezha was quite friendly and very helpful. Alain was not very friendly but we assume that it is because he does not speak English. In general though, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Karima double room and loved it. Would recommend that to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nair85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013 and loved it. The riad is beautifully decorated in traditional Morrocan style and run by a French couple who are very hospitable. Our room was immaculate and well equipped. Breakfast was delicious and Nezha cooked a wonderful traditional meal for us on our first night. I am pleased we decided to book the 12 euro transfer as I am sure we would not have found it otherwise so please don't try to save money by making your own way there, its really not worth it. Its a decent walk into the main square but it was nice to be tucked away somewhere quit and peaceful. All the tourist attracations are situated nearby. I can highly recommend this property if you want to be where it all happens in this wonderful cultural city!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Iona, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Hidden away in a narrow alleyway Riad Cherihane is a wee gem - run by a very friendly young couple who will have spent time and effort to make this place an experience to stay.
Our room was spacious and very clean, with lovely decor.
We had breakfast (amazing Moroccan flat bread, jams, croissants, fresh orange juice and coffee) in the tastefully decorated lounge. The artwork exhibited throughout the house is very varied and refreshing to study.
We loved the terrasse - full of plants, little pots of herbs, comfortable seating and amazing views over the city and to the Atlas mountains.
The riad is quite well situated - with Djeema el Fna being about 10 - 15 min walk away, and other Marrakech landmarks quite nearby. Definatly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGU2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartt99
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This Riad is run by Alain and Nezha one of the nicest couples we have met on our travels.

This is a beautiful home with lots of little touches to make your stay feel special.

We arranged to be picked up from the airport for EUR 12 which was effortless. This is the best approach as the Riad may be a little hard to find on a first visit.On arrive we were offered mint tea and pastries which were very acceptable.We stayed for 4 nights in two different rooms of which both were very comfortable and clean.

Breakfast was included in our stay which was a selection of pastries, tea ,coffee orange juice, ect which was served in the lounge or on the roof terrace in the warmer months.

We would highly recommend staying here as both Alain and Nezha were excellent hosts. It has has a very relaxed atmosphere and both were on hand when needed.

The Riad itself is about a 20 minute walk through the Souks to the main square with lots to see and buy on the way.

We highly recommend this Riad and would not hesitate to stay again on our next trip

Room Tip: In the colder months choose a room in the middle of the Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This riad is just lovely, with lots of small touches in decoration combining to make an amazing ambience in both the communal rooms and the bedrooms. The owners have a wonderful eye for aesthetics. The bed was large and comfortable, the room very dark at night. I have problems sleeping normally but slept really well all 3 nights I stayed here. The breakfasts were a selection of pastries every day which were nice, but some fruit or hot food would have been a nice touch. The rooftop terrace where they pipe out relaxing music is a wonderful place to watch the sun go down and listen to the calls to prayer at the end of the day, it feels very spiritual.

If you do book with this riad, please get in touch with the owners beforehand as we got totally lost and had a bunch of undesirable local young men take us into what felt like a trap and we had to seek refuge in a local shop where they phoned the riad on our behalf to come and pick us up. I would also say the riad is more like 30 minutes' walk from the Jemaa al Fna square. But overall this is astonishingly good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

You cannot find this riad by yourself. There is no riad sign. Owner has to come to a nearby square to guide you. Lady owner has artistic flair and rooftop terrace is a lovely garden to sit and relax. Breakfast provided was poorest of all breakfasts we had in three weeks travel in Morocco. Scott33

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#170 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#215 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mboja
Riad Mboja
#41 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#49 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Etoile Ocre
Riad Etoile Ocre
#493 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Agathe
Riad Agathe
#324 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cherihane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherihane

Property: Riad Cherihane
Address: 42,derb j'did Bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Cherihane 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cherihane is a cosiness house ,quiet and combining modern and tradition, it offers you a quality accommodation. Its ideal location in one of the best squares in the Medina, offers proximity to the all importants monuments of the city. this Riad has 5 beautiful heated and air-conditioned rooms, quiet and refined with king size beds 180/200 inviting you to relax ...Its magnificent high terrace with a beautiful garden in flower where you can enjoy your breakfast or diner with the 360° view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Cherihane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing