We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Moroccan Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar White

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar White
Ranked #383 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Norfolk VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moroccan Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights of our honeymoon in Marrakech at the Riad Dar White. John Peres, the owner, was very helpful in accommodating us. His staff -- Hicham, Kamal and Meriam were amazing and treated us like royalty. The bedrooms are small, yet very clean and tranquil. The common areas are very comfortable, modern and quiet -- a nice reprieve from the craziness of the medina. We enjoyed the fireplace and the roof top terrace, which provides a great view of the city. The homemade breakfasts were delicious and served when ever we wanted. We walked everywhere -- it's a great location. Thanks for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank launch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Dar White in late December. This was our first time in Marrakech and our first experience staying at a riad, so we didn't know what to expect. Dar White exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxurious, quiet, safe haven in the bustling Medina of Marrakech.

A week or so before arriving we contacted the Riad to request a driver to/from the airport. This was a great thing because it would have been very challenging finding the place on day 1 with our luggage. Upon arrival, Jean and Hisham greeted us. Right off the bat we felt welcome and excited for our stay. Throughout our stay the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Hisham and Kamal gave us wonderful recommendations to restaurants/shopping/hammans. Each day we had a packed itinerary (thanks to their great insights).

The breakfast at the riad was consistently delicious; each day with a slight variation. Plenty of different kinds of breads, yogurt, tasty fig and other exotic jams/spreads. Their mint tea is very tasty too. The Riad is in a great location close to many of the attractions.

We hope to travel back to Marrakech someday, and hope to stay at Riad Dar White the next time!
Jean, Hisham, Kamal - thanks for your hospitality, you helped make our trip truly special :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monlovestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were welcomed to Dar White by the lovely Hicham with open arms and a huge smile, this was just the start of such a warm and wonderful stay with the "family" of Dar White. The staff of Dar White went above and beyond the call of duty to make our visit to Marrakech perfect.

Excellent resturant and bar reccomendations (Le Foundouk, Jack is Back, KosyBar), advice and directions. There is a staff member there 24 hours a day. One of the staff members, Kamil took us, in his personal time, to a reputable argan oil merchant so we wouldn't be ripped off. (on Bab Agnaou). Jean-Pere, the owner, kindly went all the way to a restaurant in the Nouvelle-Ville to leave a deposit on our behalf so we wouldn't miss out on a New Years Eve reservation.

Breakfast was served at any time of the day, we chose to have our on the terrace in the glorious morning sunshine, yummy cake, pancakes, yoghurt, bread, cream cheese, jams, excellent coffee, orange juice, TOO much delicious food!

We spent a morning in the jakuzzi and on the sun lounges on the rooftop, so nice to have such a luxury in winter in Marrakesh, as its not quite hot enough to appreciate an un-heated plunge pool!

The cleanliness is oustanding, one of the cleanest small boutique style accomodations I have EVER stayed in. It is quite clearly a focal point for them. The linen was new and crisp, the bathroom immaculate and the floors spotless.

The rooms were on the smaller side, but I believe this would be the case across most Riad's in Marrakech, the Riad's are a luxurious "home away from home" not a grand hotel. The size of the room didn't bother us, especially considering there are so many other areas of the Riad to enjoy, the rooftop for breakfast in the sunshine, and the lounge and fireplace downstairs for a little pre-dinner drink-perfect!

The location is excellent! Actually the map on Trip Advisor in incorrect, so probably best to get Jean Pere to organise the driver to pick you up from the airport rather than trying to use a map to get here. Once you've arrived, its is easy to navigate your way around. Marrakesh is an excellent walking city, flat and actually quite a small city, you can walk EVERYWHERE.

Dar White is about 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna, 1 minute to the Saadian tombs, 5 minutes to the El Badi Palace and 1 minute to Les Bains de Marrakech. Les Bains de Marrakesh is probably the most expensive hammam, but so clean, and professional we thought it was worth the 550MAD. (cheaper ones are approx 300MAD, but can be dirty).

This clean, modern, bright Riad was a lucky find! We will most certainly be recommending Dar White to all our friends.

Good luck to Jean Pere, he seems to be leading the way in fine boutique accomodation in Marrakech. Thank you again for such a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: I believe it is always best to stay on the second level of a Riad as it is usually brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first visit to morocco & we where recommended to stay at Dar White or Dar One.We where blown away with Dar White.Its clean,quiet & very well looked after.Our room on the second floor was comfortable & done to a very high standard.So much better than a hotel breakfast can be taken at a time to suit you on the roof terrace even in january is perfect.Hicham looked after us every day with arranging taxis,restaurant recommendations,guides.This was the perfect start to our holiday & we are looking forward to going back hopefully with some of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spabeautygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just stayed at Riad Dar White and loved it. It's small - just four rooms - but the standard is amazing. The hotel is tucked away in a side alley, perfectly located for Les Bains de Marrakech and not far from Jemma al Fna. The rooms are done to a very high standard - clean, lovely furniture, excellent bathrooms and comfy bed. The staff really make the hotel - Jean (the owner) responds to mails quickly and his day and night staff are brilliant. Hicham makes you feel as though anything is possible and can arrange almost anything as soon as he picks up the phone. Breakfast is fabulous - you can have it anytime you like and anywhere in the hotel (I recommend the terrace). Gorgeous yoghurt, coffee, and fresh breads (we loved the cinnamon-y eggy bread ones). There is a lovely jacuzzi on the terrace and the bedrooms have shutters that blocked out the light completely (perfect for sleeping in!) The hotel is marvellous - the service, attention and staff are what really set this hotel apart. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to any friends and family.

Room Tip: We had Portofino on the third floor - a long narrow room but really comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have rarely been so well looked after. I read a few reviews of this Riad and its sister, Dar One and they all said how spectacularly good the service was and they weren't wrong. The place was really well designed, with lots of modern furniture and fittings, but also very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty special too. Every morning they produced a huge spread of food, from pancakes to fresh orange juice, honey drizzled pastries, a fantastic drink of cucumber and milk (which sounds horrid, but believe me, was anything but), toast, fresh coffee etc. It was slightly different each time and was regularly the best meal of the day!

It was very well located, Its important to have a haven of peace and tranquility in the madness that is Marrakech and that's exactly what it provided. The staff took time to help us find the best places to see and to eat and I am definitely planning to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this small riad for just 2 nights - wish we could have stayed longer. The location is convenient, about a 10-minute walk from the Djemna el Fna, the main plaza. What really makes this place great is the personal service. From the owner Jean, who took the time to stop in and introduce himself, to the wonderful cook and the guys who arranged our outings, it was first class! We took dinner on the terrace our first night. It ended up being our favorite meal of our stay in Morocco! The entire place is SPOTLESS and quiet. The only downside I could think of is that the rooms are a bit dark and have a closed-off feeling. I suppose this is due to the architecture of riads, with the whole internal courtyard thing, but my partner found this conducive to getting good sleep. You have hundreds of choices for places to stay in Marrakech - you will not be disappointed if you choose this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EveryCountryBy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#72 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#112 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#51 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#132 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar White

Property: Riad Dar White
Address: 98 Derb Hammam | Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar White 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar White is a new very design and contemporary riad very well located in the Kasbah area in front of the King palace, 5 mn from Jemma el Fna (main square). You'll enjoy it great terrace with a bar and a jaccuzzi. Try a unic experience in a riad that could be your home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Dar White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing